Condition (MeSH)
Niemann-Pick Disease, Type B
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 3 trials for Niemann-Pick Disease, Type B or a narrower condition beneath it.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase
3 of the 3 trials are tagged with Niemann-Pick Disease, Type B itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Niemann-Pick Disease, Type B trials start? (3)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 2
- Not applicable
Top of scale: 1
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2023 | 1 |
| 2022 | 1 |
| 2008 | 1 |
No forecast is made for this condition: it averages 0.4 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
Recruitment duration, a model prediction: none of the 3 trials evaluated at the 2026-10-09 snapshot is predicted and still running. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Niemann-Pick Disease, Type B trials in? (2)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 2 | 1 |
| Not applicable | 2 |
How many Niemann-Pick Disease, Type B trials are recruiting? (2)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Terminated | 1 |
| Unknown status | 2 |
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which serious adverse events do Niemann-Pick Disease, Type B trials report? (3)
Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.
| Adverse event | Subjects affected | Trials |
|---|---|---|
| Death | 6 | 1 |
| Auto recovery | 2 | 1 |
| Graft failure | 2 | 1 |
Which publications cover Niemann-Pick Disease, Type B? (1)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Clearance of Hepatic Sphingomyelin by Olipudase Alfa Is Associated With Improvement in Lipid Profiles in Acid Sphingomyelinase Deficiency. | The American journal of surgical pathology | 2016 | Yes |
Prevalence (6)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chronic visceral acid sphingomyelinase deficiency | Prevalence at birth | 1-9 / 1 000 000 | Europe | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Chronic visceral acid sphingomyelinase deficiency | Prevalence at birth | 1-9 / 1 000 000 | Europe | Not stated | Exact |
| Chronic visceral acid sphingomyelinase deficiency | Point prevalence | Unknown | Europe | Not stated | Exact |
| Chronic visceral acid sphingomyelinase deficiency | Point prevalence | Unknown | Europe | Not stated | Exact |
| Chronic visceral acid sphingomyelinase deficiency | Point prevalence | Unknown | Europe | Not stated | Unspecified |
Showing 5 of 6 prevalence observations.
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chronic visceral acid sphingomyelinase deficiency | 77293 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
| Chronic visceral acid sphingomyelinase deficiency | 77293 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.
Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: lead sponsors and sub-conditions in mesh.
Not computed for conditions with fewer than 10 trials: drugs tested.