Organization (Nonprofit)
Population Council
ClinicalTrials.gov lists Population Council as lead sponsor of 26 trials. It has 3 active development programs and 3 approved assets.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.
2026 is partial: 0 registered with a 2026 start date. The dashed outline is the pace from the 0 registered with a start date through September, planned starts included, not adjusted; not a forecast. No forecast is made for this organization: it averages 1.4 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
This page covers Population Council: 26 lead-sponsored trials and 2 legal-entity registrations.
Disease areas (15)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Disease area | Trials |
|---|---|
| HIV Infections | 14 |
| Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome | 6 |
| Syphilis | 3 |
| Trichomonas Infections | 3 |
| Trichomonas Vaginitis | 3 |
Showing 5 of 15 disease areas.
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (26)
Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2025 | 1 |
| 2024 | 1 |
| 2023 | 1 |
| 2022 | 4 |
| 2021 | 1 |
| 2019 | 1 |
| 2018 | 5 |
| 2017 | 6 |
| 2016 | 3 |
| 2015 | 3 |
Showing 10 of 26 years.
Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 3 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
Active development programs (3)
Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.
| Drug | Disease area | Max phase | Trials |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dual Prevention Pill | HIV Infections | Not reported | 2 |
| PrEP and combined oral contraceptive (COC) as two separate tablets | HIV Infections | Not reported | 1 |
| PrEP tablet and a COC as two separate tablets | HIV Infections | Not reported | 1 |
Approved assets (3)
Shown in this order: max phase first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| CDB 2914 | 1 |
| ULIPRISTAL ACETATE | 1 |
| Moxifloxacin | 1 |
Sponsor delivery record (1)
Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.
| Enrollment | Timeline |
|---|---|
| 3 of 4 hit target (n=4) | 1 of 3 on time (n=3) |
Journals published in (78)
Shown in this order: most published in first.
| Journal | Publications |
|---|---|
| Contraception | 25 |
| The Journal of clinical endocrinology and metabolism | 11 |
| AIDS and behavior | 10 |
| PloS one | 10 |
| Lancet (London, England) | 7 |
Showing 5 of 78 journals.
US granted patents (1)
Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.
| US patents granted | Granted in the last 5 years | Most recent grant |
|---|---|---|
| 36 | 7 | 2025-12-23 |
Financing and grant events (18)
Shown in this order: most recent first.
| Date | Round type | Amount (USD) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-08-19 | NIH grant | 2,281,160 | Reporter |
| 2024-08-12 | NIH grant | 2,344,029 | Reporter |
| 2024-04-16 | NIH grant | 805,684 | Reporter |
| 2024-02-21 | NIH grant | 743,796 | Reporter |
| 2023-08-28 | NIH grant | 2,116,301 | Reporter |
Showing 5 of 18 events.
FDA inspection record (1)
| Latest classification | Inspections |
|---|---|
| NAI | 3 |
Organization relationships (23)
Shown in this order: most evidence first.
| Related organization | Relationship | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Government of the United States of America | Co sponsors trial with | 8 |
| Gates Foundation | Co sponsors trial with | 4 |
| Ministry of Health, Thailand | Co sponsors trial with | 3 |
| Chiang Rai District Health Office | Co sponsors trial with | 3 |
| Chiang Rai Hospital | Co sponsors trial with | 3 |
Showing 5 of 23 relationships.
Latest dated events (110)
Shown in this order: newest first.
| Date | Event | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-23 | Patent granted | Granted US patents (PatentsView / USPTO) |
| 2025-08-19 | NIH grant | Funding rounds and grants (NIH RePORTER + SEC EDGAR) |
| 2025-08-08 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2025-05-20 | Patent granted | Granted US patents (PatentsView / USPTO) |
| 2024-08-12 | NIH grant | Funding rounds and grants (NIH RePORTER + SEC EDGAR) |
Showing 5 of 110 events.
Biomarker capability evidence (28)
Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.
| Gene | Role | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| CD4 | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| CD4 | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| DPT | Trial collaborator | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| MBP | Trial collaborator | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| NES | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
Showing 5 of 28 evidence rows.
Not on this page
Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, related companies not grouped here, sec-reported annual financials, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, clia clinical laboratory certificates, and biomarkers this organization publishes on.