Condition (MeSH)
Pure Autonomic Failure
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 56 trials for Pure Autonomic Failure or a narrower condition beneath it. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 5.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase
56 of the 56 trials are tagged with Pure Autonomic Failure itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Pure Autonomic Failure trials start? (22)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 1/2
- Phase 2
- Phase 2/3
- Phase 3
- Phase 4
- Not applicable
- Observational
Top of scale: 6
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2025 | 1 |
| 2024 | 2 |
| 2022 | 1 |
| 2021 | 3 |
| 2020 | 3 |
| 2019 | 3 |
| 2018 | 3 |
| 2017 | 4 |
| 2016 | 5 |
| 2015 | 2 |
Showing 10 of 22 earlier years.
No forecast is made for this condition: it averages 1.0 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 5 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 53 months across 40 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Pure Autonomic Failure trials in? (8)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 11 |
| Phase 1/2 | 1 |
| Phase 2 | 4 |
| Phase 2/3 | 1 |
| Phase 3 | 7 |
| Phase 4 | 1 |
| Not applicable | 17 |
| Observational | 14 |
How many Pure Autonomic Failure trials are recruiting? (7)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Recruiting | 10 |
| Enrolling by invitation | 1 |
| Active, not recruiting | 1 |
| Completed | 31 |
| Terminated | 9 |
Showing 5 of 7 statuses.
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Pure Autonomic Failure trials? (4)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) | 5 |
| Chelsea Therapeutics | 4 |
| Theravance Biopharma | 4 |
| H. Lundbeck A/S | 2 |
Which drugs are being tested for Pure Autonomic Failure? (7)
Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Droxidopa | 6 |
| Ampreloxetine | 4 |
| NEBIVOLOL | 2 |
| SILDENAFIL | 2 |
| Trimethaphan | 2 |
Showing 5 of 7 drugs.
Interventions as named in the registry (8)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Midodrine 2.5 mg tab | 5 |
| 13N-Ammonia | 2 |
| Low dose losartan | 2 |
| Metoprolol XL | 2 |
| Ibuprofen 2% | 1 |
Showing 5 of 8 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which serious adverse events do Pure Autonomic Failure trials report? (10)
Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.
| Adverse event | Subjects affected | Trials |
|---|---|---|
| Syncope | 17 | 3 |
| Urinary tract infection | 17 | 8 |
| Orthostatic hypotension | 12 | 7 |
| Pneumonia | 12 | 6 |
| Fall | 10 | 3 |
Showing 5 of 10 adverse events.
Which publications cover Pure Autonomic Failure? (19)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Health-related quality-of-life and burden for caregivers of individuals with neurogenic orthostatic hypotension. | Neurodegenerative disease management | 2023 | Yes |
| Continuous Positive Airway Pressure for the Treatment of Supine Hypertension and Orthostatic Hypotension in Autonomic Failure. | Hypertension (Dallas, Tex. : 1979) | 2023 | Yes |
| Local Passive Heat for the Treatment of Hypertension in Autonomic Failure. | Journal of the American Heart Association | 2021 | Yes |
| Orthostatic heart rate changes in patients with autonomic failure caused by neurodegenerative synucleinopathies. | Annals of neurology | 2018 | Yes |
| Hypothalamic Glucose Transport in Humans During Experimentally Induced Hypoglycemia-Associated Autonomic Failure. | The Journal of clinical endocrinology and metabolism | 2017 | Yes |
Showing 5 of 19 publications.
Prevalence (3)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pure autonomic failure | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 1 000 000 | Europe | Not stated | Exact |
| Pure autonomic failure | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 1 000 000 | Europe | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Pure autonomic failure | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 1 000 000 | Europe | Not stated | Exact |
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pure autonomic failure | 441 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
| Pure autonomic failure | 441 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.
Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: sub-conditions in mesh.