Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Condition (MeSH)

Primary Myelofibrosis

ClinicalTrials.gov lists 616 trials for Primary Myelofibrosis or a narrower condition beneath it. Novartis Pharmaceuticals has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 24.

MeSH D055728 Hemic and Lymphatic Diseases C15 Listed by Orphanet as a rare disease
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

Phase 1 Phase 1 141 Phase 1/2 Phase 1/2 65 Phase 2 Phase 2 207 Phase 2/3 Phase 2/3 5 Phase 3 Phase 3 53 Phase 4 Phase 4 4 Not applicable Not applicable 59 Observational Observational 76 Phase 1 Phase 1 141 Phase 1/2 Phase 1/2 65 Phase 2 Phase 2 207 Phase 2/3 Phase 2/3 5 Phase 3 Phase 3 53 Phase 4 Phase 4 4 Not applicable Not applicable 59 Observational Observational 76

Trials per phase (log scale)

2 more sections with rows

616 of the 616 trials are tagged with Primary Myelofibrosis itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.

Get the Primary Myelofibrosis report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

When did Primary Myelofibrosis trials start? (34)

Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year. 1 trial is registered to start in 2027 or later, and not listed here.

Trials over time, by phase

  • Phase 1
  • Phase 1/2
  • Phase 2
  • Phase 2/3
  • Phase 3
  • Phase 4
  • Not applicable
  • Observational
  • Other (Unknown)

Top of scale: 37

1992: 1 trials (Phase 2 1) 1993: 1 trials (Phase 2 1) 1995: 1 trials (Phase 2 1) 1996: 3 trials (Phase 2 3) 1997: 6 trials (Phase 2 1, Phase 1/2 1, Phase 1 4) 1998: 10 trials (Not applicable 1, Phase 3 2, Phase 2/3 1, Phase 2 2, Phase 1/2 1, Phase 1 3) 1999: 13 trials (Not applicable 3, Phase 3 4, Phase 2 2, Phase 1 4) 2000: 11 trials (Not applicable 3, Phase 3 3, Phase 2 3, Phase 1/2 1, Phase 1 1) 2001: 6 trials (Not applicable 1, Phase 2 4, Phase 1 1) 2002: 16 trials (Not applicable 4, Phase 3 1, Phase 2 7, Phase 1/2 1, Phase 1 3) 2003: 9 trials (Observational 1, Not applicable 4, Phase 2 1, Phase 1/2 2, Phase 1 1) 2004: 17 trials (Observational 1, Not applicable 3, Phase 3 1, Phase 2 8, Phase 1/2 2, Phase 1 2) 2005: 24 trials (Observational 1, Not applicable 2, Phase 3 2, Phase 2/3 1, Phase 2 10, Phase 1/2 2, Phase 1 6) 2006: 29 trials (Observational 5, Not applicable 3, Phase 3 1, Phase 2 14, Phase 1/2 1, Phase 1 5) 2007: 28 trials (Observational 6, Not applicable 3, Phase 3 2, Phase 2 9, Phase 1/2 1, Phase 1 7) 2008: 29 trials (Observational 7, Not applicable 1, Phase 3 5, Phase 2 5, Phase 1/2 6, Phase 1 5) 2009: 20 trials (Other 1, Observational 4, Not applicable 2, Phase 3 3, Phase 2 3, Phase 1/2 4, Phase 1 3) 2010: 19 trials (Observational 2, Not applicable 3, Phase 3 1, Phase 2 7, Phase 1/2 2, Phase 1 4) 2011: 21 trials (Observational 2, Phase 3 1, Phase 2 10, Phase 1/2 2, Phase 1 6) 2012: 19 trials (Observational 4, Not applicable 2, Phase 4 1, Phase 3 1, Phase 2/3 1, Phase 2 7, Phase 1 3) 2013: 18 trials (Observational 3, Not applicable 1, Phase 3 2, Phase 2 8, Phase 1/2 4) 2014: 14 trials (Observational 1, Phase 3 3, Phase 2 6, Phase 1/2 1, Phase 1 3) 2015: 30 trials (Observational 3, Not applicable 3, Phase 4 1, Phase 2 12, Phase 1/2 3, Phase 1 8) 2016: 21 trials (Observational 4, Not applicable 1, Phase 3 1, Phase 2 4, Phase 1/2 5, Phase 1 6) 2017: 21 trials (Observational 2, Not applicable 3, Phase 3 1, Phase 2 12, Phase 1/2 1, Phase 1 2) 2018: 18 trials (Observational 2, Not applicable 1, Phase 3 1, Phase 2 8, Phase 1 6) 2019: 20 trials (Observational 1, Not applicable 1, Phase 3 2, Phase 2/3 1, Phase 2 5, Phase 1/2 4, Phase 1 6) 2020: 21 trials (Observational 2, Phase 3 3, Phase 2 6, Phase 1/2 3, Phase 1 7) 2021: 37 trials (Observational 1, Not applicable 3, Phase 3 7, Phase 2 18, Phase 1/2 4, Phase 1 4) 2022: 21 trials (Observational 4, Phase 4 1, Phase 3 1, Phase 2 4, Phase 1/2 3, Phase 1 8) 2023: 23 trials (Observational 8, Not applicable 2, Phase 2 6, Phase 1/2 1, Phase 1 6) 2024: 26 trials (Observational 3, Not applicable 3, Phase 3 2, Phase 2 7, Phase 1/2 3, Phase 1 8) 2025: 17 trials (Observational 3, Not applicable 1, Phase 3 1, Phase 2 4, Phase 1/2 4, Phase 1 4)

Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.

Trials started per year
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 37
2025 17
2024 26
2023 23
2022 21
2021 37
2020 21
2019 20
2018 18
2017 21

Forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included, not rows of this table: about 42 trials starting in 2026 and about 27 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward, with about 0.7 times the starts already registered for the rest of 2026 added. The rows of this table count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. In backtests on conditions of this size, forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 15 percent and ran about 1 percent high against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 26 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered. The part-way figures are from forecasts that used a multiple fitted only on earlier years. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored.

Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 80 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 38 months across 415 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

What phase are Primary Myelofibrosis trials in? (10)

Shown in this order: phase order.

Show the trials by phase as a table
Trials by phase
Phase Trials
Phase 1 141
Phase 1/2 65
Phase 2 207
Phase 2/3 5
Phase 3 53
Phase 4 4
Not applicable 59
Observational 76
Expanded access 5
Unknown 1

How many Primary Myelofibrosis trials are recruiting? (10)

Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.

Trials by recruitment status
Status Trials
Not yet recruiting 15
Recruiting 90
Active, not recruiting 49
Available 3
Completed 308

Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.

Which lead sponsors run the most Primary Myelofibrosis trials? (6)

Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.

Lead sponsors
Sponsor Trials
Novartis Pharmaceuticals 24
Incyte Corporation 23
National Cancer Institute (NCI) 17
Chia Tai Tianqing Pharmaceutical Group Co., Ltd. 10
AbbVie 8

Which drugs are being tested for Primary Myelofibrosis? (3)

Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.

Drugs tested
Drug Trials
Cytoxan 68
Busulfan 42
Melphalan 24

Interventions as named in the registry (12)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Interventions as named in the registry
Drug Trials
Ruxolitinib IR 98
SQ Fludarabine 73
IR Tacrolimus 48
Peripheral blood stem cell transplantation 43
Mofetil Mycophenolate 39

These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.

Which serious adverse events do Primary Myelofibrosis trials report? (10)

Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.

Serious adverse events in this condition's trials
Adverse event Subjects affected Trials
Pneumonia 549 60
Anaemia 376 40
Death 316 25
Pyrexia 253 38
Sepsis 199 61

Which publications cover Primary Myelofibrosis? (242)

Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.

Prevalence (6)

Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.

Prevalence
Orphanet disease Type Class Geography Jurisdiction Mapping relation
Primary myelofibrosis Point prevalence 1-9 / 100 000 Europe Not stated Exact
Primary myelofibrosis Annual incidence 1-9 / 100 000 Europe Not stated Exact
Primary myelofibrosis Point prevalence 1-9 / 100 000 Europe Not stated Unspecified
Primary myelofibrosis Point prevalence 1-9 / 100 000 Europe Not stated Exact
Primary myelofibrosis Annual incidence 1-9 / 100 000 Europe Not stated Unspecified

Rare-disease identity (2)

Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.

Rare-disease identity
Orphanet disease ORPHA code Relation Source
Primary myelofibrosis 824 Exact Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1
Primary myelofibrosis 824 Exact Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO)

Not on this page

Not measured: delivery record.

Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: sub-conditions in mesh.

Browse all condition evidence pages