Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Condition (MeSH)

Frontotemporal Dementia

ClinicalTrials.gov lists 289 trials for Frontotemporal Dementia or a narrower condition beneath it. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 7.

MeSH D057180 Nervous System Diseases C10 C18 F03 Listed by Orphanet as a rare disease
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

Phase 1 Phase 1 33 Phase 1/2 Phase 1/2 10 Phase 2 Phase 2 39 Phase 3 Phase 3 9 Phase 4 Phase 4 7 Not applicable Not applicable 80 Observational Observational 110 Expanded access Expanded access 1 Phase 1 Phase 1 33 Phase 1/2 Phase 1/2 10 Phase 2 Phase 2 39 Phase 3 Phase 3 9 Phase 4 Phase 4 7 Not applicable Not applicable 80 Observational Observational 110 Expanded access Expanded access 1

Trials per phase (log scale)

205 of the 289 trials are tagged with Frontotemporal Dementia itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.

Get the Frontotemporal Dementia report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

When did Frontotemporal Dementia trials start? (26)

Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.

Trials over time, by phase

  • Phase 1
  • Phase 1/2
  • Phase 2
  • Phase 3
  • Phase 4
  • Not applicable
  • Observational

Top of scale: 32

2001: 2 trials (Observational 1, Phase 3 1) 2002: 1 trials (Observational 1) 2003: 1 trials (Phase 2 1) 2004: 3 trials (Observational 1, Phase 2 1, Phase 1 1) 2005: 4 trials (Observational 1, Phase 4 1, Phase 2 2) 2006: 1 trials (Phase 4 1) 2007: 7 trials (Observational 3, Not applicable 1, Phase 4 1, Phase 3 2) 2008: 9 trials (Observational 2, Not applicable 1, Phase 4 2, Phase 2 1, Phase 1/2 1, Phase 1 2) 2009: 7 trials (Observational 3, Not applicable 2, Phase 2 1, Phase 1 1) 2010: 8 trials (Observational 4, Not applicable 1, Phase 1 3) 2011: 4 trials (Observational 3, Phase 1 1) 2012: 4 trials (Observational 3, Not applicable 1) 2013: 10 trials (Observational 5, Not applicable 2, Phase 3 1, Phase 2 1, Phase 1 1) 2014: 8 trials (Observational 3, Not applicable 1, Phase 3 1, Phase 2 1, Phase 1 2) 2015: 10 trials (Observational 4, Not applicable 5, Phase 2 1) 2016: 14 trials (Observational 4, Not applicable 4, Phase 3 1, Phase 2 3, Phase 1 2) 2017: 19 trials (Observational 9, Not applicable 3, Phase 2 2, Phase 1/2 1, Phase 1 4) 2018: 20 trials (Observational 5, Not applicable 5, Phase 4 1, Phase 2 5, Phase 1 4) 2019: 12 trials (Observational 4, Not applicable 3, Phase 2 4, Phase 1 1) 2020: 17 trials (Observational 7, Not applicable 5, Phase 3 1, Phase 2 2, Phase 1/2 2) 2021: 28 trials (Observational 12, Not applicable 10, Phase 2 3, Phase 1/2 2, Phase 1 1) 2022: 20 trials (Observational 7, Not applicable 7, Phase 2 1, Phase 1/2 2, Phase 1 3) 2023: 32 trials (Observational 14, Not applicable 12, Phase 4 1, Phase 3 1, Phase 2 1, Phase 1/2 1, Phase 1 2) 2024: 11 trials (Observational 3, Not applicable 5, Phase 2 1, Phase 1 2) 2025: 19 trials (Observational 4, Not applicable 8, Phase 2 5, Phase 1 2)

Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.

Trials started per year
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 17
2025 19
2024 11
2023 32
2022 20
2021 28
2020 17
2019 12
2018 20
2017 19

Forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included, not rows of this table: about 21 trials starting in 2026 and about 19 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward, with about 0.7 times the starts already registered for the rest of 2026 added. The rows of this table count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. In backtests on conditions of this size, forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 15 percent and ran about 1 percent high against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 26 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered. The part-way figures are from forecasts that used a multiple fitted only on earlier years. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored.

Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 39 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 34 months across 142 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

What phase are Frontotemporal Dementia trials in? (8)

Shown in this order: phase order.

Show the trials by phase as a table
Trials by phase
Phase Trials
Phase 1 33
Phase 1/2 10
Phase 2 39
Phase 3 9
Phase 4 7
Not applicable 80
Observational 110
Expanded access 1

How many Frontotemporal Dementia trials are recruiting? (9)

Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.

Trials by recruitment status
Status Trials
Not yet recruiting 7
Recruiting 57
Enrolling by invitation 19
Active, not recruiting 22
Completed 133

Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.

Which lead sponsors run the most Frontotemporal Dementia trials? (3)

Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.

Lead sponsors
Sponsor Trials
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) 7
Alector Inc. 4
Axon Neuroscience SE 4

Which drugs are being tested for Frontotemporal Dementia? (2)

Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.

Drugs tested
Drug Trials
Flortaucipir F18 6
AL001 3

Interventions as named in the registry (13)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Interventions as named in the registry
Drug Trials
AADvac1 5
memantine ER 5
Lumbar puncture 4
Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation 4
Observational Study 3

These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.

Which serious adverse events do Frontotemporal Dementia trials report? (10)

Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.

Serious adverse events in this condition's trials
Adverse event Subjects affected Trials
Fall 19 5
Urinary tract infection 14 3
Pneumonia 11 2
Medical event 10 1
Syncope 9 3

Which publications cover Frontotemporal Dementia? (159)

Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.

Prevalence (6)

Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.

Prevalence
Orphanet disease Type Class Geography Jurisdiction Mapping relation
Frontotemporal dementia Annual incidence 1-9 / 100 000 Italy Not stated Exact
Frontotemporal dementia Point prevalence 1-9 / 100 000 Europe Not stated Unspecified
Frontotemporal dementia Point prevalence 1-9 / 100 000 Europe Not stated Exact
Frontotemporal dementia Annual incidence 1-9 / 100 000 Italy Not stated Exact
Frontotemporal dementia Annual incidence 1-9 / 100 000 Italy Not stated Unspecified

Rare-disease identity (2)

Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.

Rare-disease identity
Orphanet disease ORPHA code Relation Source
Frontotemporal dementia 282 Exact Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO)
Frontotemporal dementia 282 Exact Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1

Sub-conditions in MeSH (1)

MeSH descendants one level down with at least one trial, most trials first.

Not on this page

Not measured: delivery record.

Browse all condition evidence pages