Condition (MeSH)
Complex Regional Pain Syndromes
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 226 trials for Complex Regional Pain Syndromes or a narrower condition beneath it.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase (log scale)
1 more section with rows
202 of the 226 trials are tagged with Complex Regional Pain Syndromes itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Complex Regional Pain Syndromes trials start? (28)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year. 1 trial is registered to start in 2027 or later, and not listed here.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 1/2
- Phase 2
- Phase 2/3
- Phase 3
- Phase 4
- Not applicable
- Observational
Top of scale: 19
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 16 |
| 2025 | 15 |
| 2024 | 16 |
| 2023 | 19 |
| 2022 | 13 |
| 2021 | 16 |
| 2020 | 2 |
| 2019 | 9 |
| 2018 | 13 |
| 2017 | 12 |
Showing 10 of 28 earlier years.
Forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included, not rows of this table: about 15 trials starting in 2026 and about 15 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The rows of this table count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. In backtests on conditions of this size, forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 28 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 39 percent and ran about 37 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored. The 2026 forecast is below the 16 already registered with a 2026 start date: at the cutoff, 5 trials were already registered to start in October to December, more than the method's monthly average allows for, and the method does not use those planned starts.
Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 22 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 19 months across 127 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Complex Regional Pain Syndromes trials in? (9)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 5 |
| Phase 1/2 | 2 |
| Phase 2 | 15 |
| Phase 2/3 | 5 |
| Phase 3 | 19 |
| Phase 4 | 8 |
| Not applicable | 122 |
| Observational | 49 |
| Expanded access | 1 |
How many Complex Regional Pain Syndromes trials are recruiting? (10)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Not yet recruiting | 9 |
| Recruiting | 30 |
| Enrolling by invitation | 5 |
| Active, not recruiting | 4 |
| Completed | 108 |
Showing 5 of 10 statuses.
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Complex Regional Pain Syndromes trials? (5)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| Amgen | 4 |
| Grünenthal GmbH | 4 |
| Ambros Therapeutics, Inc. | 3 |
| National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR) | 3 |
| Ankara Etlik City Hospital | 2 |
Which drugs are being tested for Complex Regional Pain Syndromes? (3)
Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| PMI-150 (intranasal ketamine) | 5 |
| Neridronic acid | 4 |
| Vitamin C | 2 |
Interventions as named in the registry (12)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation | 4 |
| L:Lidocaine | 4 |
| Ibuprofen 2% | 3 |
| HZT-501 | 3 |
| Conventional Therapy | 2 |
Showing 5 of 12 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which serious adverse events do Complex Regional Pain Syndromes trials report? (10)
Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.
| Adverse event | Subjects affected | Trials |
|---|---|---|
| Pneumonia | 10 | 4 |
| Increase pain | 8 | 1 |
| Burning sensation | 7 | 1 |
| Deep vein thrombosis | 5 | 2 |
| Fall | 5 | 4 |
Showing 5 of 10 adverse events.
Which publications cover Complex Regional Pain Syndromes? (226)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Complex regional pain syndrome evolution is determined by both biological and psychosocial factors: a 1-year prospective observational study. | Pain | 2026 | Yes |
| Cognitive Function in Patients With Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CRPS). | European journal of pain (London, England) | 2025 | Yes |
| Neural Correlates of Pain-Autonomic Coupling in Patients With Complex Regional Pain Syndrome Treated by Repetitive Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation of the Motor Cortex. | Neuromodulation : journal of the International Neuromodulation Society | 2024 | Yes |
| Targeted Nerve Root Stimulation Alleviates Intractable Chronic Limb Pain Associated with Complex Regional Pain Syndrome - A Prospective Multi-Center Feasibility Study. | Pain physician | 2024 | Yes |
| The Effectiveness of Rehabilitation Interventions on Pain and Disability for Complex Regional Pain Syndrome: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis. | The Clinical journal of pain | 2023 | Yes |
Showing 5 of 226 publications.
Prevalence (6)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Complex regional pain syndrome | Point prevalence | Unknown | Worldwide | Not stated | Exact |
| Complex regional pain syndrome | Point prevalence | Unknown | Worldwide | Not stated | Exact |
| Complex regional pain syndrome | Annual incidence | 1-5 / 10 000 | Netherlands | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Complex regional pain syndrome | Annual incidence | 1-5 / 10 000 | Netherlands | Not stated | Exact |
| Complex regional pain syndrome | Point prevalence | Unknown | Worldwide | Not stated | Unspecified |
Showing 5 of 6 prevalence observations.
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Complex regional pain syndrome | 83452 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
| Complex regional pain syndrome | 83452 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
Sub-conditions in MeSH (2)
MeSH descendants one level down with at least one trial, most trials first.
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.