Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Organization (Academic)

UNIVERSITY OF DELAWARE

ClinicalTrials.gov lists UNIVERSITY OF DELAWARE as lead sponsor of 128 trials. It has 11 active development programs and 11 approved assets.

US Academic
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

19 0 2002 2027

Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.

2026 is partial: 4 registered with a 2026 start date. The hollow diamonds on the dashed line are a forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included: about 6 in 2026 and about 7 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The columns, the lighter one included, count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. This method has not been backtested on organizations. In backtests on conditions with as many trial starts a year as this organization (5 to 20), forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 28 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 39 percent and ran about 37 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored.

Logo University of Delaware, via Wikimedia Commons, Public domain. Shown to identify the organization; it may be a registered trademark.

This page covers UNIVERSITY OF DELAWARE: 128 lead-sponsored trials and 2 legal-entity registrations.

Get the UNIVERSITY OF DELAWARE report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

Disease areas (81)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Disease areas
Disease area Trials
Stroke 13
Pain 11
Obesity 9
Language Development Disorders 8
Substance-Related Disorders 7

Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (24)

Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.

Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 4
2025 8
2024 17
2023 13
2022 19
2021 15
2020 13
2019 15
2018 16
2017 13

Prediction, not a registry value: median 36 months or more (the model's horizon) from start to primary completion across 15 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; 9 of 15 predicted trials reach the 36-month horizon; registered median of 23 months across 92 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

Active development programs (11)

Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.

Active development programs
Drug Disease area Max phase Trials
Niagen Cognitive Dysfunction Phase 1/2 1
NG Nitro L Arginine Methyl Ester Major Depressive Disorder Not reported 1
Red Light (PDT) Parkinson Disease Not reported 1
Exercise Stroke Not reported 1
Aerobic exercise Cognitive Dysfunction Not reported 1

Approved assets (11)

Shown in this order: max phase first.

Approved assets
Drug Trials
Estradiol 2
Hypertensives 1
MitoQ 1
FUROSEMIDE 1
Estrogen 1

Sponsor delivery record (1)

Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.

Sponsor delivery record
Enrollment Timeline
46% hit target (n=71) 22% on time (n=72)

Journals published in (166)

Shown in this order: most published in first.

Journals published in
Journal Publications
Archives of physical medicine and rehabilitation 16
Physical therapy 13
American journal of physiology. Regulatory, integrative and comparative physiology 9
Journal of rehabilitation research and development 6
Circulation 5

US granted patents (1)

Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.

US granted patents
US patents granted Granted in the last 5 years Most recent grant
436 34 2025-09-09

Financing and grant events (496)

Shown in this order: most recent first.

Financing and grant events
Date Round type Amount (USD) Source
2025-09-24 NIH grant 601,120 Reporter
2025-09-22 NIH grant 879,670 Reporter
2025-09-20 NIH grant 946,800 Reporter
2025-09-12 NIH grant 553,507 Reporter
2025-09-11 NIH grant 430,675 Reporter

Organization relationships (21)

Shown in this order: most evidence first.

Organization relationships
Related organization Relationship Evidence
Government of the United States of America Co sponsors trial with 3
University of Iowa Co sponsors trial with 2
Christiana Care Health Services Co sponsors trial with 2
Boston University Co sponsors trial with 2
Northeastern University Co sponsors trial with 1

Latest dated events (1,110)

Shown in this order: newest first.

Latest dated events
Date Event Source
2026-09-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-09-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-05 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-02-20 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2025-09-24 NIH grant Funding rounds and grants (NIH RePORTER + SEC EDGAR)

Biomarker capability evidence (60)

Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.

Biomarker capability evidence
Gene Role Evidence
ABCA4 Testing lab / CRO (runs the assay) Clinical-testing interpretation submitted (ClinVar)
CD4 Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
DLD Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
DLD Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
DLD Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria

Biomarkers this organization publishes on (149)

Shown in this order: most publications first.

Biomarkers this organization publishes on
Biomarker Publications
INS 8
FASTK 6
BDNF 5
IL6 5
CYTH1 4

Not on this page

Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, related companies not grouped here, sec-reported annual financials, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, and clia clinical laboratory certificates.