Condition (MeSH)
Cone-Rod Dystrophies
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 39 trials for Cone-Rod Dystrophies or a narrower condition beneath it. SparingVision has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 5.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase
39 of the 39 trials are tagged with Cone-Rod Dystrophies itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Cone-Rod Dystrophies trials start? (17)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 1/2
- Phase 2
- Phase 3
- Not applicable
- Observational
Top of scale: 5
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 3 |
| 2025 | 3 |
| 2024 | 3 |
| 2023 | 2 |
| 2022 | 3 |
| 2021 | 5 |
| 2020 | 1 |
| 2019 | 1 |
| 2018 | 3 |
| 2017 | 1 |
Showing 10 of 17 earlier years.
No forecast is made for this condition: it averages 2.8 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 8 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 21 months across 14 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Cone-Rod Dystrophies trials in? (6)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 2 |
| Phase 1/2 | 7 |
| Phase 2 | 2 |
| Phase 3 | 1 |
| Not applicable | 16 |
| Observational | 11 |
How many Cone-Rod Dystrophies trials are recruiting? (6)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Not yet recruiting | 1 |
| Recruiting | 13 |
| Active, not recruiting | 4 |
| Completed | 10 |
| Terminated | 3 |
Showing 5 of 6 statuses.
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Cone-Rod Dystrophies trials? (10)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| SparingVision | 5 |
| Ascidian Therapeutics, Inc | 2 |
| MD Stem Cells | 2 |
| National Eye Institute (NEI) | 2 |
| Science Corporation | 2 |
Showing 5 of 10 sponsors.
Interventions as named in the registry (15)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| SPVN06 | 1 |
| rhNGF 60 µg/ml eye drops solution | 1 |
| Gene Therapy Product-MCO-010 | 1 |
| SHAM injection | 1 |
| Gamma Interferon 1b | 1 |
Showing 5 of 15 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which serious adverse events do Cone-Rod Dystrophies trials report? (2)
Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.
| Adverse event | Subjects affected | Trials |
|---|---|---|
| Visual Acuity Reduced | 1 | 1 |
| ovarian cancer | 1 | 1 |
Which publications cover Cone-Rod Dystrophies? (2)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| ATXN7-Related Cone-Rod Dystrophy: The Integrated Functional Evaluation of the Cerebellum (CERMOI) Study. | JAMA ophthalmology | 2024 | Yes |
| Extensive rod and cone photoreceptor-cell degeneration in rat models of giant axonal neuropathy: implications for gene therapy of human disease. | Ophthalmic genetics | 2021 | Yes |
Prevalence (3)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cone rod dystrophy | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Europe | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Cone rod dystrophy | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Europe | Not stated | Exact |
| Cone rod dystrophy | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Europe | Not stated | Exact |
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cone rod dystrophy | 1872 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
| Cone rod dystrophy | 1872 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.
Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: sub-conditions in mesh.