Condition (MeSH)
Giant Axonal Neuropathy
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 3 trials for Giant Axonal Neuropathy or a narrower condition beneath it. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 1.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase
3 of the 3 trials are tagged with Giant Axonal Neuropathy itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Giant Axonal Neuropathy trials start? (3)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 1 |
| 2015 | 1 |
| 2011 | 1 |
No forecast is made for this condition: it averages 0.2 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 1 trial still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Giant Axonal Neuropathy trials in? (2)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 2 |
| Observational | 1 |
How many Giant Axonal Neuropathy trials are recruiting? (3)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Recruiting | 1 |
| Completed | 1 |
| Terminated | 1 |
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Giant Axonal Neuropathy trials? (1)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) | 1 |
Which publications cover Giant Axonal Neuropathy? (4)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Disease mutation in gigaxonin-E3 ligase recapitulates giant axonal neuropathy in mice. | Acta neuropathologica communications | 2025 | Yes |
| Intrathecal Gene Therapy for Giant Axonal Neuropathy. | The New England journal of medicine | 2024 | Yes |
| Extensive rod and cone photoreceptor-cell degeneration in rat models of giant axonal neuropathy: implications for gene therapy of human disease. | Ophthalmic genetics | 2021 | Yes |
| Advancing the pathologic phenotype of giant axonal neuropathy: early involvement of the ocular lens. | Orphanet journal of rare diseases | 2019 | Yes |
Prevalence (4)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Giant axonal neuropathy | Point prevalence | Unknown | Worldwide | Not stated | Exact |
| Giant axonal neuropathy | Cases families | Worldwide | Not stated | Exact | |
| Giant axonal neuropathy | Point prevalence | Unknown | Worldwide | Not stated | Exact |
| Giant axonal neuropathy | Cases families | Worldwide | Not stated | Exact |
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Giant axonal neuropathy | 643 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
| Giant axonal neuropathy | 643 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.
Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: serious adverse events in this condition's trials and sub-conditions in mesh.
Not computed for conditions with fewer than 10 trials: drugs tested.