Condition (MeSH)
Pre-Eclampsia
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 880 trials for Pre-Eclampsia or a narrower condition beneath it.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase (log scale)
880 of the 880 trials are tagged with Pre-Eclampsia itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Pre-Eclampsia trials start? (32)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year. 2 trials are registered to start in 2027 or later, and not listed here.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 1/2
- Phase 2
- Phase 2/3
- Phase 3
- Phase 4
- Not applicable
- Observational
Top of scale: 68
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 75 |
| 2025 | 64 |
| 2024 | 68 |
| 2023 | 62 |
| 2022 | 50 |
| 2021 | 45 |
| 2020 | 46 |
| 2019 | 58 |
| 2018 | 47 |
| 2017 | 49 |
Showing 10 of 32 earlier years.
Forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included, not rows of this table: about 90 trials starting in 2026 and about 73 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward, with about 0.7 times the starts already registered for the rest of 2026 added. The rows of this table count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. In backtests on conditions of this size, forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 15 percent and ran about 1 percent high against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 26 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered. The part-way figures are from forecasts that used a multiple fitted only on earlier years. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored.
Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 82 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 23 months across 450 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Pre-Eclampsia trials in? (8)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 26 |
| Phase 1/2 | 14 |
| Phase 2 | 32 |
| Phase 2/3 | 10 |
| Phase 3 | 51 |
| Phase 4 | 68 |
| Not applicable | 278 |
| Observational | 401 |
How many Pre-Eclampsia trials are recruiting? (9)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Not yet recruiting | 63 |
| Recruiting | 127 |
| Enrolling by invitation | 9 |
| Active, not recruiting | 22 |
| Completed | 401 |
Showing 5 of 9 statuses.
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which drugs are being tested for Pre-Eclampsia? (6)
Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| PHENYLEPHRINE | 8 |
| MisoprostoL | 6 |
| LOVENOX | 6 |
| Ephedrine | 6 |
| Norepinephrine | 6 |
Showing 5 of 6 drugs.
Interventions as named in the registry (9)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| EC Aspirin | 54 |
| Labetolol | 15 |
| Nifedipine XL | 11 |
| IM Oxytocin | 7 |
| 1% Metformin | 7 |
Showing 5 of 9 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which serious adverse events do Pre-Eclampsia trials report? (10)
Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.
| Adverse event | Subjects affected | Trials |
|---|---|---|
| Other SAE | 317 | 1 |
| Fetal Death | 140 | 1 |
| Hypertension | 63 | 3 |
| Fetal Hypoxia | 52 | 1 |
| Neonatal death | 51 | 4 |
Showing 5 of 10 adverse events.
Which publications cover Pre-Eclampsia? (1,321)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| sFlt-1/PlGF Ratio Predicts Short-Term Maternal-Fetal Outcomes in Chinese Hypertensive Pregnancies: A Prospective Cohort Study. | Hypertension (Dallas, Tex. : 1979) | 2026 | Yes |
| Modulation of Immune Cells by Aspirin During Pregnancy. | Immunology | 2026 | Yes |
| Comparison of 162 mg and 81 mg Aspirin for Prevention of Preeclampsia: A Randomized Controlled Trial. | Obstetrics and gynecology | 2026 | Yes |
| Early initiation of low-dose aspirin for the prevention of pre-eclampsia in high-risk pregnancies. | Scientific reports | 2026 | Yes |
| Effect of epidural anesthesia on the optic nerve sheath diameter in patients with pre-eclampsia: a prospective observational study. | Regional anesthesia and pain medicine | 2025 | Yes |
Showing 5 of 1,321 publications.
Prevalence (3)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Preeclampsia | Point prevalence | 1-5 / 10 000 | Europe | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Preeclampsia | Point prevalence | 1-5 / 10 000 | Europe | Not stated | Exact |
| Preeclampsia | Point prevalence | 1-5 / 10 000 | Europe | Not stated | Exact |
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Preeclampsia | 275555 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
| Preeclampsia | 275555 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.
Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: lead sponsors and sub-conditions in mesh.