Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Organization (Government)

Institut de Recherche pour le Développement

ClinicalTrials.gov lists Institut de Recherche pour le Développement as lead sponsor of 49 trials. It has 4 active development programs and 10 approved assets.

CG Government
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

11 0 1997 2027

Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.

2026 is partial: 2 registered with a 2026 start date. The hollow diamonds on the dashed line are a forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included: about 3 in 2026 and about 4 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The columns, the lighter one included, count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. This method has not been backtested on organizations. In backtests on conditions with as many trial starts a year as this organization (5 to 20), forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 28 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 39 percent and ran about 37 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored.

Logo IRD, via Wikimedia Commons, Public domain. Shown to identify the organization; it may be a registered trademark.

This page covers Institut de Recherche pour le Développement: 49 lead-sponsored trials and 9 legal-entity registrations. The parent company on record for Institut de Recherche pour le Développement is Gouvernement de la République française, which does not have its own page on this site.

Get the Institut de Recherche pour le Développement report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

Disease areas (53)

Shown in this order: most trials first (counted at this company's own legal-entity record, not the consolidated group).

Disease areas
Disease area Trials
HIV Infections 19
Malaria 18
Hepatitis B 7
Disease 6
Tuberculosis 6

Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (27)

Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.

Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 2
2025 5
2024 11
2023 2
2022 4
2021 8
2020 4
2019 4
2018 4
2017 5

Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 1 trial still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

Active development programs (4)

Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.

Active development programs
Drug Disease area Max phase Trials
Anti-HBV antiviral prophylaxis Hepatitis B Phase 3 1
Ivermectin Malaria Phase 3 1
MDA with DHAp and SLD Primaquine Malaria Not reported 1
MDA with DHAp and SLD Primaquine Malaria, Falciparum Not reported 1

Approved assets (10)

Shown in this order: max phase first.

Approved assets
Drug Trials
Amoxicillin 1
Chloroquine profilaxis 1
Peg-interferon + ribavirin under HIV physician supervision 1
Doxycycline 1
Zidovudine 2

Sponsor delivery record (1)

Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.

Sponsor delivery record
Enrollment Timeline
40% hit target (n=15) 31% on time (n=13)

Biomarker capability evidence (61)

Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.

Biomarker capability evidence
Gene Role Evidence
ALB Trial collaborator Primary endpoint in a Phase 3 trial
ATP7B Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
CD4 Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
CD4 Trial sponsor Named in trial inclusion criteria
CD4 Trial sponsor Primary endpoint in a Phase 3 trial

Not on this page

Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, related companies not grouped here, sec-reported annual financials, financing and grant events, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, organization relationships, and clia clinical laboratory certificates.

Counted at group level under Gouvernement de la République française: journals published in, us granted patents, latest dated events, and biomarkers this organization publishes on.