Condition (MeSH)
Rift Valley Fever
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 11 trials for Rift Valley Fever or a narrower condition beneath it. U.S. Army Medical Research and Development Command has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 4.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase
11 of the 11 trials are tagged with Rift Valley Fever itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Rift Valley Fever trials start? (7)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 2
- Observational
Top of scale: 4
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2025 | 4 |
| 2022 | 1 |
| 2021 | 1 |
| 2018 | 1 |
| 2009 | 1 |
| 2006 | 2 |
| 2004 | 1 |
No forecast is made for this condition: it averages 1.0 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 3 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Rift Valley Fever trials in? (3)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 3 |
| Phase 2 | 5 |
| Observational | 3 |
How many Rift Valley Fever trials are recruiting? (3)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Recruiting | 3 |
| Active, not recruiting | 2 |
| Completed | 6 |
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Rift Valley Fever trials? (3)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| U.S. Army Medical Research and Development Command | 4 |
| IDBiologics, Inc. | 1 |
| National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) | 1 |
Which drugs are being tested for Rift Valley Fever? (1)
Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Rabies Vaccine | 1 |
Interventions as named in the registry (10)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| ChAdOx1 RVF | 3 |
| IDB-011 dose level 3 | 1 |
| IDB-011 dose level 5 | 1 |
| TSI-GSD 200 RVF Vaccine | 1 |
| Inactivated, Dried (TSI-GSD 200), RVF Vaccine | 1 |
Showing 5 of 10 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which serious adverse events do Rift Valley Fever trials report? (10)
Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.
| Adverse event | Subjects affected | Trials |
|---|---|---|
| Atrial fibrillation | 1 | 1 |
| Back surgery | 1 | 1 |
| Cyst exicision | 1 | 1 |
| Laproscopic surgery for RLQ pain | 1 | 1 |
| Left nephrectomy | 1 | 1 |
Showing 5 of 10 adverse events.
Which publications cover Rift Valley Fever? (3)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Safety and immunogenicity of a ChAdOx1 vaccine against Rift Valley fever in UK adults: an open-label, non-randomised, first-in-human phase 1 clinical trial. | The Lancet. Infectious diseases | 2023 | Yes |
| Global risk mapping for major diseases transmitted by Aedes aegypti and Aedes albopictus. | International journal of infectious diseases : IJID : official publication of the International Society for Infectious Diseases | 2018 | No |
| Potential application of silver nanoparticles to control the infectivity of Rift Valley fever virus in vitro and in vivo. | Nanomedicine : nanotechnology, biology, and medicine | 2016 | No |
Prevalence (3)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rift valley fever | Annual incidence | <1 / 1 000 000 | Europe | Not stated | Exact |
| Rift valley fever | Annual incidence | <1 / 1 000 000 | Europe | Not stated | Exact |
| Rift valley fever | Annual incidence | <1 / 1 000 000 | Europe | Not stated | Unspecified |
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rift valley fever | 319251 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
| Rift valley fever | 319251 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.
Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: sub-conditions in mesh.