Condition (MeSH)
Postpoliomyelitis Syndrome
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 28 trials for Postpoliomyelitis Syndrome or a narrower condition beneath it. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 4.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase
28 of the 28 trials are tagged with Postpoliomyelitis Syndrome itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Postpoliomyelitis Syndrome trials start? (16)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 2
- Phase 2/3
- Phase 3
- Not applicable
- Observational
Top of scale: 3
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 1 |
| 2024 | 2 |
| 2023 | 2 |
| 2019 | 2 |
| 2017 | 2 |
| 2016 | 1 |
| 2015 | 3 |
| 2014 | 3 |
| 2013 | 1 |
| 2011 | 1 |
Showing 10 of 16 earlier years.
No forecast is made for this condition: it averages 1.0 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 2 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Postpoliomyelitis Syndrome trials in? (5)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 2 | 1 |
| Phase 2/3 | 2 |
| Phase 3 | 4 |
| Not applicable | 13 |
| Observational | 8 |
How many Postpoliomyelitis Syndrome trials are recruiting? (6)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Recruiting | 3 |
| Active, not recruiting | 1 |
| Completed | 18 |
| Terminated | 2 |
| Withdrawn | 1 |
Showing 5 of 6 statuses.
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Postpoliomyelitis Syndrome trials? (6)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) | 4 |
| Biolab Sanus Farmaceutica | 1 |
| Calliditas Therapeutics AB | 1 |
| Instituto Grifols, S.A. | 1 |
| Istanbul Physical Medicine Rehabilitation Training and Research Hospital | 1 |
Showing 5 of 6 sponsors.
Which drugs are being tested for Postpoliomyelitis Syndrome? (2)
Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Glutathione | 1 |
| Modafinil | 1 |
Interventions as named in the registry (12)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Flebogamma 5% DIF | 1 |
| Three-dose regimen of commercialized sIPV | 1 |
| Intravenous Immunoglobulins | 1 |
| 15g L-citrulline daily p.o. | 1 |
| Three-dose regimen of medium dosage investigational sIPV | 1 |
Showing 5 of 12 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which serious adverse events do Postpoliomyelitis Syndrome trials report? (10)
Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.
| Adverse event | Subjects affected | Trials |
|---|---|---|
| COVID-19 | 4 | 1 |
| Fall/Fall Related Injury | 3 | 1 |
| Cellulitis | 2 | 1 |
| Hypertension | 2 | 1 |
| Multiple Sclerosis Relapse | 2 | 1 |
Showing 5 of 10 adverse events.
Which publications cover Postpoliomyelitis Syndrome? (31)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
Showing 5 of 31 publications.
Prevalence (3)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Postpoliomyelitis syndrome | Point prevalence | Unknown | Worldwide | Not stated | Exact |
| Postpoliomyelitis syndrome | Point prevalence | Unknown | Worldwide | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Postpoliomyelitis syndrome | Point prevalence | Unknown | Worldwide | Not stated | Exact |
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Postpoliomyelitis syndrome | 2942 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
| Postpoliomyelitis syndrome | 2942 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.
Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: sub-conditions in mesh.