Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Condition (MeSH)

Shock, Cardiogenic

ClinicalTrials.gov lists 287 trials for Shock, Cardiogenic or a narrower condition beneath it. Abiomed Inc. has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 5.

MeSH D012770 Cardiovascular Diseases C14 C23
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

Phase 1 Phase 1 3 Phase 1/2 Phase 1/2 2 Phase 2 Phase 2 13 Phase 2/3 Phase 2/3 3 Phase 3 Phase 3 12 Phase 4 Phase 4 23 Not applicable Not applicable 79 Observational Observational 152 Phase 1 Phase 1 3 Phase 1/2 Phase 1/2 2 Phase 2 Phase 2 13 Phase 2/3 Phase 2/3 3 Phase 3 Phase 3 12 Phase 4 Phase 4 23 Not applicable Not applicable 79 Observational Observational 152

Trials per phase (log scale)

287 of the 287 trials are tagged with Shock, Cardiogenic itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.

Get the Shock, Cardiogenic report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

When did Shock, Cardiogenic trials start? (24)

Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.

Trials over time, by phase

  • Phase 1
  • Phase 1/2
  • Phase 2
  • Phase 2/3
  • Phase 3
  • Phase 4
  • Not applicable
  • Observational

Top of scale: 30

1994: 1 trials (Phase 3 1) 2003: 2 trials (Not applicable 1, Phase 3 1) 2004: 5 trials (Observational 3, Phase 4 1, Phase 2/3 1) 2005: 3 trials (Observational 1, Phase 4 1, Phase 3 1) 2006: 5 trials (Observational 1, Phase 4 2, Phase 2 2) 2008: 3 trials (Observational 2, Phase 2 1) 2009: 1 trials (Phase 4 1) 2010: 6 trials (Observational 5, Phase 2 1) 2011: 3 trials (Observational 2, Phase 4 1) 2012: 4 trials (Observational 3, Not applicable 1) 2013: 2 trials (Observational 1, Phase 4 1) 2014: 3 trials (Observational 1, Not applicable 2) 2015: 6 trials (Observational 2, Not applicable 1, Phase 4 1, Phase 2 2) 2016: 15 trials (Observational 9, Not applicable 6) 2017: 13 trials (Observational 10, Not applicable 2, Phase 4 1) 2018: 14 trials (Observational 5, Not applicable 4, Phase 4 4, Phase 3 1) 2019: 24 trials (Observational 17, Not applicable 4, Phase 4 1, Phase 3 1, Phase 2/3 1) 2020: 19 trials (Observational 14, Not applicable 3, Phase 4 1, Phase 2 1) 2021: 19 trials (Observational 10, Not applicable 8, Phase 3 1) 2022: 26 trials (Observational 14, Not applicable 6, Phase 4 3, Phase 3 2, Phase 2 1) 2023: 26 trials (Observational 13, Not applicable 10, Phase 3 1, Phase 1 2) 2024: 30 trials (Observational 15, Not applicable 8, Phase 4 2, Phase 3 1, Phase 2 3, Phase 1/2 1) 2025: 26 trials (Observational 13, Not applicable 9, Phase 4 1, Phase 3 1, Phase 2 1, Phase 1/2 1)

Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.

Trials started per year
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 31
2025 26
2024 30
2023 26
2022 26
2021 19
2020 19
2019 24
2018 14
2017 13

Forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included, not rows of this table: about 37 trials starting in 2026 and about 32 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward, with about 0.7 times the starts already registered for the rest of 2026 added. The rows of this table count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. In backtests on conditions of this size, forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 15 percent and ran about 1 percent high against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 26 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered. The part-way figures are from forecasts that used a multiple fitted only on earlier years. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored.

Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 33 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 27 months across 107 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

What phase are Shock, Cardiogenic trials in? (8)

Shown in this order: phase order.

Show the trials by phase as a table
Trials by phase
Phase Trials
Phase 1 3
Phase 1/2 2
Phase 2 13
Phase 2/3 3
Phase 3 12
Phase 4 23
Not applicable 79
Observational 152

How many Shock, Cardiogenic trials are recruiting? (8)

Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.

Trials by recruitment status
Status Trials
Not yet recruiting 31
Recruiting 82
Enrolling by invitation 2
Active, not recruiting 7
Completed 87

Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.

Which lead sponsors run the most Shock, Cardiogenic trials? (1)

Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.

Lead sponsors
Sponsor Trials
Abiomed Inc. 5

Which drugs are being tested for Shock, Cardiogenic? (6)

Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.

Drugs tested
Drug Trials
Levosimendan 6
Istaroxime 3
Norepinephrine 3
Cangrelor 2
Esmolol 2

Interventions as named in the registry (9)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Interventions as named in the registry
Drug Trials
Dobutamin 4
Standard Care 3
Ivabradine Pill 3
Inotrope 2
Blood tests 2

These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.

Which serious adverse events do Shock, Cardiogenic trials report? (10)

Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.

Serious adverse events in this condition's trials
Adverse event Subjects affected Trials
Blood transfusion 83 1
Brain death 66 1
Coma or vegetative state 20 1
Severe cerebral disability 15 1
Limb Ischemia 11 1

Which publications cover Shock, Cardiogenic? (482)

Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.

Prevalence (2)

Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.

Prevalence
Orphanet disease Type Class Geography Jurisdiction Mapping relation
Cardiogenic shock Point prevalence 1-5 / 10 000 Europe Not stated Exact
Cardiogenic shock Point prevalence 1-5 / 10 000 Europe Not stated Exact

Rare-disease identity (2)

Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.

Rare-disease identity
Orphanet disease ORPHA code Relation Source
Cardiogenic shock 97292 Exact Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1
Cardiogenic shock 97292 Exact Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO)

Not on this page

Not measured: delivery record.

Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: sub-conditions in mesh.

Browse all condition evidence pages