Condition (MeSH)
Moyamoya Disease
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 58 trials for Moyamoya Disease or a narrower condition beneath it. Beijing Hospital has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 1.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase (log scale)
58 of the 58 trials are tagged with Moyamoya Disease itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Moyamoya Disease trials start? (17)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 1/2
- Phase 3
- Not applicable
- Observational
Top of scale: 7
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 5 |
| 2025 | 6 |
| 2024 | 6 |
| 2023 | 7 |
| 2022 | 4 |
| 2021 | 4 |
| 2020 | 1 |
| 2019 | 5 |
| 2018 | 4 |
| 2017 | 3 |
Showing 10 of 17 earlier years.
Forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included, not rows of this table: about 6 trials starting in 2026 and about 7 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The rows of this table count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. In backtests on conditions of this size, forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 28 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 39 percent and ran about 37 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored.
Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 5 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 19 months across 11 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Moyamoya Disease trials in? (5)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 2 |
| Phase 1/2 | 1 |
| Phase 3 | 2 |
| Not applicable | 25 |
| Observational | 28 |
How many Moyamoya Disease trials are recruiting? (8)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Not yet recruiting | 3 |
| Recruiting | 20 |
| Enrolling by invitation | 2 |
| Active, not recruiting | 1 |
| Completed | 11 |
Showing 5 of 8 statuses.
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Moyamoya Disease trials? (1)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| Beijing Hospital | 1 |
Which drugs are being tested for Moyamoya Disease? (1)
Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| EPOETIN ALFA | 2 |
Interventions as named in the registry (14)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Conservative Treatment | 2 |
| EC Aspirin | 1 |
| Revascularization/Conservative management | 1 |
| 1% Sevoflurane | 1 |
| Xenon contrast agent | 1 |
Showing 5 of 14 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which publications cover Moyamoya Disease? (50)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Treatment for moyamoya disease with hyperhomocysteinemia. | Journal of cerebral blood flow and metabolism : official journal of the International Society of Cerebral Blood Flow and Metabolism | 2025 | Yes |
| Noninvasive Assessment of the Risk Features of Hemorrhage in Moyamoya Disease Using 7T MRI. | Neurology | 2025 | Yes |
| Effects of goal-directed analgesia using the analgesia nociception index in children undergoing surgery for moyamoya disease: A randomised controlled trial. | European journal of anaesthesiology | 2024 | Yes |
| Surgical outcomes following encephaloduroarteriosynangiosis in moyamoya disease associated with hyperhomocysteinemia. | Brain and behavior | 2023 | Yes |
| Impact of Endothelial Shear Stress on the Bilateral Progression of Unilateral Moyamoya Disease. | Stroke | 2020 | Yes |
Showing 5 of 50 publications.
Prevalence (30)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Moyamoya disease | Annual incidence | <1 / 1 000 000 | United States | US | Unspecified |
| Moyamoya disease | Annual incidence | <1 / 1 000 000 | United States | US | Exact |
| Moyamoya disease | Annual incidence | <1 / 1 000 000 | United States | US | Exact |
| Moyamoya disease | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 1 000 000 | Europe | Not stated | Exact |
| Moyamoya disease | Annual incidence | 1-9 / 1 000 000 | Japan | Not stated | Exact |
Showing 5 of 30 prevalence observations.
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Moyamoya disease | 2573 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
| Moyamoya disease | 2573 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.
Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: serious adverse events in this condition's trials and sub-conditions in mesh.