Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Condition (MeSH)

Snake Bites

ClinicalTrials.gov lists 36 trials for Snake Bites or a narrower condition beneath it. Instituto Bioclon S.A. de C.V. has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 3.

MeSH D012909 Chemically-Induced Disorders C25 C26
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

Phase 1/2 Phase 1/2 1 Phase 2 Phase 2 5 Phase 3 Phase 3 1 Phase 4 Phase 4 5 Not applicable Not applicable 6 Observational Observational 18 Phase 1/2 Phase 1/2 1 Phase 2 Phase 2 5 Phase 3 Phase 3 1 Phase 4 Phase 4 5 Not applicable Not applicable 6 Observational Observational 18

Trials per phase

36 of the 36 trials are tagged with Snake Bites itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.

Get the Snake Bites report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

When did Snake Bites trials start? (15)

Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year. 1 trial is registered to start in 2027 or later, and not listed here.

Trials over time, by phase

  • Phase 1/2
  • Phase 2
  • Phase 3
  • Phase 4
  • Not applicable
  • Observational

Top of scale: 4

2004: 2 trials (Not applicable 1, Phase 1/2 1) 2005: 4 trials (Observational 1, Phase 4 2, Phase 2 1) 2008: 2 trials (Phase 4 1, Phase 3 1) 2011: 1 trials (Phase 2 1) 2013: 1 trials (Phase 4 1) 2015: 2 trials (Observational 1, Not applicable 1) 2016: 3 trials (Not applicable 2, Phase 4 1) 2019: 2 trials (Observational 2) 2020: 1 trials (Observational 1) 2021: 2 trials (Observational 1, Phase 2 1) 2022: 4 trials (Observational 3, Not applicable 1) 2023: 2 trials (Observational 1, Phase 2 1) 2024: 3 trials (Observational 3) 2025: 4 trials (Observational 3, Not applicable 1)

Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.

Trials started per year
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 2
2025 4
2024 3
2023 2
2022 4
2021 2
2020 1
2019 2
2016 3
2015 2

No forecast is made for this condition: it averages 3.0 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.

Recruitment duration, a model prediction: none of the 36 trials evaluated at the 2026-10-09 snapshot is predicted and still running. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

What phase are Snake Bites trials in? (6)

Shown in this order: phase order.

Show the trials by phase as a table
Trials by phase
Phase Trials
Phase 1/2 1
Phase 2 5
Phase 3 1
Phase 4 5
Not applicable 6
Observational 18

How many Snake Bites trials are recruiting? (7)

Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.

Trials by recruitment status
Status Trials
Not yet recruiting 2
Recruiting 6
Enrolling by invitation 1
Completed 20
Terminated 3

Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.

Which lead sponsors run the most Snake Bites trials? (4)

Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.

Lead sponsors
Sponsor Trials
Instituto Bioclon S.A. de C.V. 3
Ophirex, Inc. 2
Hospital Juarez de Mexico 1
Institut Pasteur 1

Interventions as named in the registry (15)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Interventions as named in the registry
Drug Trials
Antivenom Snakes 2
adrenaline, promethazine, hydrocortisone 1
A 1
Crotaline Immune Fab (ovine) (active initial therapy; placebo maintenance therapy) 1
varespladib-methyl- oral form 1

These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.

Which serious adverse events do Snake Bites trials report? (4)

Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.

Serious adverse events in this condition's trials
Adverse event Subjects affected Trials
Hypotension 1 1
Pulmonary embolism 1 1
Rehospitalization for treatment of thrombocytopenia 1 1
Venom poisoning 1 1

Which publications cover Snake Bites? (97)

Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.

Prevalence (2)

Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.

Prevalence
Orphanet disease Type Class Geography Jurisdiction Mapping relation
Snakebite envenomation Point prevalence 1-9 / 100 000 Europe Not stated Exact
Snakebite envenomation Point prevalence 1-9 / 100 000 Europe Not stated Exact

Rare-disease identity (2)

Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.

Rare-disease identity
Orphanet disease ORPHA code Relation Source
Snakebite envenomation 449285 Exact Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO)
Snakebite envenomation 449285 Exact Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1

Not on this page

Not measured: delivery record.

Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: sub-conditions in mesh.

Browse all condition evidence pages