
Organization (Academic)
SHEFFIELD HALLAM UNIVERSITY
ClinicalTrials.gov lists SHEFFIELD HALLAM UNIVERSITY as lead sponsor of 48 trials. It has 5 active development programs and 2 approved assets.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.
2026 is partial: 0 registered with a 2026 start date. The dashed outline is the pace from the 0 registered with a start date through September, planned starts included, not adjusted; not a forecast. No forecast is made for this organization: it averages 4.8 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs. 1 trial is registered to start in 2027 or later.
Logo Sheffield Hallam University, via Wikimedia Commons, Public domain. Shown to identify the organization; it may be a registered trademark.
This page covers SHEFFIELD HALLAM UNIVERSITY: 48 lead-sponsored trials and 2 legal-entity registrations.
Disease areas (60)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Disease area | Trials |
|---|---|
| Diabetes Mellitus | 4 |
| COVID-19 | 3 |
| Coronary Disease | 3 |
| Frailty | 3 |
| Multiple Sclerosis | 3 |
Showing 5 of 60 disease areas.
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (17)
Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year. 1 trial is registered to start in 2027 or later, and not listed here.
Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2025 | 7 |
| 2024 | 4 |
| 2023 | 11 |
| 2022 | 1 |
| 2021 | 13 |
| 2020 | 3 |
| 2019 | 7 |
| 2018 | 5 |
| 2017 | 7 |
| 2016 | 4 |
Showing 10 of 17 years.
Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 4 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
Active development programs (5)
Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.
| Drug | Disease area | Max phase | Trials |
|---|---|---|---|
| Exercise | Heart Failure | Not reported | 1 |
| Tart Cherry Juice | Gout | Not reported | 2 |
| Probiotic | COVID-19 | Not reported | 1 |
| Probiotic | Post-Acute COVID-19 Syndrome | Not reported | 1 |
| Probiotic | Multiple Sclerosis | Not reported | 1 |
Approved assets (2)
Shown in this order: max phase first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Cellulose | 1 |
| Tyrosine | 1 |
Sponsor delivery record (1)
Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.
| Enrollment | Timeline |
|---|---|
| 53% hit target (n=19) | 42% on time (n=19) |
Journals published in (86)
Shown in this order: most published in first.
| Journal | Publications |
|---|---|
| BMJ open | 5 |
| Trials | 3 |
| Annals of the rheumatic diseases | 2 |
| Arthritis and rheumatism | 2 |
| Arthritis research & therapy | 2 |
Showing 5 of 86 journals.
US granted patents (1)
Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.
| US patents granted | Granted in the last 5 years | Most recent grant |
|---|---|---|
| 13 | 1 | 2024-07-16 |
Organization relationships (14)
Shown in this order: most evidence first.
| Related organization | Relationship | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Sheffield Children's NHS Foundation Trust | Co sponsors trial with | 4 |
| University of Sheffield | Co sponsors trial with | 3 |
| Leiden University | Co sponsors trial with | 1 |
| Aristotle University of Thessaloniki | Co sponsors trial with | 1 |
| Chesterfield Royal Hospital NHS Foundation Trust | Co sponsors trial with | 1 |
Showing 5 of 14 relationships.
Latest dated events (91)
Shown in this order: newest first.
| Date | Event | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 2027-03-01 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2025-12-31 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2025-11-17 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2025-09-01 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
| 2025-08 | Trial started | Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI)) |
Showing 5 of 91 events.
Biomarker capability evidence (26)
Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.
| Gene | Role | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| DMD | Trial collaborator | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| MYCBP2 | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| NF2 | Trial collaborator | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| NPPB | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
| PADI6 | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteria |
Showing 5 of 26 evidence rows.
Biomarkers this organization publishes on (74)
Shown in this order: most publications first.
Showing 5 of 74 biomarkers.
Not on this page
Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, related companies not grouped here, sec-reported annual financials, financing and grant events, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, and clia clinical laboratory certificates.