Condition (MeSH)
Liver Failure, Acute
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 246 trials for Liver Failure, Acute or a narrower condition beneath it.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase (log scale)
1 more section with rows
96 of the 246 trials are tagged with Liver Failure, Acute itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Liver Failure, Acute trials start? (28)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year. 2 trials are registered to start in 2027 or later, and not listed here.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 1/2
- Phase 2
- Phase 2/3
- Phase 3
- Phase 4
- Not applicable
- Observational
Top of scale: 25
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 18 |
| 2025 | 17 |
| 2024 | 19 |
| 2023 | 25 |
| 2022 | 15 |
| 2021 | 18 |
| 2020 | 15 |
| 2019 | 20 |
| 2018 | 12 |
| 2017 | 8 |
Showing 10 of 28 earlier years.
Forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included, not rows of this table: about 17 trials starting in 2026 and about 16 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The rows of this table count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. In backtests on conditions of this size, forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 28 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 39 percent and ran about 37 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored. The 2026 forecast is below the 18 already registered with a 2026 start date: at the cutoff, 5 trials were already registered to start in October to December, more than the method's monthly average allows for, and the method does not use those planned starts.
Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 28 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 27 months across 99 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Liver Failure, Acute trials in? (9)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 14 |
| Phase 1/2 | 10 |
| Phase 2 | 26 |
| Phase 2/3 | 4 |
| Phase 3 | 8 |
| Phase 4 | 9 |
| Not applicable | 78 |
| Observational | 96 |
| Expanded access | 1 |
How many Liver Failure, Acute trials are recruiting? (10)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Not yet recruiting | 25 |
| Recruiting | 28 |
| Enrolling by invitation | 2 |
| Active, not recruiting | 6 |
| Completed | 81 |
Showing 5 of 10 statuses.
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Liver Failure, Acute trials? (4)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| Genfit | 4 |
| Vital Therapies, Inc. | 4 |
| Cellaion SA | 3 |
| National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) | 3 |
Which drugs are being tested for Liver Failure, Acute? (3)
Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Lactulose | 5 |
| G-CSF | 4 |
| Entecavir | 3 |
Interventions as named in the registry (12)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Standard Medical Treatment | 17 |
| Plasma Exchange | 9 |
| N Acetylcysteine | 4 |
| Standard Treatment | 4 |
| ELAD | 4 |
Showing 5 of 12 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which serious adverse events do Liver Failure, Acute trials report? (10)
Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.
| Adverse event | Subjects affected | Trials |
|---|---|---|
| Acute hepatic failure | 19 | 3 |
| Multiple organ dysfunction syndrome | 8 | 2 |
| Hypotension | 7 | 3 |
| Multi-organ failure | 7 | 3 |
| Pneumonia | 7 | 3 |
Showing 5 of 10 adverse events.
Which publications cover Liver Failure, Acute? (234)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hepatitis B Virus Variants and Cytokine Patterns in Acute Liver Failure and Transplant-Free Survival. | Liver international : official journal of the International Association for the Study of the Liver | 2025 | Yes |
| Advances in extracorporeal liver support for acute and acute-on-chronic liver failure. | Medicina intensiva | 2025 | Yes |
| Oral magnesium prevents acetaminophen-induced acute liver injury by modulating microbial metabolism. | Cell host & microbe | 2024 | Yes |
| Chinese guideline for the diagnosis and treatment of drug-induced liver injury: an update. | Hepatology international | 2024 | Yes |
| Equipoise in pediatric acute liver failure. | Journal of pediatric gastroenterology and nutrition | 2024 | Yes |
Showing 5 of 234 publications.
Prevalence (3)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Acute liver failure | Point prevalence | 1-5 / 10 000 | Europe | Not stated | Exact |
| Acute liver failure | Point prevalence | 1-5 / 10 000 | Europe | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Acute liver failure | Point prevalence | 1-5 / 10 000 | Europe | Not stated | Exact |
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Acute liver failure | 90062 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
| Acute liver failure | 90062 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
Sub-conditions in MeSH (2)
MeSH descendants one level down with at least one trial, most trials first.
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.