Condition (MeSH)
Hemophilia B
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 259 trials for Hemophilia B or a narrower condition beneath it. Novo Nordisk A/S has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 36.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase (log scale)
259 of the 259 trials are tagged with Hemophilia B itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Hemophilia B trials start? (29)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year. 3 trials are registered to start in 2027 or later, and not listed here.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 1/2
- Phase 2
- Phase 2/3
- Phase 3
- Phase 4
- Not applicable
- Observational
Top of scale: 17
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 10 |
| 2025 | 4 |
| 2024 | 14 |
| 2023 | 15 |
| 2022 | 13 |
| 2021 | 14 |
| 2020 | 12 |
| 2019 | 15 |
| 2018 | 17 |
| 2017 | 15 |
Showing 10 of 29 earlier years.
Forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included, not rows of this table: about 8 trials starting in 2026 and about 8 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The rows of this table count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. In backtests on conditions of this size, forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 28 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 39 percent and ran about 37 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored. The 2026 forecast is below the 10 already registered with a 2026 start date: at the cutoff, 4 trials were already registered to start in October to December, more than the method's monthly average allows for, and the method does not use those planned starts.
Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 16 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 24 months across 179 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Hemophilia B trials in? (8)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 35 |
| Phase 1/2 | 18 |
| Phase 2 | 15 |
| Phase 2/3 | 5 |
| Phase 3 | 51 |
| Phase 4 | 15 |
| Not applicable | 17 |
| Observational | 103 |
How many Hemophilia B trials are recruiting? (8)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Not yet recruiting | 10 |
| Recruiting | 28 |
| Enrolling by invitation | 5 |
| Active, not recruiting | 6 |
| Completed | 157 |
Showing 5 of 8 statuses.
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Hemophilia B trials? (11)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| Novo Nordisk A/S | 36 |
| Pfizer | 21 |
| Baxalta now part of Shire | 17 |
| CSL Behring | 17 |
| Wyeth is now a wholly owned subsidiary of Pfizer | 11 |
Showing 5 of 11 sponsors.
Which drugs are being tested for Hemophilia B? (9)
Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| BENEFIX | 18 |
| Nonacog beta pegol | 10 |
| rFIXFc | 9 |
| activated recombinant human factor VII | 9 |
| Fresh Frozen Plasma | 7 |
Showing 5 of 9 drugs.
Interventions as named in the registry (6)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| No treatment given | 9 |
| Replenine®-VF (High Purity Factor IX) | 5 |
| SerpinPC | 4 |
| rFIX | 3 |
| Factor IX | 3 |
Showing 5 of 6 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which serious adverse events do Hemophilia B trials report? (10)
Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.
| Adverse event | Subjects affected | Trials |
|---|---|---|
| Fall | 25 | 5 |
| Haemarthrosis | 18 | 10 |
| Haemophilic arthropathy | 16 | 7 |
| Pneumonia | 16 | 9 |
| Head injury | 14 | 7 |
Showing 5 of 10 adverse events.
Which publications cover Hemophilia B? (162)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Factor IX-Padua AAV gene therapy in hemophilia B: phases 1/2 and 3 trials. | Nature medicine | 2026 | Yes |
| Final Analysis of a Study of Etranacogene Dezaparvovec for Hemophilia B. | The New England journal of medicine | 2026 | Yes |
| Population Modeling of Factor IX Activity Following Administration of Fidanacogene Elaparvovec Gene Therapy in Participants with Hemophilia B. | Clinical pharmacokinetics | 2025 | Yes |
| Relationship between Dose, Factor IX Activity Levels and Bleeding Probability for rIX-FP Prophylaxis in Hemophilia B: A Repeated Time-to-Event Analysis. | Clinical pharmacology and therapeutics | 2025 | Yes |
| Safety and Use of Eptacog Beta 225 µg/kg in Patients With Haemophilia A or B With Inhibitors. | Haemophilia : the official journal of the World Federation of Hemophilia | 2025 | Yes |
Showing 5 of 162 publications.
Prevalence (303)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hemophilia B | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | United Kingdom | GB | Exact |
| Hemophilia B | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | United Kingdom | GB | Unspecified |
| Hemophilia B | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | United Kingdom | GB | Exact |
| Hemophilia B | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 1 000 000 | Malaysia | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Hemophilia B | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 1 000 000 | Nicaragua | Not stated | Exact |
Showing 5 of 303 prevalence observations.
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hemophilia B | 98879 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
| Hemophilia B | 98879 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.
Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: sub-conditions in mesh.