Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Condition (MeSH)

Dysautonomia, Familial

ClinicalTrials.gov lists 14 trials for Dysautonomia, Familial or a narrower condition beneath it.

MeSH D004402 Nervous System Diseases C10 C16 Listed by Orphanet as a rare disease
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

Phase 1 Phase 1 1 Phase 2 Phase 2 5 Phase 3 Phase 3 2 Not applicable Not applicable 4 Observational Observational 2 Phase 1 Phase 1 1 Phase 2 Phase 2 5 Phase 3 Phase 3 2 Not applicable Not applicable 4 Observational Observational 2

Trials per phase

14 of the 14 trials are tagged with Dysautonomia, Familial itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.

Get the Dysautonomia, Familial report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

When did Dysautonomia, Familial trials start? (9)

Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.

Trials over time, by phase

  • Phase 1
  • Phase 2
  • Phase 3
  • Not applicable
  • Observational

Top of scale: 3

2009: 3 trials (Observational 1, Phase 3 1, Phase 1 1) 2011: 1 trials (Phase 2 1) 2013: 1 trials (Phase 3 1) 2014: 1 trials (Not applicable 1) 2015: 2 trials (Phase 2 2) 2016: 2 trials (Not applicable 2) 2017: 1 trials (Observational 1) 2019: 1 trials (Not applicable 1) 2024: 2 trials (Phase 2 2)

Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.

Trials started per year
Year Trials started
2024 2
2019 1
2017 1
2016 2
2015 2
2014 1
2013 1
2011 1
2009 3

No forecast is made for this condition: it averages 0.4 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.

Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 2 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

What phase are Dysautonomia, Familial trials in? (5)

Shown in this order: phase order.

Show the trials by phase as a table
Trials by phase
Phase Trials
Phase 1 1
Phase 2 5
Phase 3 2
Not applicable 4
Observational 2

How many Dysautonomia, Familial trials are recruiting? (5)

Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.

Trials by recruitment status
Status Trials
Recruiting 2
Enrolling by invitation 1
Active, not recruiting 1
Completed 8
Withdrawn 2

Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.

Which drugs are being tested for Dysautonomia, Familial? (4)

Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.

Drugs tested
Drug Trials
DEXMEDETOMIDINE 1
Dronabinol 1
Carbidopa 1
Albuterol 1

Interventions as named in the registry (4)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Interventions as named in the registry
Drug Trials
Ipratropium HFA 1
Dexmedetomidine Sublingual 1
Carbidopa High-Dose 1
Carbidopa Low-Dose 1

These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.

How do Dysautonomia, Familial trials deliver against plan? (1)

Shown in this order: one row, this condition's own record. Enrollment hit target: the share of trials mapped to this condition whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.

Delivery record
Enrollment Timeline
29% hit target (n=7); 7 of 14 trials not graded 50% on time (n=6); 8 of 14 trials not graded

Delivery grades from ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI) planned-vs-actual history, public domain.

Which serious adverse events do Dysautonomia, Familial trials report? (2)

Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.

Serious adverse events in this condition's trials
Adverse event Subjects affected Trials
Hospitaliztion 1 1
lightheadedness / faint 1 1

Which publications cover Dysautonomia, Familial? (10)

Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.

Prevalence (6)

Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.

Prevalence
Orphanet disease Type Class Geography Jurisdiction Mapping relation
Familial dysautonomia Point prevalence <1 / 1 000 000 Europe Not stated Exact
Familial dysautonomia Point prevalence <1 / 1 000 000 Europe Not stated Exact
Familial dysautonomia Prevalence at birth 1-5 / 10 000 Specific population Not stated Exact
Familial dysautonomia Prevalence at birth 1-5 / 10 000 Specific population Not stated Unspecified
Familial dysautonomia Point prevalence <1 / 1 000 000 Europe Not stated Unspecified

Rare-disease identity (2)

Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.

Rare-disease identity
Orphanet disease ORPHA code Relation Source
Familial dysautonomia 1764 Exact Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO)
Familial dysautonomia 1764 Exact Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1

Not on this page

Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: lead sponsors and sub-conditions in mesh.

Browse all condition evidence pages