Condition (MeSH)
Uveitis, Intermediate
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 57 trials for Uveitis, Intermediate or a narrower condition beneath it. National Eye Institute (NEI) has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 8.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase (log scale)
56 of the 57 trials are tagged with Uveitis, Intermediate itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Uveitis, Intermediate trials start? (22)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 1/2
- Phase 2
- Phase 2/3
- Phase 3
- Phase 4
- Not applicable
- Observational
Top of scale: 7
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 1 |
| 2024 | 1 |
| 2023 | 1 |
| 2022 | 5 |
| 2021 | 3 |
| 2020 | 1 |
| 2019 | 3 |
| 2018 | 1 |
| 2017 | 4 |
| 2016 | 2 |
Showing 10 of 22 earlier years.
No forecast is made for this condition: it averages 2.0 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 4 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Uveitis, Intermediate trials in? (8)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 4 |
| Phase 1/2 | 5 |
| Phase 2 | 9 |
| Phase 2/3 | 2 |
| Phase 3 | 21 |
| Phase 4 | 7 |
| Not applicable | 1 |
| Observational | 8 |
How many Uveitis, Intermediate trials are recruiting? (6)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Not yet recruiting | 1 |
| Active, not recruiting | 1 |
| Completed | 29 |
| Terminated | 14 |
| Withdrawn | 6 |
Showing 5 of 6 statuses.
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Uveitis, Intermediate trials? (11)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| National Eye Institute (NEI) | 8 |
| Novartis Pharmaceuticals | 6 |
| Clearside Biomedical, Inc. | 5 |
| XOMA (US) LLC | 3 |
| EyePoint Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | 2 |
Showing 5 of 11 sponsors.
Which drugs are being tested for Uveitis, Intermediate? (2)
Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Voclosporin | 2 |
| Prednisone | 2 |
Interventions as named in the registry (13)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Secukinmab | 7 |
| Dose 2 gevokizumab | 3 |
| Adalimumab-US | 3 |
| SHAM injection | 3 |
| 4 mg CLS-TA Suprachoriodal Injection | 2 |
Showing 5 of 13 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which serious adverse events do Uveitis, Intermediate trials report? (10)
Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.
| Adverse event | Subjects affected | Trials |
|---|---|---|
| Hypotony of eye | 9 | 2 |
| CATARACT | 7 | 1 |
| URINARY TRACT INFECTION | 5 | 1 |
| UVEITIS | 5 | 1 |
| Uveitis (Study eye) | 5 | 3 |
Showing 5 of 10 adverse events.
Which publications cover Uveitis, Intermediate? (10)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Management of presumed trematode-induced granulomatous intermediate uveitis. | Eye (London, England) | 2023 | Yes |
| Long-Term Safety and Efficacy of Adalimumab in Patients with Noninfectious Intermediate Uveitis, Posterior Uveitis, or Panuveitis. | Ophthalmology | 2021 | Yes |
| Evaluation of vascular changes in intermediate uveitis and retinal vasculitis using swept-source wide-field optical coherence tomography angiography. | The British journal of ophthalmology | 2019 | Yes |
| Effect of Adalimumab on Visual Functioning in Patients With Noninfectious Intermediate Uveitis, Posterior Uveitis, and Panuveitis in the VISUAL-1 and VISUAL-2 Trials. | JAMA ophthalmology | 2017 | Yes |
| Normative comparison of patient-reported outcomes in patients with noninfectious uveitis. | JAMA ophthalmology | 2013 | Yes |
Showing 5 of 10 publications.
Prevalence (3)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Intermediate uveitis | Point prevalence | Unknown | Worldwide | Not stated | Exact |
| Intermediate uveitis | Point prevalence | Unknown | Worldwide | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Intermediate uveitis | Point prevalence | Unknown | Worldwide | Not stated | Exact |
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Intermediate uveitis | 279914 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
| Intermediate uveitis | 279914 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
Sub-conditions in MeSH (1)
MeSH descendants one level down with at least one trial, most trials first.
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.