Condition (MeSH)
Aphasia, Primary Progressive
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 84 trials for Aphasia, Primary Progressive or a narrower condition beneath it.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase (log scale)
75 of the 84 trials are tagged with Aphasia, Primary Progressive itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Aphasia, Primary Progressive trials start? (19)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 1/2
- Phase 2
- Phase 4
- Not applicable
- Observational
Top of scale: 14
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 4 |
| 2025 | 6 |
| 2024 | 6 |
| 2023 | 14 |
| 2022 | 7 |
| 2021 | 5 |
| 2020 | 9 |
| 2019 | 1 |
| 2018 | 9 |
| 2017 | 7 |
Showing 10 of 19 earlier years.
Forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included, not rows of this table: about 5 trials starting in 2026 and about 5 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The rows of this table count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. In backtests on conditions of this size, forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 28 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 39 percent and ran about 37 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored.
Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 19 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 35 months across 43 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Aphasia, Primary Progressive trials in? (6)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 8 |
| Phase 1/2 | 1 |
| Phase 2 | 7 |
| Phase 4 | 1 |
| Not applicable | 51 |
| Observational | 16 |
How many Aphasia, Primary Progressive trials are recruiting? (7)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Recruiting | 27 |
| Enrolling by invitation | 4 |
| Active, not recruiting | 5 |
| Completed | 37 |
| Terminated | 5 |
Showing 5 of 7 statuses.
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Interventions as named in the registry (15)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation | 2 |
| tDCS | 2 |
| Positron Emission Tomography (PET) | 1 |
| AADvac1 160 µg | 1 |
| Behavioral Treatment | 1 |
Showing 5 of 15 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which serious adverse events do Aphasia, Primary Progressive trials report? (6)
Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.
| Adverse event | Subjects affected | Trials |
|---|---|---|
| Medical event | 10 | 1 |
| COVID-19 | 1 | 1 |
| Chest pain | 1 | 1 |
| Hip replacement | 1 | 1 |
| Medical Event | 1 | 1 |
Showing 5 of 6 adverse events.
Which publications cover Aphasia, Primary Progressive? (64)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Long-Term Therapy With Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation in Primary Progressive Aphasia: A Randomized Clinical Trial. | JAMA network open | 2025 | Yes |
| MEM&SO protocol: understanding the determinants of social learning in neurodegenerative diseases. | BMC psychology | 2024 | Yes |
| Access, referral, service provision and management of individuals with primary progressive aphasia: A survey of speech-language therapists in Italy. | International journal of language & communication disorders | 2023 | Yes |
| Treatment of primary progressive aphasia by repetitive transcranial magnetic stimulation: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study. | Journal of neural transmission (Vienna, Austria : 1996) | 2023 | Yes |
| Specificity in Generalization Effects of Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation Over the Left Inferior Frontal Gyrus in Primary Progressive Aphasia. | Neuromodulation : journal of the International Neuromodulation Society | 2023 | Yes |
Showing 5 of 64 publications.
Prevalence (3)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Primary progressive aphasia | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Worldwide | Not stated | Exact |
| Primary progressive aphasia | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Worldwide | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Primary progressive aphasia | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Worldwide | Not stated | Exact |
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Primary progressive aphasia | 95432 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
| Primary progressive aphasia | 95432 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
Sub-conditions in MeSH (1)
MeSH descendants one level down with at least one trial, most trials first.
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.
Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: lead sponsors.