Condition (MeSH)
Hemifacial Spasm
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 23 trials for Hemifacial Spasm or a narrower condition beneath it. Ipsen has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 2.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase
23 of the 23 trials are tagged with Hemifacial Spasm itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Hemifacial Spasm trials start? (13)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 2
- Phase 3
- Phase 4
- Not applicable
- Observational
Top of scale: 6
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2025 | 2 |
| 2024 | 1 |
| 2021 | 3 |
| 2020 | 2 |
| 2017 | 2 |
| 2016 | 1 |
| 2015 | 1 |
| 2013 | 1 |
| 2012 | 6 |
| 2011 | 1 |
Showing 10 of 13 earlier years.
No forecast is made for this condition: it averages 0.8 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 1 trial still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Hemifacial Spasm trials in? (5)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 2 | 1 |
| Phase 3 | 2 |
| Phase 4 | 2 |
| Not applicable | 6 |
| Observational | 12 |
How many Hemifacial Spasm trials are recruiting? (5)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Not yet recruiting | 1 |
| Recruiting | 1 |
| Completed | 12 |
| Withdrawn | 1 |
| Unknown status | 8 |
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Hemifacial Spasm trials? (2)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| Ipsen | 2 |
| Department of Medical Services Ministry of Public Health of Thailand | 1 |
Which drugs are being tested for Hemifacial Spasm? (1)
Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Desflurane | 1 |
Interventions as named in the registry (7)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| type A botulinum toxin | 4 |
| Acupuncture | 1 |
| Zinc Supplement | 1 |
| Conventional Treatment | 1 |
| preseptal injection of botulinum toxin type A | 1 |
Showing 5 of 7 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which publications cover Hemifacial Spasm? (43)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| A New Application of Gelatin Sponge in the Treatment of Hemifacial Spasm by Microvascular Decompression: A Technical Note. | Journal of neurological surgery. Part A, Central European neurosurgery | 2022 | Yes |
| Cognitive Performance After Facial Botulinum Toxin Treatment in a Cohort of Neurologic Patients: An Exploratory Study. | Archives of physical medicine and rehabilitation | 2022 | Yes |
| A patient-initiated treatment model for blepharospasm and hemifacial spasm: a randomized controlled trial. | BMC neurology | 2022 | Yes |
| Validation of a new hemifacial spasm grading questionnaire (HFS score) assessing clinical and quality of life parameters. | Journal of neural transmission (Vienna, Austria : 1996) | 2021 | Yes |
| Botulinum Toxin for the Treatment of Hemifacial Spasm: An Update on Clinical Studies. | Toxins | 2021 | Yes |
Showing 5 of 43 publications.
Prevalence (2)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hemifacial spasm | Point prevalence | 1-5 / 10 000 | Worldwide | Not stated | Exact |
| Hemifacial spasm | Point prevalence | 1-5 / 10 000 | Worldwide | Not stated | Exact |
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hemifacial spasm | 221083 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
| Hemifacial spasm | 221083 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.
Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: serious adverse events in this condition's trials and sub-conditions in mesh.