Condition (MeSH)
Addison Disease
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 36 trials for Addison Disease or a narrower condition beneath it.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase
35 of the 36 trials are tagged with Addison Disease itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Addison Disease trials start? (17)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1/2
- Phase 2
- Phase 2/3
- Phase 3
- Phase 4
- Not applicable
- Observational
Top of scale: 4
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 2 |
| 2025 | 2 |
| 2024 | 2 |
| 2022 | 2 |
| 2021 | 3 |
| 2018 | 2 |
| 2017 | 1 |
| 2014 | 3 |
| 2013 | 4 |
| 2011 | 2 |
Showing 10 of 17 earlier years.
No forecast is made for this condition: it averages 1.8 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 2 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Addison Disease trials in? (7)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1/2 | 1 |
| Phase 2 | 5 |
| Phase 2/3 | 2 |
| Phase 3 | 1 |
| Phase 4 | 5 |
| Not applicable | 11 |
| Observational | 11 |
How many Addison Disease trials are recruiting? (7)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Not yet recruiting | 2 |
| Recruiting | 4 |
| Active, not recruiting | 1 |
| Completed | 20 |
| Terminated | 2 |
Showing 5 of 7 statuses.
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Addison Disease trials? (2)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| National Center for Research Resources (NCRR) | 1 |
| Neurocrine UK Limited | 1 |
Which drugs are being tested for Addison Disease? (2)
Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Betamethasone | 1 |
| PROPOFOL | 1 |
Interventions as named in the registry (11)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Hydrocortisone 1% | 12 |
| Blood Test | 2 |
| "long" synacthen stimulation test | 1 |
| NaCl 0.9% NS | 1 |
| Inj Etomidate | 1 |
Showing 5 of 11 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which serious adverse events do Addison Disease trials report? (8)
Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.
| Adverse event | Subjects affected | Trials |
|---|---|---|
| Gastroenteritis | 8 | 1 |
| Cholelithiasis | 2 | 1 |
| Nephrolithiasis | 2 | 1 |
| Pancreatitis acute | 2 | 1 |
| Surgical and medical procedures | 2 | 1 |
Showing 5 of 8 adverse events.
Which publications cover Addison Disease? (42)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mineralocorticoid effects of fludrocortisone and hydrocortisone in primary adrenal insufficiency: EU-AIR patient data. | Journal of endocrinological investigation | 2025 | Yes |
| Pulsatile Subcutaneous Hydrocortisone Replacement in Primary Adrenal Insufficiency. | Hormone and metabolic research = Hormon- und Stoffwechselforschung = Hormones et metabolisme | 2023 | Yes |
| Improved Urinary Cortisol Metabolome in Addison Disease: A Prospective Trial of Dual-Release Hydrocortisone. | The Journal of clinical endocrinology and metabolism | 2021 | Yes |
| MANAGEMENT OF ENDOCRINE DISEASE: Residual adrenal function in Addison's disease. | European journal of endocrinology | 2021 | Yes |
| Cardiovascular Disease in Patients With Primary and Secondary Adrenal Insufficiency and the Role of Comorbidities. | The Journal of clinical endocrinology and metabolism | 2021 | Yes |
Showing 5 of 42 publications.
Prevalence (10)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Addison disease | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | United Kingdom | GB | Exact |
| Addison disease | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | United Kingdom | GB | Exact |
| Addison disease | Annual incidence | 1-5 / 10 000 | Specific population | Not stated | Exact |
| Addison disease | Point prevalence | 1-5 / 10 000 | Norway | Not stated | Exact |
| Addison disease | Point prevalence | 1-5 / 10 000 | Norway | Not stated | Exact |
Showing 5 of 10 prevalence observations.
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Addison disease | 85138 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
| Addison disease | 85138 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
Sub-conditions in MeSH (1)
MeSH descendants one level down with at least one trial, most trials first.
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.