Condition (MeSH)
Thoracic Outlet Syndrome
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 33 trials for Thoracic Outlet Syndrome or a narrower condition beneath it. University Hospital, Angers has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 6.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase
33 of the 33 trials are tagged with Thoracic Outlet Syndrome itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Thoracic Outlet Syndrome trials start? (12)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 2
- Phase 4
- Not applicable
- Observational
Top of scale: 7
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 4 |
| 2025 | 1 |
| 2024 | 2 |
| 2023 | 4 |
| 2022 | 7 |
| 2020 | 3 |
| 2019 | 2 |
| 2018 | 5 |
| 2014 | 1 |
| 2011 | 2 |
Showing 10 of 12 earlier years.
No forecast is made for this condition: it averages 3.6 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 3 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Thoracic Outlet Syndrome trials in? (5)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 1 |
| Phase 2 | 1 |
| Phase 4 | 2 |
| Not applicable | 13 |
| Observational | 16 |
How many Thoracic Outlet Syndrome trials are recruiting? (5)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Not yet recruiting | 2 |
| Recruiting | 4 |
| Enrolling by invitation | 1 |
| Completed | 15 |
| Unknown status | 11 |
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Thoracic Outlet Syndrome trials? (1)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| University Hospital, Angers | 6 |
Interventions as named in the registry (5)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| type A botulinum toxin | 2 |
| Low Level Laser Therapy | 1 |
| Ropivacaine 2 % | 1 |
| Therapeutic Ultrasound | 1 |
| IncobotulinumtoxinA 100 UNT | 1 |
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which publications cover Thoracic Outlet Syndrome? (28)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Evaluation of the socioprofessional consequences of thoracic outlet syndrome. | BMC research notes | 2023 | Yes |
| Interpectoral-pectoserratus plane (PECS II) block in patients undergoing trans-axillary thoracic outlet decompression surgery; A prospective double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled clinical trial. | Journal of clinical anesthesia | 2022 | Yes |
| Thoracic outlet syndrome: a review for the primary care provider. | Journal of osteopathic medicine | 2022 | Yes |
| A pilot study of forearm microvascular impairment and pain while using a telephone. | Microvascular research | 2020 | Yes |
| Transaxillary decompression of thoracic outlet syndrome patients presenting with cervical ribs. | Journal of vascular surgery | 2018 | Yes |
Showing 5 of 28 publications.
Prevalence (3)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Thoracic outlet syndrome | Point prevalence | Unknown | Worldwide | Not stated | Exact |
| Thoracic outlet syndrome | Point prevalence | Unknown | Worldwide | Not stated | Exact |
| Thoracic outlet syndrome | Point prevalence | Unknown | Worldwide | Not stated | Unspecified |
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Thoracic outlet syndrome | 97330 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
| Thoracic outlet syndrome | 97330 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.
Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: serious adverse events in this condition's trials and sub-conditions in mesh.