Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Condition (MeSH)

Stevens-Johnson Syndrome

ClinicalTrials.gov lists 40 trials for Stevens-Johnson Syndrome or a narrower condition beneath it.

MeSH D013262 Stomatognathic Diseases C07 C17 C20 C25 Listed by Orphanet as a rare disease
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

Phase 1 Phase 1 2 Phase 1/2 Phase 1/2 8 Phase 2 Phase 2 2 Phase 2/3 Phase 2/3 2 Phase 3 Phase 3 3 Phase 4 Phase 4 3 Not applicable Not applicable 10 Observational Observational 9 Phase 1 Phase 1 2 Phase 1/2 Phase 1/2 8 Phase 2 Phase 2 2 Phase 2/3 Phase 2/3 2 Phase 3 Phase 3 3 Phase 4 Phase 4 3 Not applicable Not applicable 10 Observational Observational 9

Trials per phase

1 more section with rows

40 of the 40 trials are tagged with Stevens-Johnson Syndrome itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.

Get the Stevens-Johnson Syndrome report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

When did Stevens-Johnson Syndrome trials start? (20)

Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year. 1 trial is registered to start in 2027 or later, and not listed here.

Trials over time, by phase

  • Phase 1
  • Phase 1/2
  • Phase 2
  • Phase 2/3
  • Phase 3
  • Phase 4
  • Not applicable
  • Observational
  • Other (Expanded access)

Top of scale: 5

2001: 1 trials (Phase 3 1) 2005: 1 trials (Phase 2/3 1) 2006: 2 trials (Observational 1, Phase 2 1) 2007: 1 trials (Phase 4 1) 2008: 3 trials (Observational 1, Not applicable 2) 2009: 1 trials (Observational 1) 2010: 2 trials (Phase 1/2 2) 2012: 2 trials (Phase 3 1, Phase 1/2 1) 2014: 3 trials (Other 1, Observational 1, Phase 1/2 1) 2015: 2 trials (Observational 1, Not applicable 1) 2016: 5 trials (Not applicable 3, Phase 4 1, Phase 1/2 1) 2017: 2 trials (Observational 1, Not applicable 1) 2018: 1 trials (Observational 1) 2020: 1 trials (Not applicable 1) 2021: 2 trials (Observational 1, Not applicable 1) 2022: 3 trials (Not applicable 1, Phase 2/3 1, Phase 1/2 1) 2023: 2 trials (Phase 3 1, Phase 1 1) 2024: 1 trials (Phase 1/2 1) 2025: 2 trials (Phase 2 1, Phase 1/2 1)

Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.

Trials started per year
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 2
2025 2
2024 1
2023 2
2022 3
2021 2
2020 1
2018 1
2017 2
2016 5

No forecast is made for this condition: it averages 2.0 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.

Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 2 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

What phase are Stevens-Johnson Syndrome trials in? (9)

Shown in this order: phase order.

Show the trials by phase as a table
Trials by phase
Phase Trials
Phase 1 2
Phase 1/2 8
Phase 2 2
Phase 2/3 2
Phase 3 3
Phase 4 3
Not applicable 10
Observational 9
Expanded access 1

How many Stevens-Johnson Syndrome trials are recruiting? (7)

Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.

Trials by recruitment status
Status Trials
Not yet recruiting 4
Recruiting 3
Available 1
Completed 14
Terminated 3

Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.

Which drugs are being tested for Stevens-Johnson Syndrome? (2)

Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.

Drugs tested
Drug Trials
(CP-6890,550) Tofacitinib 2
INFLIXIMAB 2

Interventions as named in the registry (13)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Interventions as named in the registry
Drug Trials
Site specific standard of care comparison 1
cultivated oral mucosal epithelial sheet transplantation 1
Adipose derived stromal cells intravenously injected 1
NaCl 0.9% NS 1
Harmonized supportive care 1

These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.

Which serious adverse events do Stevens-Johnson Syndrome trials report? (10)

Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.

Serious adverse events in this condition's trials
Adverse event Subjects affected Trials
Corneal transplant 2 1
Cystoid macular oedema 2 1
Intraocular pressure increased 2 1
Retinal detachment 2 1
Retinopathy proliferative 2 1

Which publications cover Stevens-Johnson Syndrome? (49)

Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.

Prevalence (6)

Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.

Prevalence
Orphanet disease Type Class Geography Jurisdiction Mapping relation
Stevens-Johnson syndrome Point prevalence Unknown Europe Not stated Exact
Stevens-Johnson syndrome Annual incidence 1-9 / 1 000 000 Europe Not stated Exact
Stevens-Johnson syndrome Point prevalence Unknown Europe Not stated Unspecified
Stevens-Johnson syndrome Annual incidence 1-9 / 1 000 000 Europe Not stated Unspecified
Stevens-Johnson syndrome Annual incidence 1-9 / 1 000 000 Europe Not stated Exact

Rare-disease identity (2)

Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.

Rare-disease identity
Orphanet disease ORPHA code Relation Source
Stevens-Johnson syndrome 36426 Exact Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1
Stevens-Johnson syndrome 36426 Exact Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO)

Not on this page

Not measured: delivery record.

Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: lead sponsors and sub-conditions in mesh.

Browse all condition evidence pages