
Organization (Industry)
Fresenius Medical Care AG
ClinicalTrials.gov lists Fresenius Medical Care AG as lead sponsor of 54 trials, counting the companies grouped under it.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Rows recorded per section (log scale)
6 more sections with rows · 10 sections measured, none recorded
Logo Fresenius Medical Care, via Wikimedia Commons, Public domain. Shown to identify the organization; it may be a registered trademark.
This page covers Fresenius Medical Care AG and 5 companies grouped under it: 54 lead-sponsored trials (0 its own, 54 in the grouped companies) and 9 legal-entity registrations (3 its own, 6 in the grouped companies).
Related companies are recorded in the same corporate group by GLEIF, ROR or a curator but are not grouped here; they are listed below with their own counts and are not included in the figures above.
Companies grouped under this page (5)
Shown in this order: most lead trials first.
| Company | Lead trials | Legal entities |
|---|---|---|
| Fresenius Medical Care Deutschland GmbH | 36 | 1 |
| Fresenius Medical Care North America (United States) | 15 | 1 |
| NxStage Medical, Inc. | 3 | 2 |
| FRESENIUS USA MANUFACTURING, INC. | 0 | 1 |
| Fresenius Medical Care de Mexico, S.A. de C.V. | 0 | 1 |
Disease areas (44)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Disease area | Trials |
|---|---|
| Renal Insufficiency, Chronic | 55 |
| Kidney Failure, Chronic | 43 |
| Acute Kidney Injury | 10 |
| Hyperphosphatemia | 5 |
| Heart Failure | 4 |
Showing 5 of 44 disease areas.
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (1)
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2013 | 1 |
No forecast is made for this organization: it averages 0.0 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.
Journals published in (66)
Shown in this order: most published in first.
| Journal | Publications |
|---|---|
| Kidney international | 13 |
| Clinical journal of the American Society of Nephrology : CJASN | 12 |
| Nephrology, dialysis, transplantation : official publication of the European Dialysis and Transplant Association - European Renal Association | 12 |
| BMC nephrology | 7 |
| The Cochrane database of systematic reviews | 7 |
Showing 5 of 66 journals.
US granted patents (1)
Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.
| US patents granted | Granted in the last 5 years | Most recent grant |
|---|---|---|
| 1,691 | 511 | 2025-12-23 |
SEC-reported annual financials (11)
Shown in this order: newest fiscal year first; SEC EDGAR XBRL companyfacts, USD as reported.
| Fiscal year | Revenue (USD) | Net income (USD) | R&D (USD) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 22,142,100,399 | 1,343,880,598 | 178,213,228 |
| 2024 | 20,921,322,596 | 801,616,322 | 198,538,183 |
| 2023 | 21,051,157,818 | 792,607,819 | 251,019,493 |
| 2022 | 20,397,211,453 | 940,391,800 | 240,400,452 |
| 2021 | 20,831,982,131 | 1,441,354,420 | 261,048,238 |
| 2020 | 20,366,087,913 | 1,637,391,656 | 220,975,664 |
| 2019 | 19,598,013,061 | 1,613,117,790 | 188,424,717 |
| 2018 | 19,448,941,062 | 2,616,003,145 | 134,080,832 |
| 2017 | 20,037,554,869 | 1,751,563,764 | 125,065,339 |
| 2016 | 18,322,845,117 | 1,570,298,152 | 162,012,343 |
Showing 10 of 11 fiscal years.
Financing and grant events (82)
Shown in this order: most recent first.
| Date | Round type | Amount (USD) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-05-05 | ATM offering | not disclosed | Sec extracted |
| 2026-03-31 | ATM offering | not disclosed | Sec extracted |
| 2025-11-04 | Other financing | not disclosed | Sec extracted |
| 2025-08-11 | Public offering | not disclosed | Sec extracted |
| 2025-06-17 | Other financing | not disclosed | Sec extracted |
Showing 5 of 82 events.
FDA warning letters (1)
| Issue date | Letter |
|---|---|
| 2023-12-04 | fresenius-medical-care-ag-co-kgaa-666791-12042023 |
Manufacturing and distribution sites (13)
Shown in this order: severity rank then name.
| Facility | Location | Regulators | Member organization |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fresenius Medical Care de Mexico, S.A. de C.V. | Zapopan, MX | FDA, Health Canada | Fresenius Medical Care de Mexico, S.A. de C.V. |
| Fresenius USA Manufacturing, Inc. | Ogden, US | FDA | Fresenius USA Manufacturing, Inc. |
| Fresenius Medical Care Deutschland GmbH | Bad Homburg, DE | EMA | Fresenius Medical Care Deutschland GmbH |
| FRESENIUS MEDICAL CARE DEUTSCHLAND GMBH | SCHWEINFURT Bavaria, DE | FDA | Fresenius Medical Care Deutschland GmbH |
| FRESENIUS MEDICAL CARE DEUTSCHLAND GMBH | ST. WENDEL Saarland, DE | EMA, FDA, Health Canada | Fresenius Medical Care Deutschland GmbH |
Showing 5 of 13 sites.
Climate targets, as filed (1)
| Reporting year | Net-zero target |
|---|---|
| 2025 | 2050 |
Workforce and board diversity, as filed (1)
| Reporting year | Workforce % women | Board % women |
|---|---|---|
| 2025 | not disclosed | not disclosed |
Organization relationships (4)
Shown in this order: most evidence first.
| Related organization | Relationship | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Teaching Hospital Markusovszky, Szombathely | Co sponsors trial with | 1 |
| Institute for Extracorporeal Life Support | Co sponsors trial with | 1 |
| University Hospital, Caen | Co sponsors trial with | 1 |
| Marie Hogan | Co sponsors trial with | 1 |
Latest dated events (2,113)
Shown in this order: newest first.
| Date | Event | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-12 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2026-11 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2026-07-24 | FDA inspection | FDA enforcement (warning and untitled letters, recalls, inspections, import refusals, debarment) |
| 2026-07-03 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2026-05-29 | FDA inspection | FDA enforcement (warning and untitled letters, recalls, inspections, import refusals, debarment) |
Showing 5 of 2,113 events.
Not on this page
Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: active development programs, approved assets, sponsor delivery record, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, clia clinical laboratory certificates, biomarker capability evidence, and biomarkers this organization publishes on.