Condition (MeSH)
Hepatitis, Autoimmune
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 82 trials for Hepatitis, Autoimmune or a narrower condition beneath it. Perspectum has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 4.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase
82 of the 82 trials are tagged with Hepatitis, Autoimmune itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Hepatitis, Autoimmune trials start? (23)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 1/2
- Phase 2
- Phase 2/3
- Phase 3
- Phase 4
- Not applicable
- Observational
Top of scale: 8
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 5 |
| 2025 | 2 |
| 2024 | 7 |
| 2023 | 8 |
| 2022 | 5 |
| 2021 | 8 |
| 2020 | 6 |
| 2019 | 5 |
| 2018 | 4 |
| 2017 | 6 |
Showing 10 of 23 earlier years.
Forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included, not rows of this table: about 6 trials starting in 2026 and about 5 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The rows of this table count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. In backtests on conditions of this size, forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 28 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 39 percent and ran about 37 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored.
Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 6 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 33 months across 35 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Hepatitis, Autoimmune trials in? (8)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 7 |
| Phase 1/2 | 2 |
| Phase 2 | 11 |
| Phase 2/3 | 3 |
| Phase 3 | 3 |
| Phase 4 | 8 |
| Not applicable | 12 |
| Observational | 36 |
How many Hepatitis, Autoimmune trials are recruiting? (7)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Not yet recruiting | 8 |
| Recruiting | 14 |
| Active, not recruiting | 3 |
| Completed | 28 |
| Terminated | 8 |
Showing 5 of 7 statuses.
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Hepatitis, Autoimmune trials? (3)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| Perspectum | 4 |
| TaiwanJ Pharmaceuticals Co., Ltd | 3 |
| Jiangsu HengRui Medicine Co., Ltd. | 2 |
Which drugs are being tested for Hepatitis, Autoimmune? (3)
Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Ursodeoxycholic Acid | 4 |
| Chloroquine | 2 |
| Prednisone | 2 |
Interventions as named in the registry (12)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Azathioprine Pill | 3 |
| Mofetil Mycophenolate | 3 |
| JKB-122 | 2 |
| Cyclosporine 0.05% | 2 |
| Budesonide EC | 2 |
Showing 5 of 12 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which serious adverse events do Hepatitis, Autoimmune trials report? (10)
Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.
| Adverse event | Subjects affected | Trials |
|---|---|---|
| machulopatia | 6 | 1 |
| Acute hepatic failure | 4 | 1 |
| Hypotension | 2 | 1 |
| Pneumonia | 2 | 1 |
| Alcohol poisoning | 1 | 1 |
Showing 5 of 10 adverse events.
Which publications cover Hepatitis, Autoimmune? (87)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Development and Validation of a Novel Model to Discriminate Idiosyncratic Drug-Induced Liver Injury and Autoimmune Hepatitis. | Liver international : official journal of the International Association for the Study of the Liver | 2025 | Yes |
| Effect of Mediterranean and Western diets on fatigue in patients with autoimmune hepatitis: Protocol for a randomized crossover diet intervention trial. | Contemporary clinical trials | 2025 | Yes |
| Can we cure autoimmune hepatitis? | Current opinion in immunology | 2025 | Yes |
| Diagnostics of Autoimmune Hepatitis Enabled by Non-Invasive Clinical Proteomics. | Alimentary pharmacology & therapeutics | 2025 | Yes |
| An open-label randomised-controlled trial of azathioprine vs. mycophenolate mofetil for the induction of remission in treatment-naive autoimmune hepatitis. | Journal of hepatology | 2024 | Yes |
Showing 5 of 87 publications.
Prevalence (17)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Autoimmune hepatitis | Annual incidence | 1-9 / 1 000 000 | Europe | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Autoimmune hepatitis | Point prevalence | 1-5 / 10 000 | Spain | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Autoimmune hepatitis | Point prevalence | 1-5 / 10 000 | Worldwide | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Autoimmune hepatitis | Point prevalence | 1-5 / 10 000 | New Zealand | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Autoimmune hepatitis | Point prevalence | 1-5 / 10 000 | Israel | Not stated | Unspecified |
Showing 5 of 17 prevalence observations.
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.
Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: rare-disease identity and sub-conditions in mesh.