Condition (MeSH)
Hepatitis D
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 84 trials for Hepatitis D or a narrower condition beneath it. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 7.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase (log scale)
1 more section with rows
59 of the 84 trials are tagged with Hepatitis D itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Hepatitis D trials start? (22)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 1/2
- Phase 2
- Phase 2/3
- Phase 3
- Phase 4
- Not applicable
- Observational
Top of scale: 12
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 7 |
| 2025 | 10 |
| 2024 | 12 |
| 2023 | 9 |
| 2022 | 6 |
| 2021 | 5 |
| 2020 | 2 |
| 2019 | 4 |
| 2018 | 3 |
| 2017 | 1 |
Showing 10 of 22 earlier years.
Forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included, not rows of this table: about 9 trials starting in 2026 and about 10 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The rows of this table count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. In backtests on conditions of this size, forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 28 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 39 percent and ran about 37 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored.
Prediction, not a registry value: median of 32 months from start to primary completion across 13 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 25 months across 38 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Hepatitis D trials in? (9)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 3 |
| Phase 1/2 | 1 |
| Phase 2 | 24 |
| Phase 2/3 | 2 |
| Phase 3 | 13 |
| Phase 4 | 1 |
| Not applicable | 3 |
| Observational | 36 |
| Expanded access | 1 |
How many Hepatitis D trials are recruiting? (8)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Not yet recruiting | 6 |
| Recruiting | 19 |
| Active, not recruiting | 10 |
| Completed | 30 |
| Terminated | 4 |
Showing 5 of 8 statuses.
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Hepatitis D trials? (11)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) | 7 |
| Eiger BioPharmaceuticals | 4 |
| Hoffmann-La Roche | 4 |
| Mirum Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | 4 |
| Vir Biotechnology, Inc. | 4 |
Showing 5 of 11 sponsors.
Which drugs are being tested for Hepatitis D? (12)
Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Bulevirtide | 13 |
| Lonafarnib | 7 |
| PEGinterferon alfa-2a | 5 |
| Brelovitug (BJT-778) | 4 |
| VIR-3434 | 4 |
Showing 5 of 12 drugs.
Interventions as named in the registry (3)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Ritonavir (RTV) low | 6 |
| tenofovir disproxil fumarate | 4 |
| Delayed Treatment with Brelovitug 300mg | 2 |
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which serious adverse events do Hepatitis D trials report? (10)
Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.
| Adverse event | Subjects affected | Trials |
|---|---|---|
| All-cause mortality | 47 | 1 |
| Hepatitis D | 10 | 1 |
| jaundice | 6 | 1 |
| Covid-19 | 5 | 2 |
| Covid-19 pneumonia | 5 | 2 |
Showing 5 of 10 adverse events.
Which publications cover Hepatitis D? (55)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Frequency, Severity and Impact of Pegylated Interferon Alpha-Associated Flares in Hepatitis D Infection. | Journal of viral hepatitis | 2025 | Yes |
| Five-year follow-up of 96 weeks peginterferon plus tenofovir disoproxil fumarate in hepatitis D. | Liver international : official journal of the International Association for the Study of the Liver | 2024 | Yes |
| Unmet need in screening for hepatitis D virus: Time to take action. | Journal of hepatology | 2024 | Yes |
| Safety and efficacy of bulevirtide in combination with tenofovir disoproxil fumarate in patients with hepatitis B virus and hepatitis D virus coinfection (MYR202): a multicentre, randomised, parallel-group, open-label, phase 2 trial. | The Lancet. Infectious diseases | 2023 | Yes |
| Improved hepatitis delta virus genome characterization by single molecule full-length genome sequencing combined with VIRiONT pipeline. | Journal of medical virology | 2023 | Yes |
Showing 5 of 55 publications.
Prevalence (3)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hepatitis delta | Point prevalence | 1-5 / 10 000 | Europe | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Hepatitis delta | Point prevalence | 1-5 / 10 000 | Europe | Not stated | Exact |
| Hepatitis delta | Point prevalence | 1-5 / 10 000 | Europe | Not stated | Exact |
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hepatitis delta | 402823 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
| Hepatitis delta | 402823 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
Sub-conditions in MeSH (1)
MeSH descendants one level down with at least one trial, most trials first.
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.