Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Organization (Academic)

University of Toronto

ClinicalTrials.gov lists University of Toronto as lead sponsor of 403 trials. It has 17 active development programs and 27 approved assets.

CA Academic
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

54 0 1991 2027

Trials started per year with this organization as sponsor or collaborator, 1990 onward. The series also counts trials where the organization is a collaborator; the lead-sponsor trial count does not.

2026 is partial: 21 registered with a 2026 start date. The hollow diamonds on the dashed line are a forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included: about 29 in 2026 and about 35 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The columns, the lighter one included, count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. This method has not been backtested on organizations. In backtests on conditions with as many trial starts a year as this organization (20 to 100), forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 18 percent and ran about 14 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 26 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored. 1 trial is registered to start in 2027 or later.

This page covers University of Toronto: 403 lead-sponsored trials and 1 legal-entity registration.

Get the University of Toronto report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

Disease areas (386)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Disease areas
Disease area Trials
Diabetes Mellitus 95
Obesity 66
Diabetes Mellitus, Type 2 40
Insulin Resistance 40
Stroke 35

Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator (31)

Shown in this order: most recent first. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year. 1 trial is registered to start in 2027 or later, and not listed here.

Show the table of trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Trials by start year as sponsor or collaborator
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 21
2025 41
2024 37
2023 47
2022 40
2021 48
2020 39
2019 42
2018 49
2017 54

Prediction, not a registry value: median of 32 months from start to primary completion across 33 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 14 months across 216 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

Active development programs (17)

Shown in this order: max phase, then active trials.

Active development programs
Drug Disease area Max phase Trials
lactose/sucrose granule (Individualized homeopathic medicine treatment) Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity Phase 2 1
Physiotherapy Parkinson Disease Not reported 1
Active treatment Diabetes Mellitus Not reported 1
NA (ETV or TDF) Obesity Not reported 1
Active treatment Diabetes Mellitus, Type 2 Not reported 1

Approved assets (27)

Shown in this order: max phase first.

Approved assets
Drug Trials
vitamin C & E supplements 1
10% intravenous immunoglobulin (IVIg) 1
Live-attenuated varicella-zoster virus vaccine 1
Voltaren Topical 1
Nivea, Topical Cream 1

Sponsor delivery record (1)

Enrollment hit target: the share of this sponsor's lead-sponsored trials whose actual enrollment reached the planned enrollment. On time: the share whose actual primary completion date was no later than the planned date. Each share counts only trials where we observed an estimated figure before the actual one, and n is that number of trials. Below 5 trials the count is shown as a fraction, not a percentage.

Sponsor delivery record
Enrollment Timeline
62% hit target (n=82) 35% on time (n=83)

Journals published in (962)

Shown in this order: most published in first.

Journals published in
Journal Publications
BMJ open 47
PloS one 43
The American journal of clinical nutrition 39
JAMA 30
The New England journal of medicine 29

US granted patents (1)

Patents are not classified by disease area in the source, so this is the organization's overall portfolio, not a split by disease.

US granted patents
US patents granted Granted in the last 5 years Most recent grant
97 40 2025-11-11

Financing and grant events (60)

Shown in this order: most recent first.

Financing and grant events
Date Round type Amount (USD) Source
2025-08-22 NIH grant 469,036 Reporter
2025-08-15 NIH grant 611,446 Reporter
2025-08-12 NIH grant 528,090 Reporter
2025-07-09 NIH grant 650,345 Reporter
2025-07-01 NIH grant 590,129 Reporter

Organization relationships (160)

Shown in this order: most evidence first.

Organization relationships
Related organization Relationship Evidence
University Health Network, Toronto Co sponsors trial with 18
University of Calgary Co sponsors trial with 16
University of British Columbia Co sponsors trial with 15
Université Laval Co sponsors trial with 9
The Hospital for Sick Children Co sponsors trial with 9

Latest dated events (963)

Shown in this order: newest first.

Latest dated events
Date Event Source
2027-07-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-10-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-10 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-09-30 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))
2026-09-01 Trial started Clinical trials (ClinicalTrials.gov) (ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine; AACT database, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative (CTTI))

Biomarker capability evidence (384)

Shown in this order: tier desc, then gene symbol.

Biomarker capability evidence
Gene Role Evidence
ABO Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
ACE Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
ACE Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
ACTR2 Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria
ACVRL1 Trial collaborator Named in trial inclusion criteria

Biomarkers this organization publishes on (3,155)

Shown in this order: most publications first.

Biomarkers this organization publishes on
Biomarker Publications
INS 316
CRP 224
TNF 193
IL6 152
ALB 132

Not on this page

Checked, with nothing recorded for this organization: companies grouped under this page, related companies not grouped here, sec-reported annual financials, fda warning letters, fda untitled letters, fda inspection record, fda recalls, fda import refusals, manufacturing and distribution sites, climate targets, as filed, workforce and board diversity, as filed, and clia clinical laboratory certificates.