Condition (MeSH)
Tuberous Sclerosis
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 114 trials for Tuberous Sclerosis or a narrower condition beneath it.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase
1 more section with rows
114 of the 114 trials are tagged with Tuberous Sclerosis itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Tuberous Sclerosis trials start? (26)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 1/2
- Phase 2
- Phase 2/3
- Phase 3
- Phase 4
- Not applicable
- Observational
Top of scale: 12
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 5 |
| 2025 | 5 |
| 2024 | 5 |
| 2023 | 5 |
| 2022 | 12 |
| 2021 | 8 |
| 2020 | 4 |
| 2019 | 4 |
| 2018 | 7 |
| 2017 | 6 |
Showing 10 of 26 earlier years.
Forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included, not rows of this table: about 6 trials starting in 2026 and about 5 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The rows of this table count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. In backtests on conditions of this size, forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 28 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 39 percent and ran about 37 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored.
Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 9 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 36 months across 61 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Tuberous Sclerosis trials in? (9)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 6 |
| Phase 1/2 | 10 |
| Phase 2 | 21 |
| Phase 2/3 | 4 |
| Phase 3 | 15 |
| Phase 4 | 6 |
| Not applicable | 14 |
| Observational | 37 |
| Expanded access | 1 |
How many Tuberous Sclerosis trials are recruiting? (9)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Not yet recruiting | 2 |
| Recruiting | 20 |
| Enrolling by invitation | 3 |
| Active, not recruiting | 10 |
| Available | 1 |
Showing 5 of 9 statuses.
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Tuberous Sclerosis trials? (7)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| Jazz Pharmaceuticals | 6 |
| Novartis Pharmaceuticals | 6 |
| National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) | 5 |
| GRIN Therapeutics, Inc. | 3 |
| Longboard Pharmaceuticals | 3 |
Showing 5 of 7 sponsors.
Which drugs are being tested for Tuberous Sclerosis? (6)
Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| EVEROLIMUS | 16 |
| Sirolimus | 10 |
| Cannabidiol | 5 |
| Ganaxolone | 3 |
| Vigabatrin | 2 |
Showing 5 of 6 drugs.
Interventions as named in the registry (9)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| NPC-12G gel | 2 |
| Melatonin PR | 2 |
| EC Aspirin | 1 |
| AV078 | 1 |
| Skincerity plus sirolimus/rapamycin | 1 |
Showing 5 of 9 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which serious adverse events do Tuberous Sclerosis trials report? (10)
Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.
| Adverse event | Subjects affected | Trials |
|---|---|---|
| Pneumonia | 37 | 9 |
| Neutrophil count decreased | 32 | 1 |
| Seizure | 32 | 7 |
| Nervous system disorders | 27 | 1 |
| Status epilepticus | 19 | 5 |
Showing 5 of 10 adverse events.
Which publications cover Tuberous Sclerosis? (127)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Epilepsy Surgery in Tuberous Sclerosis Complex: A TSC Natural History Database Study. | Pediatric neurology | 2025 | Yes |
| Resective Surgery for Drug-Resistant Epilepsy in Patients With Tuberous Sclerosis Complex: A Prospective Nationwide Multicenter Cohort Study. | Neurology | 2025 | Yes |
| Association of earlier surgery with improved postoperative language development in children with tuberous sclerosis complex. | Journal of neurosurgery. Pediatrics | 2024 | Yes |
| Development and internal validation of a clinical risk score to predict incident renal and pulmonary tumours in people with tuberous sclerosis complex. | Journal of medical genetics | 2024 | Yes |
| Tuberous Sclerosis Complex cell-derived EVs have an altered protein cargo capable of regulating their microenvironment and have potential as disease biomarkers. | Journal of extracellular vesicles | 2023 | Yes |
Showing 5 of 127 publications.
Prevalence (18)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tuberous sclerosis complex | Prevalence at birth | 1-9 / 100 000 | United Kingdom | GB | Exact |
| Tuberous sclerosis complex | Prevalence at birth | 1-9 / 100 000 | United Kingdom | GB | Exact |
| Tuberous sclerosis complex | Prevalence at birth | 1-9 / 100 000 | United Kingdom | GB | Unspecified |
| Tuberous sclerosis complex | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Worldwide | Not stated | Exact |
| Tuberous sclerosis complex | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Hong Kong | Not stated | Exact |
Showing 5 of 18 prevalence observations.
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuberous sclerosis complex | 805 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
| Tuberous sclerosis complex | 805 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.
Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: sub-conditions in mesh.