
Organization (Industry)
BRITISH AMERICAN TOBACCO (INVESTMENTS) LIMITED
ClinicalTrials.gov lists BRITISH AMERICAN TOBACCO (INVESTMENTS) LIMITED as lead sponsor of 75 trials, counting the companies grouped under it.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. Companies grouped under this one are not included. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.
2026 is partial: 0 registered with a 2026 start date. The dashed outline is the pace from the 0 registered with a start date through September, planned starts included, not adjusted; not a forecast. No forecast is made for this organization: it averages 0.8 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
Logo Unknown author Unknown author, via Wikimedia Commons, Public domain. Shown to identify the organization; it may be a registered trademark.
This page covers BRITISH AMERICAN TOBACCO (INVESTMENTS) LIMITED and 12 companies grouped under it: 75 lead-sponsored trials (6 its own, 69 in the grouped companies) and 39 legal-entity registrations (24 its own, 15 in the grouped companies).
Companies grouped under this page (12)
Shown in this order: most lead trials first.
| Company | Lead trials | Legal entities |
|---|---|---|
| RAI Services Company | 51 | 0 |
| IMPERIAL BRANDS PLC | 7 | 2 |
| R.J. Reynolds Vapor Company | 5 | 0 |
| R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company | 3 | 0 |
| The Water Street Collective | 3 | 0 |
Showing 5 of 12 member companies.
Disease areas (2)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Disease area | Trials |
|---|---|
| Fatigue | 1 |
| Mental Fatigue | 1 |
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (6)
Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2024 | 1 |
| 2023 | 1 |
| 2022 | 2 |
| 2021 | 2 |
| 2017 | 2 |
| 2015 | 1 |
Recruitment duration, a model prediction: none of the 6 trials evaluated at the 2026-10-09 snapshot is predicted and still running. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
Sponsor delivery record (1)
Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.
| Enrollment | Timeline |
|---|---|
| 1 of 3 hit target (n=3) | 1 of 4 on time (n=4) |
Journals published in (1)
| Journal | Publications |
|---|---|
| Frontiers in nutrition | 1 |
US granted patents (1)
Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.
| US patents granted | Granted in the last 5 years | Most recent grant |
|---|---|---|
| 564 | 61 | 2025-12-16 |
Financing and grant events (19)
Shown in this order: most recent first.
| Date | Round type | Amount (USD) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-09-22 | Debt financing | 750,000,000 | Edgar offerings |
| 2025-09-18 | Other financing | not disclosed | Edgar offerings |
| 2025-07-01 | Debt financing | not disclosed | Edgar offerings |
| 2025-03-13 | Debt financing | 2,500,000,000 | Edgar offerings |
| 2025-03-11 | Other financing | not disclosed | Edgar offerings |
Showing 5 of 19 events.
Organization relationships (6)
Shown in this order: most evidence first.
| Related organization | Relationship | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| British American Tobacco (United Kingdom) | Parent of | 4 |
| British American Tobacco (United Kingdom) | Ultimate parent of | 4 |
| Bat Trieste S.p.A. | Ultimate parent of | 2 |
| Bat Trieste S.p.A. | Parent of | 1 |
| British American Tobacco (Uzbekistan) | Parent of | 1 |
Showing 5 of 6 relationships.
Latest dated events (592)
Shown in this order: newest first.
| Date | Event | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-16 | Patent granted | Granted US patents (PatentsView / USPTO) |
| 2025-11-25 | Patent granted | Granted US patents (PatentsView / USPTO) |
| 2025-10-28 | Patent granted | Granted US patents (PatentsView / USPTO) |
| 2025-09-22 | Debt facility | Funding rounds and grants (NIH RePORTER + SEC EDGAR) |
| 2025-09-18 | Financing | Funding rounds and grants (NIH RePORTER + SEC EDGAR) |
Showing 5 of 592 events.
Biomarker capability evidence (10)
Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.
| Gene | Role | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| CPD | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| CPD | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| CPD | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| CPD | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| CYP2A6 | Trial sponsor | Named in trial exclusion criteria |
Showing 5 of 10 evidence rows.
Not on this page
Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: related companies not grouped here, active development programs, approved assets, sec-reported annual financials, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, clia clinical laboratory certificates, and biomarkers this organization publishes on.