Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Condition (MeSH)

Progeria

ClinicalTrials.gov lists 12 trials for Progeria or a narrower condition beneath it. PRG Science & Technology Co., Ltd. has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 2.

MeSH D011371 Congenital / Hereditary / Neonatal C16 C18 Listed by Orphanet as a rare disease
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

Phase 1 Phase 1 1 Phase 1/2 Phase 1/2 2 Phase 2 Phase 2 5 Observational Observational 3 Expanded access Expanded access 1 Phase 1 Phase 1 1 Phase 1/2 Phase 1/2 2 Phase 2 Phase 2 5 Observational Observational 3 Expanded access Expanded access 1

Trials per phase

12 of the 12 trials are tagged with Progeria itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.

Get the Progeria report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

When did Progeria trials start? (9)

Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.

Trials over time, by phase

  • Phase 1
  • Phase 1/2
  • Phase 2
  • Observational

Top of scale: 2

2004: 1 trials (Observational 1) 2007: 1 trials (Phase 2 1) 2008: 1 trials (Phase 2 1) 2009: 2 trials (Phase 2 2) 2015: 1 trials (Phase 1/2 1) 2019: 1 trials (Phase 1/2 1) 2020: 1 trials (Phase 1 1) 2025: 1 trials (Phase 2 1)

Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.

Trials started per year
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 2
2025 1
2020 1
2019 1
2015 1
2009 2
2008 1
2007 1
2004 1

No forecast is made for this condition: it averages 0.4 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.

Recruitment duration, a model prediction: none of the 12 trials evaluated at the 2026-10-09 snapshot is predicted and still running. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

What phase are Progeria trials in? (5)

Shown in this order: phase order.

Show the trials by phase as a table
Trials by phase
Phase Trials
Phase 1 1
Phase 1/2 2
Phase 2 5
Observational 3
Expanded access 1

How many Progeria trials are recruiting? (5)

Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.

Trials by recruitment status
Status Trials
Not yet recruiting 2
Enrolling by invitation 1
Completed 7
Approved for marketing 1
Unknown status 1

Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.

Which lead sponsors run the most Progeria trials? (3)

Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.

Lead sponsors
Sponsor Trials
PRG Science & Technology Co., Ltd. 2
Eiger BioPharmaceuticals 1
National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI) 1

Which drugs are being tested for Progeria? (2)

Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.

Drugs tested
Drug Trials
Lonafarnib 4
Progerinin 2

Interventions as named in the registry (6)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Interventions as named in the registry
Drug Trials
Pravastatin Pill 1
acid Zoledronic 1
Lonafarnib, Zoledronic Acid, and Pravastatin 1
Umbilical Cord Blood Unit 1
Zoledronic acid, pravastatin 1

These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.

Which serious adverse events do Progeria trials report? (7)

Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.

Serious adverse events in this condition's trials
Adverse event Subjects affected Trials
Stroke 3 1
Vomiting 2 1
Bacterial infection 1 1
Extremity-lower (gait/walking) 1 1
Hypokalemia 1 1

Which publications cover Progeria? (20)

Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.

Prevalence (4)

Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.

Prevalence
Orphanet disease Type Class Geography Jurisdiction Mapping relation
Hutchinson-Gilford progeria syndrome Prevalence at birth <1 / 1 000 000 Worldwide Not stated Exact
Hutchinson-Gilford progeria syndrome Prevalence at birth <1 / 1 000 000 Worldwide Not stated Exact
Hutchinson-Gilford progeria syndrome Point prevalence <1 / 1 000 000 Worldwide Not stated Exact
Hutchinson-Gilford progeria syndrome Point prevalence <1 / 1 000 000 Worldwide Not stated Exact

Rare-disease identity (2)

Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.

Rare-disease identity
Orphanet disease ORPHA code Relation Source
Hutchinson-Gilford progeria syndrome 740 Exact Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO)
Hutchinson-Gilford progeria syndrome 740 Exact Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1

Not on this page

Not measured: delivery record.

Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: sub-conditions in mesh.

Browse all condition evidence pages