Condition (MeSH)
Graft vs Host Disease
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 1,349 trials for Graft vs Host Disease or a narrower condition beneath it. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 29.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase
1 more section with rows
693 of the 1,349 trials are tagged with Graft vs Host Disease itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Graft vs Host Disease trials start? (33)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year. 1 trial is registered to start in 2027 or later, and not listed here.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 1/2
- Phase 2
- Phase 2/3
- Phase 3
- Phase 4
- Not applicable
- Observational
- Other (Expanded access)
Top of scale: 81
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 62 |
| 2025 | 81 |
| 2024 | 64 |
| 2023 | 51 |
| 2022 | 45 |
| 2021 | 47 |
| 2020 | 51 |
| 2019 | 46 |
| 2018 | 51 |
| 2017 | 57 |
Showing 10 of 33 earlier years.
Forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included, not rows of this table: about 79 trials starting in 2026 and about 77 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward, with about 0.7 times the starts already registered for the rest of 2026 added. The rows of this table count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. In backtests on conditions of this size, forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 15 percent and ran about 1 percent high against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 26 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered. The part-way figures are from forecasts that used a multiple fitted only on earlier years. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored.
Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 128 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 31 months across 846 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Graft vs Host Disease trials in? (9)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 138 |
| Phase 1/2 | 128 |
| Phase 2 | 361 |
| Phase 2/3 | 23 |
| Phase 3 | 138 |
| Phase 4 | 74 |
| Not applicable | 265 |
| Observational | 214 |
| Expanded access | 8 |
How many Graft vs Host Disease trials are recruiting? (11)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Not yet recruiting | 37 |
| Recruiting | 154 |
| Enrolling by invitation | 10 |
| Active, not recruiting | 61 |
| Completed | 707 |
Showing 5 of 11 statuses.
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Graft vs Host Disease trials? (7)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) | 29 |
| Novartis Pharmaceuticals | 26 |
| National Cancer Institute (NCI) | 22 |
| Incyte Corporation | 17 |
| Hoffmann-La Roche | 12 |
Showing 5 of 7 sponsors.
Which drugs are being tested for Graft vs Host Disease? (6)
Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Cytoxan | 89 |
| Sirolimus | 57 |
| Busulfan | 45 |
| METHYLPREDNISOLONE | 32 |
| RITUXIMAB | 25 |
Showing 5 of 6 drugs.
Interventions as named in the registry (9)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| IR Tacrolimus | 86 |
| HD- Methotrexate (MTX) | 60 |
| SQ Fludarabine | 58 |
| Cyclosporine 0.05% | 57 |
| Mofetil Mycophenolate | 55 |
Showing 5 of 9 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which serious adverse events do Graft vs Host Disease trials report? (10)
Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.
| Adverse event | Subjects affected | Trials |
|---|---|---|
| Hospitalizations | 2,299 | 1 |
| Pneumonia | 574 | 82 |
| Death | 430 | 21 |
| Sepsis | 259 | 72 |
| Pyrexia | 255 | 39 |
Showing 5 of 10 adverse events.
Which publications cover Graft vs Host Disease? (1,799)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Semimechanistic Population PK/PD Modeling of Axatilimab in Healthy Participants and Patients With Solid Tumors or Chronic Graft-Versus-Host Disease. | Clinical pharmacology and therapeutics | 2025 | Yes |
| Impact of concomitant azoles on ruxolitinib treatment in patients with GVHD: post hoc analyses of REACH2 and REACH3. | Blood advances | 2025 | Yes |
| Ruxolitinib in Patients With Corticosteroid-Refractory or Corticosteroid-Dependent Chronic Graft-Versus-Host Disease: 3-Year Final Analysis of the Phase III REACH3 Study. | Journal of clinical oncology : official journal of the American Society of Clinical Oncology | 2025 | Yes |
| The Adverse Event Landscape of Stem Cell Transplant: Evidence for AGVHD Driving Early Transplant Associated Toxicities. | Transplantation and cellular therapy | 2025 | Yes |
| Recent advances in acute gastrointestinal graft versus host disease (aGvHD): aspects of steroid-resistant disease. | Annals of hematology | 2025 | Yes |
Showing 5 of 1,799 publications.
Prevalence (3)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graft versus host disease | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Europe | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Graft versus host disease | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Europe | Not stated | Exact |
| Graft versus host disease | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Europe | Not stated | Exact |
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Graft versus host disease | 39812 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
| Graft versus host disease | 39812 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
Sub-conditions in MeSH (1)
MeSH descendants one level down with at least one trial, most trials first.
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.