Organization (Hospital)
Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
ClinicalTrials.gov lists Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust as lead sponsor of 17 trials, counting the companies grouped under it. Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust itself has 3 active development programs and 2 approved assets.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. Companies grouped under this one are not included. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.
2026 is partial: 3 registered with a 2026 start date. The dashed outline is the pace from the 3 registered with a start date through September, planned starts included, not adjusted; not a forecast. No forecast is made for this organization: it averages 2.4 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
This page covers Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust and 1 company grouped under it: 17 lead-sponsored trials (16 its own, 1 in the grouped companies) and 2 legal-entity registrations (1 its own, 1 in the grouped companies).
Companies grouped under this page (1)
| Company | Lead trials | Legal entities |
|---|---|---|
| North Tyneside General Hospital | 1 | 1 |
Disease areas (39)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Disease area | Trials |
|---|---|
| Pulmonary Disease, Chronic Obstructive | 6 |
| Parkinson Disease | 4 |
| Colorectal Neoplasms | 3 |
| Dementia | 3 |
| Osteoarthritis | 3 |
Showing 5 of 39 disease areas.
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (15)
Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 3 |
| 2025 | 1 |
| 2024 | 5 |
| 2023 | 2 |
| 2022 | 1 |
| 2021 | 2 |
| 2020 | 3 |
| 2019 | 2 |
| 2018 | 2 |
| 2017 | 2 |
Showing 10 of 15 years.
Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 1 trial still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
Active development programs (3)
Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.
| Drug | Disease area | Max phase | Trials |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pneumococcal Vaccine | Pulmonary Disease, Chronic Obstructive | Not reported | 1 |
| RSV F Vaccine | Pulmonary Disease, Chronic Obstructive | Not reported | 1 |
| Influenza Vaccines | Pulmonary Disease, Chronic Obstructive | Not reported | 1 |
Approved assets (2)
Shown in this order: max phase first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Diclofenac | 1 |
| EtoriCoxib | 1 |
Sponsor delivery record (1)
Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.
| Enrollment | Timeline |
|---|---|
| 14% hit target (n=7) | 17% on time (n=6) |
Journals published in (73)
Shown in this order: most published in first.
| Journal | Publications |
|---|---|
| Thorax | 9 |
| American journal of respiratory and critical care medicine | 7 |
| Chest | 4 |
| PloS one | 3 |
| The European respiratory journal | 3 |
Showing 5 of 73 journals.
Organization relationships (14)
Shown in this order: most evidence first.
| Related organization | Relationship | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Northumbria University | Co sponsors trial with | 5 |
| Newcastle University | Co sponsors trial with | 3 |
| Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust | Co sponsors trial with | 2 |
| University of Manchester | Co sponsors trial with | 1 |
| East and North Hertfordshire NHS Trust | Co sponsors trial with | 1 |
Showing 5 of 14 relationships.
Latest dated events (38)
Shown in this order: newest first.
| Date | Event | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-08-01 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2026-03-19 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2026-03-11 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2025-10-01 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2024-11-21 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
Showing 5 of 38 events.
Biomarker capability evidence (22)
Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.
| Gene | Role | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| CCNG1 | Trial collaborator | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| EGR3 | Trial collaborator | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| MICA | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| S100A9 | Trial collaborator | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| SERPINA2 | Trial collaborator | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
Showing 5 of 22 evidence rows.
Biomarkers this organization publishes on (35)
Shown in this order: most publications first.
Showing 5 of 35 biomarkers.
Not on this page
Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: related companies not grouped here, us granted patents, sec-reported annual financials, financing and grant events, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, and clia clinical laboratory certificates.