
Organization (Industry)
NuVasive (United States)
ClinicalTrials.gov lists NuVasive (United States) as lead sponsor of 38 trials. It has 9 active development programs.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.
2026 is partial: 0 registered with a 2026 start date. The dashed outline is the pace from the 0 registered with a start date through September, planned starts included, not adjusted; not a forecast. No forecast is made for this organization: it averages 1.4 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
Logo Lifeofcheetah, via Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0. Shown to identify the organization; it may be a registered trademark.
This page covers NuVasive (United States): 38 lead-sponsored trials and 1 legal-entity registration.
Disease areas (16)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Disease area | Trials |
|---|---|
| Intervertebral Disc Degeneration | 18 |
| Spondylosis | 6 |
| Spondylolisthesis | 5 |
| Radiculopathy | 4 |
| Scoliosis | 4 |
Showing 5 of 16 disease areas.
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (20)
Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2025 | 1 |
| 2024 | 1 |
| 2023 | 1 |
| 2022 | 4 |
| 2021 | 5 |
| 2020 | 5 |
| 2018 | 1 |
| 2017 | 1 |
| 2016 | 3 |
| 2015 | 1 |
Showing 10 of 20 years.
Recruitment duration, a model prediction: none of the 38 trials evaluated at the 2026-10-09 snapshot is predicted and still running. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
Active development programs (9)
Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.
| Drug | Disease area | Max phase | Trials |
|---|---|---|---|
| Observational Study | Klippel-Feil Syndrome | Not reported | 1 |
| Observational Study | Intervertebral Disc Degeneration | Not reported | 1 |
| Observational Study | Thoracic Injuries | Not reported | 1 |
| Observational Study | Radiculopathy | Not reported | 1 |
| Osteocel Plus | Intervertebral Disc Degeneration | Not reported | 3 |
Showing 5 of 9 active programs.
Sponsor delivery record (1)
Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.
| Enrollment | Timeline |
|---|---|
| 73% hit target (n=11) | 42% on time (n=12) |
Journals published in (2)
Shown in this order: most published in first.
| Journal | Publications |
|---|---|
| Clinical trials (London, England) | 1 |
| The spine journal : official journal of the North American Spine Society | 1 |
US granted patents (1)
Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.
| US patents granted | Granted in the last 5 years | Most recent grant |
|---|---|---|
| 742 | 218 | 2025-12-23 |
FDA inspection record (1)
| Latest classification | Inspections |
|---|---|
| NAI | 28 |
FDA recalls (36)
Shown in this order: most recent first.
| Product | Classification | Initiated |
|---|---|---|
| X-CORE 2 Ti Core, Static. Part of the NuVasive X-Core Expandable VBR System used with spinal fixation. | Class II | 2022-11-10 |
| NuVasive MD Pulse III Multimodality System REF 1881500 Pulse Software version 369-BL.US and 369-BLN.US | Class III | 2022-07-19 |
| Description/Part: Simplify Disc Size 1, Ht 5/SM-5; Simplify Disc Size 1, Ht 6/SM-6; Simplify Disc Size 2, Ht 4/MD-4; Simplify Disc Size 2, Ht 5/MD-5; Simplify Disc Size 2, Ht 5, 5/MD-5L; Simplify Disc Size 2, Ht 6/MD-6; Simplify Disc Size 2, Ht 6, 5/MD-6L; Simplify Disc Size 3, Ht 5/LG-5; Simplify Disc Size 3, Ht 5, 5/LG-5L; Simplify Disc Size 3, Ht 6/LG-6; Simplify Disc Size 3, Ht 6, 5/LG-6L | Class II | 2022-06-20 |
| Nuvasive NVM5 EMG Module, REF 8020015, Rx ONLY, CE2797, Nonsterile, UDI: 00887517206633 - Product Usage: is intended for intraoperative neurophysiologic monitoring during spinal surgery. | Class II | 2020-06-10 |
| NUVASIVE MAGEC 2 Rod X.X mm XX mm, REF MC2-XXXXS LOT 0000000 AAA - Product Usage: comprised of a sterile single-use spinal rod that is surgically implanted using appropriate NuVasive Reline, Reline Small Stature, and Armada fixation components (i.e. Pedicle screws, hooks and/or connectors, provided non-sterile, to be sterilized by the end user). | Class II | 2020-02-13 |
Showing 5 of 36 recalls.
FDA import refusals (1)
| Refused import lines | Latest refusal |
|---|---|
| 10 | 2023-01-12 |
Manufacturing and distribution sites (2)
Shown in this order: severity rank then name.
| Facility | Location | Regulators | Member organization |
|---|---|---|---|
| NUVASIVE, INC. | SAN DIEGO, US | FDA | |
| NUVASIVE, INC. | Guaynabo, US | FDA |
Latest dated events (862)
Shown in this order: newest first.
| Date | Event | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-23 | Patent granted | Granted US patents (PatentsView / USPTO) |
| 2025-12-23 | Patent granted | Granted US patents (PatentsView / USPTO) |
| 2025-12-09 | Patent granted | Granted US patents (PatentsView / USPTO) |
| 2025-12-09 | Patent granted | Granted US patents (PatentsView / USPTO) |
| 2025-12-02 | Patent granted | Granted US patents (PatentsView / USPTO) |
Showing 5 of 862 events.
Biomarker capability evidence (26)
Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.
| Gene | Role | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| IDE | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| IDE | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| IDE | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| IDE | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| MLX | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
Showing 5 of 26 evidence rows.
Not on this page
Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, related companies not grouped here, approved assets, sec-reported annual financials, financing and grant events, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, organization relationships, clia clinical laboratory certificates, and biomarkers this organization publishes on.