Condition (MeSH)
Primary Progressive Nonfluent Aphasia
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 20 trials for Primary Progressive Nonfluent Aphasia or a narrower condition beneath it. Axon Neuroscience SE has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 1.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase
20 of the 20 trials are tagged with Primary Progressive Nonfluent Aphasia itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Primary Progressive Nonfluent Aphasia trials start? (14)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 2
- Phase 4
- Not applicable
- Observational
Top of scale: 4
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 1 |
| 2024 | 1 |
| 2023 | 1 |
| 2022 | 1 |
| 2019 | 1 |
| 2018 | 3 |
| 2017 | 4 |
| 2016 | 1 |
| 2015 | 1 |
| 2014 | 1 |
Showing 10 of 14 earlier years.
No forecast is made for this condition: it averages 0.8 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 2 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Primary Progressive Nonfluent Aphasia trials in? (5)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 5 |
| Phase 2 | 1 |
| Phase 4 | 1 |
| Not applicable | 9 |
| Observational | 4 |
How many Primary Progressive Nonfluent Aphasia trials are recruiting? (7)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Recruiting | 7 |
| Enrolling by invitation | 1 |
| Active, not recruiting | 1 |
| Completed | 7 |
| Terminated | 2 |
Showing 5 of 7 statuses.
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Primary Progressive Nonfluent Aphasia trials? (1)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| Axon Neuroscience SE | 1 |
Which drugs are being tested for Primary Progressive Nonfluent Aphasia? (2)
Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| BIIB092 | 1 |
| AL-108 | 1 |
Interventions as named in the registry (8)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| AADvac1 160 µg | 1 |
| Sham rTMS | 1 |
| F-18 FDG | 1 |
| C-11 PiB | 1 |
| Observational Study | 1 |
Showing 5 of 8 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which publications cover Primary Progressive Nonfluent Aphasia? (5)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Automated classification of primary progressive aphasia subtypes from narrative speech transcripts. | Cortex; a journal devoted to the study of the nervous system and behavior | 2014 | Yes |
| Gray and white matter water diffusion in the syndromic variants of frontotemporal dementia. | Neurology | 2010 | Yes |
| The use of spelling for variant classification in primary progressive aphasia: Theoretical and practical implications. | Neuropsychologia | 2019 | No |
| Typical and atypical pathology in primary progressive aphasia variants. | Annals of neurology | 2017 | No |
| Handedness and language learning disability differentially distribute in progressive aphasia variants. | Brain : a journal of neurology | 2013 | No |
Prevalence (6)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Progressive non-fluent aphasia | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Europe | Not stated | Exact |
| Progressive non-fluent aphasia | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Europe | Not stated | Exact |
| Progressive non-fluent aphasia | Annual incidence | 1-9 / 1 000 000 | Europe | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Progressive non-fluent aphasia | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Europe | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Progressive non-fluent aphasia | Annual incidence | 1-9 / 1 000 000 | Europe | Not stated | Exact |
Showing 5 of 6 prevalence observations.
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Progressive non-fluent aphasia | 100070 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
| Progressive non-fluent aphasia | 100070 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.
Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: serious adverse events in this condition's trials and sub-conditions in mesh.