Condition (MeSH)
Porphyrias
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 70 trials for Porphyrias or a narrower condition beneath it. National Center for Research Resources (NCRR) has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 9.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase
33 of the 70 trials are tagged with Porphyrias itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Porphyrias trials start? (27)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 1/2
- Phase 2
- Phase 2/3
- Phase 3
- Not applicable
- Observational
Top of scale: 6
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 4 |
| 2025 | 2 |
| 2024 | 2 |
| 2023 | 4 |
| 2022 | 5 |
| 2021 | 3 |
| 2019 | 2 |
| 2018 | 3 |
| 2017 | 3 |
| 2016 | 3 |
Showing 10 of 27 earlier years.
No forecast is made for this condition: it averages 3.4 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 4 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Porphyrias trials in? (8)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 7 |
| Phase 1/2 | 4 |
| Phase 2 | 12 |
| Phase 2/3 | 4 |
| Phase 3 | 9 |
| Not applicable | 8 |
| Observational | 24 |
| Expanded access | 2 |
How many Porphyrias trials are recruiting? (9)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Recruiting | 7 |
| Enrolling by invitation | 1 |
| Active, not recruiting | 3 |
| Available | 1 |
| Completed | 46 |
Showing 5 of 9 statuses.
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Porphyrias trials? (7)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| National Center for Research Resources (NCRR) | 9 |
| Alnylam Pharmaceuticals | 8 |
| Clinuvel Pharmaceuticals Limited | 6 |
| Disc Medicine, Inc | 4 |
| Portal Therapeutics, Inc. | 3 |
Showing 5 of 7 sponsors.
Which drugs are being tested for Porphyrias? (7)
Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Afamelanotide | 6 |
| RO4917838 | 5 |
| Givosiran | 5 |
| tin mesoporphyrin | 4 |
| Heme arginate | 4 |
Showing 5 of 7 drugs.
Interventions as named in the registry (8)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| PORT-77 | 2 |
| Exercise | 2 |
| Deferasirox FCT | 2 |
| Oral Iron | 1 |
| Isoniazida | 1 |
Showing 5 of 8 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which serious adverse events do Porphyrias trials report? (10)
Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.
| Adverse event | Subjects affected | Trials |
|---|---|---|
| Pulmonary embolism | 9 | 2 |
| Chronic kidney disease | 6 | 1 |
| Abdominal pain | 5 | 3 |
| Device related infection | 5 | 1 |
| Pyrexia | 5 | 2 |
Showing 5 of 10 adverse events.
Which publications cover Porphyrias? (5)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Porphyrias. | Lancet (London, England) | 2010 | Yes |
| Transitory renal failure following rapid administration of a relatively large amount of hematin in a patient with acute intermittent porphyria in clinical remission. | Acta medica Scandinavica | 1978 | Yes |
| Thiopental administration in acute intermittent porphyria without adverse effect. | Anesthesiology | 1976 | Yes |
| Disturbances of liver porphyrin metabolism caused by drugs. | Pharmacological reviews | 1967 | Yes |
| Hepatitis C: a multifaceted disease. Review of extrahepatic manifestations. | Annals of internal medicine | 1995 | No |
Prevalence (6)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Porphyria | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Worldwide | Not stated | Exact |
| Porphyria | Lifetime prevalence | 1-9 / 1 000 000 | Japan | Not stated | Exact |
| Porphyria | Annual incidence | 1-9 / 1 000 000 | Denmark | Not stated | Exact |
| Porphyria | Annual incidence | 1-9 / 1 000 000 | Denmark | Not stated | Exact |
| Porphyria | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Worldwide | Not stated | Exact |
Showing 5 of 6 prevalence observations.
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Porphyria | 738 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
| Porphyria | 738 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
Sub-conditions in MeSH (2)
MeSH descendants one level down with at least one trial, most trials first.
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.