Condition (MeSH)
Bulbo-Spinal Atrophy, X-Linked
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 57 trials for Bulbo-Spinal Atrophy, X-Linked or a narrower condition beneath it. Novartis Pharmaceuticals has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 6.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase
57 of the 57 trials are tagged with Bulbo-Spinal Atrophy, X-Linked itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Bulbo-Spinal Atrophy, X-Linked trials start? (20)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 1/2
- Phase 2
- Phase 2/3
- Phase 3
- Phase 4
- Not applicable
- Observational
Top of scale: 6
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 3 |
| 2025 | 2 |
| 2024 | 5 |
| 2023 | 4 |
| 2022 | 5 |
| 2021 | 6 |
| 2020 | 3 |
| 2019 | 1 |
| 2018 | 3 |
| 2017 | 2 |
Showing 10 of 20 earlier years.
No forecast is made for this condition: it averages 4.6 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 7 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 24 months across 33 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Bulbo-Spinal Atrophy, X-Linked trials in? (8)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 8 |
| Phase 1/2 | 7 |
| Phase 2 | 15 |
| Phase 2/3 | 1 |
| Phase 3 | 7 |
| Phase 4 | 2 |
| Not applicable | 2 |
| Observational | 15 |
How many Bulbo-Spinal Atrophy, X-Linked trials are recruiting? (7)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Recruiting | 10 |
| Active, not recruiting | 5 |
| Completed | 25 |
| Suspended | 1 |
| Terminated | 8 |
Showing 5 of 7 statuses.
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Bulbo-Spinal Atrophy, X-Linked trials? (11)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| Novartis Pharmaceuticals | 6 |
| National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) | 4 |
| Accutar Biotechnology Inc | 2 |
| AstraZeneca | 2 |
| AnnJi Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. | 1 |
Showing 5 of 11 sponsors.
Which drugs are being tested for Bulbo-Spinal Atrophy, X-Linked? (5)
Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Enzalutamide | 5 |
| Bicalutamide | 4 |
| Darolutamide | 3 |
| Apalutamide | 2 |
| Abiraterone | 2 |
Interventions as named in the registry (10)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Goserelin Depot | 2 |
| Docetetaxel | 2 |
| AC176 | 2 |
| bicalutamide + triptorelin | 1 |
| topical minoxidil in Acne Vulgaris | 1 |
Showing 5 of 10 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which serious adverse events do Bulbo-Spinal Atrophy, X-Linked trials report? (10)
Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.
| Adverse event | Subjects affected | Trials |
|---|---|---|
| Anemia | 35 | 1 |
| Fatigue | 27 | 3 |
| Nausea | 27 | 4 |
| Pneumonia | 25 | 4 |
| Constipation | 20 | 3 |
Showing 5 of 10 adverse events.
Which publications cover Bulbo-Spinal Atrophy, X-Linked? (9)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Characteristics of spinal and bulbar muscular atrophy in South Korea: a cross-sectional study of 157 patients. | Brain : a journal of neurology | 2023 | Yes |
| J wave syndromes in patients with spinal and bulbar muscular atrophy. | Journal of neurology | 2022 | Yes |
| Disease mechanism, biomarker and therapeutics for spinal and bulbar muscular atrophy (SBMA). | Journal of neurology, neurosurgery, and psychiatry | 2020 | Yes |
| X-Linked Spinal and Bulbar Muscular Atrophy: From Clinical Genetic Features and Molecular Pathology to Mechanisms Underlying Disease Toxicity. | Advances in experimental medicine and biology | 2018 | Yes |
| Safety, tolerability, and preliminary efficacy of an IGF-1 mimetic in patients with spinal and bulbar muscular atrophy: a randomised, placebo-controlled trial. | The Lancet. Neurology | 2018 | Yes |
Showing 5 of 9 publications.
Prevalence (5)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kennedy disease | Annual incidence | <1 / 1 000 000 | Italy | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Kennedy disease | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Italy | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Kennedy disease | Prevalence at birth | 1-9 / 100 000 | Italy | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Kennedy disease | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Europe | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Kennedy disease | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Finland | Not stated | Unspecified |
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.
Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: rare-disease identity and sub-conditions in mesh.