Condition (MeSH)
Myositis, Inclusion Body
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 65 trials for Myositis, Inclusion Body or a narrower condition beneath it. Novartis Pharmaceuticals has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 6.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase
65 of the 65 trials are tagged with Myositis, Inclusion Body itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Myositis, Inclusion Body trials start? (27)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 2
- Phase 2/3
- Phase 3
- Phase 4
- Not applicable
- Observational
Top of scale: 5
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 5 |
| 2025 | 4 |
| 2024 | 3 |
| 2023 | 5 |
| 2022 | 3 |
| 2021 | 3 |
| 2020 | 1 |
| 2019 | 3 |
| 2018 | 4 |
| 2017 | 1 |
Showing 10 of 27 earlier years.
No forecast is made for this condition: it averages 3.8 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 5 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 22 months across 38 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Myositis, Inclusion Body trials in? (7)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 9 |
| Phase 2 | 9 |
| Phase 2/3 | 9 |
| Phase 3 | 3 |
| Phase 4 | 2 |
| Not applicable | 13 |
| Observational | 20 |
How many Myositis, Inclusion Body trials are recruiting? (8)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Not yet recruiting | 2 |
| Recruiting | 6 |
| Enrolling by invitation | 2 |
| Active, not recruiting | 6 |
| Completed | 40 |
Showing 5 of 8 statuses.
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Myositis, Inclusion Body trials? (5)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| Novartis Pharmaceuticals | 6 |
| Abcuro, Inc. | 3 |
| National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) | 3 |
| National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) | 2 |
| ZevraDenmark | 2 |
Which drugs are being tested for Myositis, Inclusion Body? (5)
Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Arimoclomol | 3 |
| Bimagrumab | 3 |
| ABC008 | 3 |
| BAF312 | 2 |
| Sirolimus | 2 |
Interventions as named in the registry (10)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Vital signs | 2 |
| Gamma Globulin | 1 |
| Anakinra alone (stages 2b/3) | 1 |
| natalizumab SC | 1 |
| Ruxolitinib IR | 1 |
Showing 5 of 10 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which serious adverse events do Myositis, Inclusion Body trials report? (10)
Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.
| Adverse event | Subjects affected | Trials |
|---|---|---|
| Pneumonia aspiration | 12 | 3 |
| BASAL CELL CARCINOMA | 10 | 1 |
| Pneumonia | 10 | 3 |
| FALL | 9 | 1 |
| Ankle fracture | 7 | 2 |
Showing 5 of 10 adverse events.
Which publications cover Myositis, Inclusion Body? (66)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Measurement properties of the Inclusion Body Myositis Functional Rating Scale. | Journal of neurology, neurosurgery, and psychiatry | 2025 | Yes |
| Optimism in inclusion body myositis: a double-blind randomised controlled phase III trial investigating the effect of sirolimus on disease progression in patients with IBM as measured by the IBM Functional Rating Scale. | Clinical and experimental rheumatology | 2025 | Yes |
| Transcriptomic profiling reveals distinct subsets of immune checkpoint inhibitor induced myositis. | Annals of the rheumatic diseases | 2023 | Yes |
| Safety and efficacy of arimoclomol for inclusion body myositis: a multicentre, randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial. | The Lancet. Neurology | 2023 | Yes |
| Lack of muscle stem cell proliferation and myocellular hypertrophy in sIBM patients following blood-flow restricted resistance training. | Neuromuscular disorders : NMD | 2022 | Yes |
Showing 5 of 66 publications.
Prevalence (21)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Inclusion body myositis | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | United States | US | Exact |
| Inclusion body myositis | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | United States | US | Exact |
| Inclusion body myositis | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | United States | US | Unspecified |
| Inclusion body myositis | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Australia | Not stated | Exact |
| Inclusion body myositis | Point prevalence | 1-9 / 1 000 000 | Netherlands | Not stated | Unspecified |
Showing 5 of 21 prevalence observations.
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Inclusion body myositis | 611 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
| Inclusion body myositis | 611 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.
Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: sub-conditions in mesh.