Condition (MeSH)
Epidermolysis Bullosa Simplex
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 20 trials for Epidermolysis Bullosa Simplex or a narrower condition beneath it. Castle Creek Pharmaceuticals, LLC has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 3.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase
20 of the 20 trials are tagged with Epidermolysis Bullosa Simplex itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Epidermolysis Bullosa Simplex trials start? (11)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 2
- Phase 2/3
- Observational
Top of scale: 3
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 2 |
| 2025 | 1 |
| 2024 | 3 |
| 2022 | 1 |
| 2021 | 1 |
| 2020 | 2 |
| 2018 | 2 |
| 2017 | 3 |
| 2016 | 2 |
| 2015 | 2 |
Showing 10 of 11 earlier years.
No forecast is made for this condition: it averages 1.2 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 2 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Epidermolysis Bullosa Simplex trials in? (4)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 3 |
| Phase 2 | 12 |
| Phase 2/3 | 2 |
| Observational | 3 |
How many Epidermolysis Bullosa Simplex trials are recruiting? (7)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Not yet recruiting | 1 |
| Recruiting | 4 |
| Active, not recruiting | 1 |
| Completed | 7 |
| Terminated | 1 |
Showing 5 of 7 statuses.
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Epidermolysis Bullosa Simplex trials? (7)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| Castle Creek Pharmaceuticals, LLC | 3 |
| BioMendics, LLC | 2 |
| Energenesis Biomedical Co., Ltd. | 1 |
| InMed Pharmaceuticals Inc. | 1 |
| National Medical Research Center for Children's Health, Russian Federation | 1 |
Showing 5 of 7 sponsors.
Interventions as named in the registry (15)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Diacerein 1% Ointment | 3 |
| Sirolimus 2% | 2 |
| Jojoba oil with broccoli sprout extract | 1 |
| TolaSure Topical Gel | 1 |
| Apremilast IR | 1 |
Showing 5 of 15 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which serious adverse events do Epidermolysis Bullosa Simplex trials report? (2)
Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.
| Adverse event | Subjects affected | Trials |
|---|---|---|
| Humerus fracture | 1 | 1 |
| Meniere's Disease | 1 | 1 |
Which publications cover Epidermolysis Bullosa Simplex? (10)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Diacerein orphan drug development for epidermolysis bullosa simplex: A phase 2/3 randomized, placebo-controlled, double-blind clinical trial. | Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology | 2018 | Yes |
| Pain and quality of life evaluation in patients with localized epidermolysis bullosa simplex. | Orphanet journal of rare diseases | 2017 | Yes |
| Topical diacerein for epidermolysis bullosa: a randomized controlled pilot study. | Orphanet journal of rare diseases | 2013 | Yes |
| Expression signature of epidermolysis bullosa simplex. | Human genetics | 2012 | Yes |
| Epidermolysis bullosa simplex. | Dermatologic clinics | 2010 | Yes |
Showing 5 of 10 publications.
Prevalence (12)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Epidermolysis bullosa simplex | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Netherlands | Not stated | Exact |
| Epidermolysis bullosa simplex | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 1 000 000 | Worldwide | Not stated | Exact |
| Epidermolysis bullosa simplex | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 1 000 000 | Romania | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Epidermolysis bullosa simplex | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 1 000 000 | Romania | Not stated | Exact |
| Epidermolysis bullosa simplex | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 1 000 000 | Australia | Not stated | Exact |
Showing 5 of 12 prevalence observations.
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Epidermolysis bullosa simplex | 304 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
| Epidermolysis bullosa simplex | 304 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.
Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: sub-conditions in mesh.