Condition (MeSH)
Aortic Coarctation
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 48 trials for Aortic Coarctation or a narrower condition beneath it. Renata Medical has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 2.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase (log scale)
48 of the 48 trials are tagged with Aortic Coarctation itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Aortic Coarctation trials start? (18)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 2
- Phase 3
- Phase 4
- Not applicable
- Observational
Top of scale: 5
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 3 |
| 2025 | 5 |
| 2024 | 4 |
| 2023 | 2 |
| 2022 | 3 |
| 2021 | 3 |
| 2020 | 3 |
| 2019 | 3 |
| 2017 | 1 |
| 2016 | 4 |
Showing 10 of 18 earlier years.
No forecast is made for this condition: it averages 3.2 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 1 trial still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Aortic Coarctation trials in? (6)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 1 |
| Phase 2 | 1 |
| Phase 3 | 2 |
| Phase 4 | 2 |
| Not applicable | 13 |
| Observational | 29 |
How many Aortic Coarctation trials are recruiting? (7)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Not yet recruiting | 5 |
| Recruiting | 7 |
| Enrolling by invitation | 3 |
| Active, not recruiting | 2 |
| Completed | 21 |
Showing 5 of 7 statuses.
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Aortic Coarctation trials? (2)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| Renata Medical | 2 |
| Atrium Medical Corporation | 1 |
Which drugs are being tested for Aortic Coarctation? (4)
Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| ATORVASTATIN | 1 |
| Levosimendan | 1 |
| FENTANYL | 1 |
| +/- Bupivacaine HCl | 1 |
Interventions as named in the registry (8)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Erector Spinae Plane Block | 2 |
| Paravertebral Block | 1 |
| Serratus anterior plane block (SAP) | 1 |
| Maternal Hyperoxygenation | 1 |
| Low dose losartan | 1 |
Showing 5 of 8 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which serious adverse events do Aortic Coarctation trials report? (2)
Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.
| Adverse event | Subjects affected | Trials |
|---|---|---|
| Abnormal exercise echo test at one year | 1 | 1 |
| Aortic Wall Injury | 1 | 1 |
Which publications cover Aortic Coarctation? (103)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Multicenter Pivotal Trial of the Minima Stent for Vascular Stenosis in Infants and Young Children. | Circulation. Cardiovascular interventions | 2025 | Yes |
| Associations of Home Monitoring Data to Interventional Catheterization for Infants with Recurrent Coarctation of the Aorta and Hypoplastic Left Heart Syndrome. | Pediatric cardiology | 2023 | Yes |
| Equal cerebral perfusion during extended aortic coarctation repair. | European journal of cardio-thoracic surgery : official journal of the European Association for Cardio-thoracic Surgery | 2022 | Yes |
| Long-Term Outcomes of the Coarctation of the Aorta Stent Trials. | Circulation. Cardiovascular interventions | 2021 | Yes |
| Image-Based Computational Model Predicts Dobutamine-Induced Hemodynamic Changes in Patients With Aortic Coarctation. | Circulation. Cardiovascular imaging | 2021 | Yes |
Showing 5 of 103 publications.
Prevalence (60)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coarctation of aorta | Prevalence at birth | 1-5 / 10 000 | United Kingdom | GB | Exact |
| Coarctation of aorta | Prevalence at birth | 1-5 / 10 000 | United Kingdom | GB | Exact |
| Coarctation of aorta | Prevalence at birth | 1-5 / 10 000 | United Kingdom | GB | Unspecified |
| Coarctation of aorta | Prevalence at birth | 6-9 / 10 000 | Austria | Not stated | Exact |
| Coarctation of aorta | Point prevalence | Unknown | Worldwide | Not stated | Unspecified |
Showing 5 of 60 prevalence observations.
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Coarctation of aorta | 1457 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
| Coarctation of aorta | 1457 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.
Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: sub-conditions in mesh.