Condition (MeSH)
Paraparesis, Tropical Spastic
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 23 trials for Paraparesis, Tropical Spastic or a narrower condition beneath it. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 6.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase
23 of the 23 trials are tagged with Paraparesis, Tropical Spastic itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Paraparesis, Tropical Spastic trials start? (16)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 2
- Phase 2/3
- Phase 3
- Phase 4
- Not applicable
- Observational
Top of scale: 3
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 1 |
| 2022 | 1 |
| 2021 | 1 |
| 2019 | 1 |
| 2018 | 1 |
| 2017 | 3 |
| 2013 | 1 |
| 2012 | 1 |
| 2011 | 2 |
| 2009 | 1 |
Showing 10 of 16 earlier years.
No forecast is made for this condition: it averages 0.4 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 2 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Paraparesis, Tropical Spastic trials in? (7)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 4 |
| Phase 2 | 4 |
| Phase 2/3 | 3 |
| Phase 3 | 3 |
| Phase 4 | 1 |
| Not applicable | 3 |
| Observational | 5 |
How many Paraparesis, Tropical Spastic trials are recruiting? (4)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Recruiting | 2 |
| Completed | 14 |
| Terminated | 4 |
| Unknown status | 3 |
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Paraparesis, Tropical Spastic trials? (4)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) | 6 |
| MP Biomedicals, LLC | 3 |
| Kyowa Kirin Co., Ltd. | 1 |
| Tanabe Pharma Corporation | 1 |
Which drugs are being tested for Paraparesis, Tropical Spastic? (5)
Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Tamibarotene | 1 |
| Raltegravir | 1 |
| RITUXIMAB | 1 |
| INFLIXIMAB | 1 |
| Pentoxifylline | 1 |
Interventions as named in the registry (10)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Valproic acid, sodium salt | 2 |
| Lamivudine-Zidovudine (3TC-ZDV) | 1 |
| Dolutegravir Pill | 1 |
| Corticosteroids | 1 |
| Cyclosporine 0.05% | 1 |
Showing 5 of 10 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which publications cover Paraparesis, Tropical Spastic? (29)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Multicenter, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled phase 3 study of mogamulizumab with open-label extension study in a minimum number of patients with human T-cell leukemia virus type-1-associated myelopathy. | Journal of neurology | 2024 | Yes |
| B-cell depletion limits HTLV-1-infected T-cell expansion and ameliorate HTLV-1-associated myelopathy. | Annals of clinical and translational neurology | 2024 | Yes |
| Clinical trial of raltegravir, an integrase inhibitor, in HAM/TSP. | Annals of clinical and translational neurology | 2021 | Yes |
| Effectiveness of virtual reality games for falls, postural oscillations, pain and quality of life of individual HAM/TSP: a randomized, controlled, clinical trial. | Journal of neurovirology | 2020 | Yes |
| CT Chest and pulmonary functional changes in patients with HTLV-associated myelopathy in the Eastern Brazilian Amazon. | PloS one | 2017 | Yes |
Showing 5 of 29 publications.
Prevalence (3)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tropical spastic paraparesis | Point prevalence | Unknown | Worldwide | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Tropical spastic paraparesis | Point prevalence | Unknown | Worldwide | Not stated | Exact |
| Tropical spastic paraparesis | Point prevalence | Unknown | Worldwide | Not stated | Exact |
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tropical spastic paraparesis | 289326 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
| Tropical spastic paraparesis | 289326 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.
Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: serious adverse events in this condition's trials and sub-conditions in mesh.