Gene
CDKN2A
CDKN2A is a gene biomarker in the evidence tier "Cancer actionable (CGI)". This page lists evidence by type: Assay-provider ledger (284), Actionable biomarkers (8), Trial mentions (127), and 7 more evidence types, each linked to its source.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Rows recorded per section (log scale)
2 more sections with rows · 2 sections measured, none recorded
Cancer actionable (CGI)
Evidence over time
Share of that year: what fraction of the trials and papers our biomarker dictionary matched in a year mention CDKN2A. The denominator is documents that mention any gene, not every registered document, so improving the matcher moves both halves and never rewrites history. Gene named in free-text trial records. A mention, not a validated biomarker. Actionable-biomarker and target-disease-association evidence carries no date in our sources, so it is not on this chart. Publication mentions cover only papers cited by a registered clinical trial, not all of PubMed.
Trial mentions: plotted from 1990 to 2026, the years our matched corpus covers. Not plotted: 1 with a planned future start.
Publication mentions: plotted from 1990 to 2023, the years our matched corpus covers. Not plotted: 54 at the structurally incomplete recent edge.
The yearly numbers
| Year | Trial mentions | Share of that year | Publication mentions | Share of that year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 14 of 8,738 | 0.16% | not measured | |
| 2025 | 7 of 8,875 | 0.08% | not measured | |
| 2024 | 12 of 8,597 | 0.14% | not measured | |
| 2023 | 8 of 8,275 | 0.10% | 105 of 11,460 | 0.92% |
| 2022 | 15 of 8,285 | 0.18% | 145 of 13,598 | 1.07% |
| 2021 | 6 of 8,692 | 0.07% | 183 of 15,045 | 1.22% |
| 2020 | 11 of 7,640 | 0.14% | 165 of 14,459 | 1.14% |
| 2019 | 11 of 7,300 | 0.15% | 134 of 12,159 | 1.10% |
| 2018 | 7 of 6,927 | 0.10% | 128 of 11,854 | 1.08% |
| 2017 | 7 of 6,558 | 0.11% | 137 of 11,595 | 1.18% |
Showing 10 of 37 years.
Assay-provider ledger (284)
Shown in this order: most recent publication first.
| Company | Provider class | Validation | Papers | Most recent publication |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Foundation Medicine | Diagnostic provider | Clinical validationAnalytical validation | 8 | August 01, 2026 |
| Olympus Corporation of Americas | Reagent supplier | Clinical validationAnalytical validation | 1 | August 01, 2026 |
| THERMO FISHER SCIENTIFIC (Click-iT EdU kit, TaqMan Low-Density Array reagents, ExpressionSuite/DataAssist software) | Reagent supplier | Clinical validationAnalytical validation | 10 | August 01, 2026 |
| University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC) Molecular & Genomics Pathology (MGP) laboratory | Not a company | Clinical validationAnalytical validation | 1 | August 01, 2026 |
| ROCHE DIAGNOSTICS | Context dependent | Clinical validation | 4 | July 01, 2026 +3 undated |
Showing 5 of 284 assay-provider companies.
Actionable biomarkers (8)
Shown in this order: fixed catalogue order, not ranked.
| Alteration | Drug | Response | Disease | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CDKN2A deletion | Cdk4/6 Inhibitors | response-associated | cutaneous melanoma | Cancer Genome Interpreter |
| CDKN2A oncogenic mutation | Cdk4/6 Inhibitors | response-associated | cutaneous melanoma | Cancer Genome Interpreter |
| CDKN2A oncogenic mutation | Cdk4/6 Inhibitors | response-associated | glioma | Cancer Genome Interpreter |
| CDKN2A deletion | Cdk4/6 Inhibitors | response-associated | glioma | Cancer Genome Interpreter |
| CDKN2A oncogenic mutation | Cdk4/6 Inhibitors | response-associated | No disease recorded | Cancer Genome Interpreter |
Showing 5 of 8 actionable-biomarker assertions.
Trial mentions (127)
Shown in this order: fixed catalogue order, not by date.
| Trial | Source |
|---|---|
| NCT05123859 | Trial biospecimen (AACT) |
| NCT06789653 | Trial biospecimen (AACT) |
| NCT06450301 | Trial biospecimen (AACT) |
| NCT03717844 | Trial biospecimen (AACT) |
| NCT05190172 | Trial eligibility (AACT) |
Showing 5 of 127 trial mentions.
Target-disease associations (2,024)
Shown in this order: fixed catalogue order, not ranked.
| Disease | Therapeutic area | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 46,XX testicular disorder of sex development | endocrine system disease | Mouse knockout (IMPC) |
| 46,XY complete gonadal dysgenesis | cardiovascular disease | Mouse knockout (IMPC) |
| 46,XY partial gonadal dysgenesis | endocrine system disease | Mouse knockout (IMPC) |
| AIDS | genetic, familial or congenital disease | Literature (Europe PMC) |
| AIDS dementia | infectious disease | Literature (Europe PMC) |
Showing 5 of 2,024 associations.
Vendor sourcing (495)
Shown in this order: alphabetical by organization.
| Organization | Role | Tier | Evidence | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3billion, Inc. (South Korea) | Testing lab / CRO (runs the assay) | Clinical-testing interpretation submitted (ClinVar)ClinVar clinical-testing submission | The variant is observed at an allele frequency greater than expected for the associated disorder in the gnomAD v4.1.0 dataset and therefore considered benign... | View ClinVar record SCV006582567.2 |
| AGC Biologics S.p.A. | Trial sponsor | Mentioned in trial textTrial free-text mention | MLM | View trial NCT04097301 |
| ARUP Laboratories (United States) | Testing lab / CRO (runs the assay) | Clinical-testing interpretation submitted (ClinVar)ClinVar clinical-testing submission | The CDKN2A c.-34G>T variant (rs1800586; ClinVar ID: 182414) is reported in the literature in multiple individuals affected with melanoma and/or pancreatic ca... | View ClinVar record SCV005877897.1 |
| AbbVie Inc. | Trial collaborator | Named in trial inclusion criteriaTrial eligibility criteria | : 1. Patients with histologically confirmed, advanced or metastatic cancer for which standard curative or palliative measures do not exist or are no longer ... | View trial NCT02478320 |
| AbbVie Inc. | Trial collaborator | Mentioned in trial textTrial free-text mention | CDKN2A | View trial NCT02478320 |
Showing 5 of 495 sourcing records.
Trial-cited literature (1,799)
Shown in this order: newest first, then most cited.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| Concurrent and adjuvant temozolomide for 1p/19q non-co-deleted anaplastic glioma (CATNON; EORTC study 26053-22054): final and exploratory analyses of a randomised, open-label, phase 3 trial. | The Lancet. Oncology | 2026 | 5 |
| Abemaciclib in meningiomas with somatic NF2 or CDK pathway alterations: the phase 2 Alliance A071401 trial. | Nature medicine | 2026 | 1 |
| Exploratory Biomarker Analysis of Abemaciclib in Recurrent/Metastatic Head and Neck Squamous Cell Carcinoma With Dysregulated CDK4/6 Pathway. | Head & neck | 2026 | 0 |
| Intraoperative Molecular Imaging Can Detect Large Nerve Perineural Invasion: A Case Report. | Head & neck | 2026 | 0 |
| MAT2A inhibitor AG-270/S095033 in patients with advanced malignancies: a phase I trial. | Nature communications | 2025 | 38 |
Showing 5 of 1,799 papers.
Protein variant mentions (84)
Shown in this order: alphabetical by variant.
| Variant | Distinct papers | Year range | Sample papers |
|---|---|---|---|
| p.A100V | 1 | 2015 | PMID 25741868 |
| p.A118T | 1 | 2015 | PMID 25741868 |
| p.A132V | 1 | 2015 | PMID 25741868 |
| p.A143T | 3 | 2014 to 2015 | PMID 25741868, PMID 26104880, PMID 25780468 |
| p.A148V | 1 | 2015 | PMID 25741868 |
Showing 5 of 84 variants.
Human sample screening reference (7)
Shown in this order: alphabetical by variant.
| Variant | GDC project | Disease / site | Affected cases | Profiled cases | Observed frequency | 95% interval |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| p.E120* | ALCHEMIST-ALCH | Not Reported; Not Reported | 1 | 1,170 | 0.09% | 0.02% to 0.48% |
| p.E120* | CDDP_EAGLE-1 | Adenomas and Adenocarcinomas; Bronchus and lung | 1 | 50 | 2.00% | 0.35% to 10.50% |
| p.E120* | CPTAC-3 | Not Applicable; Transitional Cell Papillomas and Carcinomas; Ductal and Lobular Neoplasms; Adenomas and Adenocarcinomas; Gliomas; Epithelial Neoplasms, NOS; Complex Epithelial Neoplasms; Complex Mixed and Stromal Neoplasms; Lipomatous Neoplasms; Squamous Cell Neoplasms; Myeloid Leukemias; Nevi and Melanomas; Stomach; Other and ill-defined sites in lip, oral cavity and pharynx; Unknown; Colon; Other and unspecified urinary organs; Floor of mouth; Other and unspecified parts of mouth; Gum; Bronchus and lung; Oropharynx; Other and unspecified parts of tongue; Base of tongue; Breast; Other and ill-defined sites; Larynx; Lip; Uterus, NOS; Hematopoietic and reticuloendothelial systems; Kidney; Brain; Skin; Pancreas; Tonsil | 1 | 1,815 | 0.06% | 0.01% to 0.31% |
| p.E120* | TCGA-HNSC | Squamous Cell Neoplasms; Base of tongue; Lip; Gum; Hypopharynx; Palate; Other and ill-defined sites in lip, oral cavity and pharynx; Bones, joints and articular cartilage of other and unspecified sites; Other and unspecified parts of tongue; Floor of mouth; Tonsil; Other and unspecified parts of mouth; Oropharynx; Larynx | 4 | 528 | 0.76% | 0.29% to 1.93% |
| p.E120* | TCGA-LUSC | Adenomas and Adenocarcinomas; Squamous Cell Neoplasms; Bronchus and lung | 2 | 504 | 0.40% | 0.11% to 1.44% |
Showing 5 of 7 cohort observations.
Literature-extracted relations (443)
Shown in this order: chemicals, then diseases.
| Related entity | Kind | Source relation label | Paper | Year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Inotuzumab Ozogamicin | Chemical | associate |
Genomic determinants of response and resistance to inotuzumab ozogamicin in B-cell ALL. | 2024 |
| Sirolimus | Chemical | negative_correlate |
mTOR inhibition abrogates human mammary stem cells and early breast cancer progression markers. | 2023 |
| Trabectedin | Chemical | associate |
DNA damage response and repair genes in advanced bone and soft tissue sarcomas: An 8-gene signature as a candidate predictive biomarker of response to trabectedin and olaparib combination. | 2022 |
| Vemurafenib | Chemical | associate |
Long-term outcomes in patients with relapsed or refractory hairy cell leukemia treated with vemurafenib monotherapy. | 2022 |
| Sirolimus | Chemical | negative_correlate |
Topical rapamycin reduces markers of senescence and aging in human skin: an exploratory, prospective, randomized trial. | 2019 |
Showing 5 of 443 relation assertions.
Organizations publishing (918)
Shown in this order: most papers first.
| Organization | Type | Papers | Years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center | Hospital | 98 | 2010 to 2026 |
| Government of the United States of America | Government | 95 | 1994 to 2026 |
| The University of Texas System | Academic | 93 | 2001 to 2025 |
| Dana-Farber Cancer Institute | Other | 73 | 2005 to 2025 |
| Mayo Clinic | Hospital | 62 | 2004 to 2026 |
Showing 5 of 918 organizations.
Where CDKN2A appears
- animal disease
- biological_process
- cancer or benign tumor
- cardiovascular disease
- disorder of ear
- disorder of visual system
- endocrine system disease
- gastrointestinal disease
- genetic, familial or congenital disease
- hematologic disease
- immune system disease
- infectious disease
- injury, poisoning or other complication
- integumentary system disease
- measurement
- medical procedure
- musculoskeletal or connective tissue disease
- nervous system disease
- nutritional or metabolic disease
- phenotype
- pregnancy or perinatal disease
- reproductive system or breast disease
- respiratory or thoracic disease
- urinary system disease
1,700 diseases touched.
Not on this page
Checked, with nothing recorded for this biomarker: fda companion diagnostic assertions and fda biomarker qualification projects.