Gene
EGFR
EGFR is a gene biomarker in the evidence tier "FDA companion diagnostic". This page lists evidence by type: FDA companion diagnostic assertions (33), Assay-provider ledger (424), Actionable biomarkers (79), and 8 more evidence types, each linked to its source.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Rows recorded per section (log scale)
3 more sections with rows · 1 section measured, none recorded
FDA companion diagnostic
Evidence over time
Share of that year: what fraction of the trials and papers our biomarker dictionary matched in a year mention EGFR. The denominator is documents that mention any gene, not every registered document, so improving the matcher moves both halves and never rewrites history. Gene named in free-text trial records. A mention, not a validated biomarker. Actionable-biomarker and target-disease-association evidence carries no date in our sources, so it is not on this chart. Publication mentions cover only papers cited by a registered clinical trial, not all of PubMed.
Trial mentions: plotted from 1990 to 2026, the years our matched corpus covers. Not plotted: 11 with a planned future start and 25 with no date at all.
Publication mentions: plotted from 1990 to 2023, the years our matched corpus covers. Not plotted: 11 dated before 1990 and 340 at the structurally incomplete recent edge.
The yearly numbers
| Year | Trial mentions | Share of that year | Publication mentions | Share of that year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 482 of 8,738 | 5.52% | not measured | |
| 2025 | 453 of 8,875 | 5.10% | not measured | |
| 2024 | 433 of 8,597 | 5.04% | not measured | |
| 2023 | 379 of 8,275 | 4.58% | 418 of 11,460 | 3.65% |
| 2022 | 427 of 8,285 | 5.15% | 476 of 13,598 | 3.50% |
| 2021 | 408 of 8,692 | 4.69% | 530 of 15,045 | 3.52% |
| 2020 | 368 of 7,640 | 4.82% | 453 of 14,459 | 3.13% |
| 2019 | 326 of 7,300 | 4.47% | 425 of 12,159 | 3.50% |
| 2018 | 336 of 6,927 | 4.85% | 375 of 11,854 | 3.16% |
| 2017 | 292 of 6,558 | 4.45% | 388 of 11,595 | 3.35% |
Showing 10 of 37 years.
FDA companion diagnostic assertions (33)
Shown in this order: most recent decision first.
| Diagnostic | Source biomarker wording | Manufacturer | Indication | Decision date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Guardant360® Liquid CDx | EGFR | Guardant Health, Inc. | Non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) | 2026-05-19 |
| Guardant360® Liquid CDx | EGFR | Guardant Health, Inc. | Non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) | 2026-05-19 |
| Oncomine Dx Express Test | EGFR | Life Technologies Corporation | Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC) | 2025-07-02 |
| FoundationOne Liquid CDx | EGFR ( HER1 ) | Foundation Medicine, Inc. | Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC) | 2022-12-19 |
| FoundationOne Liquid CDx | EGFR ( HER1 ) | Foundation Medicine, Inc. | Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC) | 2022-12-19 |
Showing 5 of 33 companion diagnostic entries.
Assay-provider ledger (424)
Shown in this order: most recent publication first.
| Company | Provider class | Validation | Papers | Most recent publication |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| THERMO FISHER SCIENTIFIC (Click-iT EdU kit, TaqMan Low-Density Array reagents, ExpressionSuite/DataAssist software) | Reagent supplier | Clinical validationAnalytical validation | 18 | September 01, 2026 +2 undated |
| Foundation Medicine | Diagnostic provider | Clinical validationAnalytical validation | 13 | August 01, 2026 +2 undated |
| Olympus Corporation of Americas | Reagent supplier | Clinical validationAnalytical validation | 1 | August 01, 2026 |
| University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC) Molecular & Genomics Pathology (MGP) laboratory | Not a company | Clinical validationAnalytical validation | 1 | August 01, 2026 |
| Celemics | Diagnostic provider | Clinical validationAnalytical validation | 1 | February 10, 2026 |
Showing 5 of 424 assay-provider companies.
Actionable biomarkers (79)
Shown in this order: fixed catalogue order, not ranked.
| Alteration | Drug | Response | Disease | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EGFR overexpression | CETUXIMAB | response-associated | colorectal adenocarcinoma | Cancer Genome Interpreter |
| EGFR (S492R,G465R,R451C,K467T) | CETUXIMAB | responsive | colorectal adenocarcinoma | Cancer Genome Interpreter |
| EGFR (S492R) | PANITUMUMAB | response-associated | colorectal adenocarcinoma | Cancer Genome Interpreter |
| EGFR (G465R) | PANITUMUMAB | responsive | colorectal adenocarcinoma | Cancer Genome Interpreter |
| EGFR overexpression | PANITUMUMAB | responsive | colorectal adenocarcinoma | Cancer Genome Interpreter |
Showing 5 of 79 actionable-biomarker assertions.
Trial mentions (6,313)
Shown in this order: fixed catalogue order, not by date.
| Trial | Source |
|---|---|
| NCT04197076 | Trial biospecimen (AACT) |
| NCT01740804 | Trial biospecimen (AACT) |
| NCT02684838 | Trial biospecimen (AACT) |
| NCT07353541 | Trial biospecimen (AACT) |
| NCT01522833 | Trial biospecimen (AACT) |
Showing 5 of 6,313 trial mentions.
Target-disease associations (1,625)
Shown in this order: fixed catalogue order, not ranked.
| Disease | Therapeutic area | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 1-palmitoyl-GPC (16:0) measurement | measurement | GWAS credible sets |
| 5,6-dihydrouridine measurement | measurement | GWAS credible sets |
| ACTH-Producing Pituitary Gland Adenoma | cancer or benign tumor | Literature (Europe PMC) |
| AIDS | genetic, familial or congenital disease | Literature (Europe PMC) |
| AIDS dementia | infectious disease | Literature (Europe PMC) |
Showing 5 of 1,625 associations.
Vendor sourcing (19,438)
Shown in this order: alphabetical by organization.
| Organization | Role | Tier | Evidence | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 150th Hospital of PLA | Trial collaborator | Named in trial inclusion criteriaTrial eligibility criteria | : 1. Diagnosed as stage Ⅳ naive EGFR wild-type lung adenocarcinoma by image, tissue and/or cytology; or relapse after operation (if the patient received adj... | View trial NCT02621333 |
| 150th Hospital of PLA | Trial collaborator | Mentioned in trial textTrial free-text mention | EGFR | View trial NCT02621333 |
| 1Globe Health Institute | Trial sponsor | Named in trial inclusion criteriaTrial eligibility criteria | : * Histologically confirmed adenocarcinoma of the colon or rectum that is metastatic (Stage IV) * Progression during or within 3 months following the last ... | View trial NCT03522649 |
| 1Globe Health Institute | Trial sponsor | Mentioned in trial textTrial free-text mention | EGFR | View trial NCT03522649 |
| 307th Hospital of Chinese People’s Liberation Army | Trial collaborator | Named in trial exclusion criteriaTrial eligibility criteria | : 1. Previous therapy with anti-EGFR drugs. 2. Patients who are receiving other accompanying antineoplastic therapy (including antitumor treatment with trad... | View trial NCT03017807 |
Showing 5 of 19,438 sourcing records.
Trial-cited literature (6,081)
Shown in this order: newest first, then most cited.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| Survival with Osimertinib plus Chemotherapy in <i>EGFR</i>-Mutated Advanced NSCLC. | The New England journal of medicine | 2026 | 73 |
| Sacituzumab Tirumotecan in EGFR-TKI-Resistant, <i>EGFR</i>-Mutated Advanced NSCLC. | The New England journal of medicine | 2026 | 50 |
| Savolitinib plus osimertinib versus chemotherapy for advanced, EGFR mutation-positive, MET-amplified non-small-cell lung cancer in China (SACHI): interim analysis of a multicentre, open-label, phase 3 randomised controlled trial. | Lancet (London, England) | 2026 | 16 |
| Re-treatment with panitumumab followed by regorafenib versus the reverse sequence in chemorefractory metastatic colorectal cancer patients with RAS and BRAF wild-type circulating tumor DNA: the PARERE study by GONO. | Annals of oncology : official journal of the European Society for Medical Oncology | 2026 | 13 |
| Adjuvant Durvalumab in Completely Resected Early-Stage Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer. | Journal of clinical oncology : official journal of the American Society of Clinical Oncology | 2026 | 8 |
Showing 5 of 6,081 papers.
Protein variant mentions (296)
Shown in this order: alphabetical by variant.
| Variant | Distinct papers | Year range | Sample papers |
|---|---|---|---|
| p.A1048V | 1 | 2015 | PMID 25741868 |
| p.A118D | 2 | 2011 to 2014 | PMID 24353110, PMID 22020140 |
| p.A11L | 1 | 2022 | PMID 36263798 |
| p.A11S | 1 | 2011 | PMID 22006983 |
| p.A1210V | 1 | 2015 | PMID 25741868 |
Showing 5 of 296 variants.
Human sample screening reference (15)
Shown in this order: alphabetical by variant.
| Variant | GDC project | Disease / site | Affected cases | Profiled cases | Observed frequency | 95% interval |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| p.D855N | CPTAC-3 | Not Applicable; Transitional Cell Papillomas and Carcinomas; Ductal and Lobular Neoplasms; Adenomas and Adenocarcinomas; Gliomas; Epithelial Neoplasms, NOS; Complex Epithelial Neoplasms; Complex Mixed and Stromal Neoplasms; Lipomatous Neoplasms; Squamous Cell Neoplasms; Myeloid Leukemias; Nevi and Melanomas; Stomach; Other and ill-defined sites in lip, oral cavity and pharynx; Unknown; Colon; Other and unspecified urinary organs; Floor of mouth; Other and unspecified parts of mouth; Gum; Bronchus and lung; Oropharynx; Other and unspecified parts of tongue; Base of tongue; Breast; Other and ill-defined sites; Larynx; Lip; Uterus, NOS; Hematopoietic and reticuloendothelial systems; Kidney; Brain; Skin; Pancreas; Tonsil | 1 | 1,815 | 0.06% | 0.01% to 0.31% |
| p.G465R | TCGA-LUAD | Cystic, Mucinous and Serous Neoplasms; Ductal and Lobular Neoplasms; Acinar Cell Neoplasms; Adenomas and Adenocarcinomas; Bronchus and lung | 1 | 573 | 0.17% | 0.03% to 0.98% |
| p.G901W | ALCHEMIST-ALCH | Not Reported; Not Reported | 1 | 1,170 | 0.09% | 0.02% to 0.48% |
| p.L424V | HCMI-CMDC | Ductal and Lobular Neoplasms; Complex Mixed and Stromal Neoplasms; Blood Vessel Tumors; Fibromatous Neoplasms; Epithelial Neoplasms, NOS; Mature T- and NK-Cell Lymphomas; Transitional Cell Papillomas and Carcinomas; Complex Epithelial Neoplasms; Squamous Cell Neoplasms; Soft Tissue Tumors and Sarcomas, NOS; Lymphoid Leukemias; Cystic, Mucinous and Serous Neoplasms; Gliomas; Myomatous Neoplasms; Neuroepitheliomatous Neoplasms; Malignant Lymphomas, NOS or Diffuse; Acinar Cell Neoplasms; Osseous and Chondromatous Neoplasms; Synovial-like Neoplasms; Miscellaneous Bone Tumors; Nevi and Melanomas; Adenomas and Adenocarcinomas; Other and unspecified parts of tongue; Stomach; Bronchus and lung; Larynx; Uterus, NOS; Kidney; Esophagus; Other and ill-defined sites; Skin; Colon; Thyroid gland; Bladder; Adrenal gland; Eye and adnexa; Gallbladder; Connective, subcutaneous and other soft tissues; Rectosigmoid junction; Breast; Pancreas; Small intestine; Corpus uteri; Other and unspecified parts of mouth; Liver and intrahepatic bile ducts; Nasal cavity and middle ear; Hematopoietic and reticuloendothelial systems; Brain; Other and unspecified parts of biliary tract; Bones, joints and articular cartilage of other and unspecified sites; Rectum; Unknown; Lymph nodes; Ovary | 1 | 606 | 0.17% | 0.03% to 0.93% |
| p.L424V | TCGA-UCEC | Not Reported; Epithelial Neoplasms, NOS; Adenomas and Adenocarcinomas; Cystic, Mucinous and Serous Neoplasms; Corpus uteri; Uterus, NOS | 1 | 559 | 0.18% | 0.03% to 1.01% |
Showing 5 of 15 cohort observations.
Literature-extracted relations (3,577)
Shown in this order: chemicals, then diseases.
| Related entity | Kind | Source relation label | Paper | Year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PANITUMUMAB | Chemical | negative_correlate |
Intraoperative Molecular Imaging Can Detect Large Nerve Perineural Invasion: A Case Report. | 2026 |
| CETUXIMAB | Chemical | negative_correlate |
Glecirasib with or without cetuximab in previously treated locally advanced or metastatic colorectal cancer with KRAS<sup>G12C</sup> mutation (JAB-21822-1002 and JAB-21822-1007): two open-label, non-randomised phase 1/2 trials. | 2026 |
| PANITUMUMAB | Chemical | negative_correlate |
Re-treatment with panitumumab followed by regorafenib versus the reverse sequence in chemorefractory metastatic colorectal cancer patients with RAS and BRAF wild-type circulating tumor DNA: the PARERE study by GONO. | 2026 |
| BEVACIZUMAB | Chemical | negative_correlate |
Efficacy and Safety of Atezolizumab Plus Bevacizumab in Patients With Advanced NSCLC Who Received Pretreatment With EGFR-TKIs (ML41256): A Multicenter, Prospective, Single-Arm, Phase 2 Trial. | 2025 |
| Platinum | Chemical | negative_correlate |
Andamertinib in Advanced NSCLC With EGFR Exon 20 Insertions After Platinum-Based Chemotherapy or Immunotherapy: Results From the Phase 2 KANNON Study. | 2025 |
Showing 5 of 3,577 relation assertions.
Organizations publishing (1,680)
Shown in this order: most papers first.
| Organization | Type | Papers | Years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center | Hospital | 265 | 1988 to 2025 |
| The University of Texas System | Academic | 257 | 2001 to 2025 |
| Dana-Farber Cancer Institute | Other | 230 | 2004 to 2026 |
| Government of the United States of America | Government | 172 | 1997 to 2025 |
| Mass General Brigham | Hospital | 160 | 2007 to 2025 |
Showing 5 of 1,680 organizations.
Where EGFR appears
- animal disease
- biological_process
- cancer or benign tumor
- cardiovascular disease
- disorder of ear
- disorder of visual system
- endocrine system disease
- gastrointestinal disease
- genetic, familial or congenital disease
- hematologic disease
- immune system disease
- infectious disease
- injury, poisoning or other complication
- integumentary system disease
- measurement
- musculoskeletal or connective tissue disease
- nervous system disease
- nutritional or metabolic disease
- phenotype
- pregnancy or perinatal disease
- psychiatric disorder
- reproductive system or breast disease
- respiratory or thoracic disease
- urinary system disease
1,338 diseases touched.
Not on this page
Checked, with nothing recorded for this biomarker: fda biomarker qualification projects.