Condition (MeSH)
Ophthalmia Neonatorum
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 2 trials for Ophthalmia Neonatorum or a narrower condition beneath it. National Eye Institute (NEI) has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 1.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase
2 of the 2 trials are tagged with Ophthalmia Neonatorum itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Ophthalmia Neonatorum trials start? (1)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2015 | 1 |
No forecast is made for this condition: it averages 0.0 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
Recruitment duration, a model prediction: none of the 2 trials evaluated at the 2026-10-09 snapshot is predicted and still running. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Ophthalmia Neonatorum trials in? (2)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 3 | 1 |
| Observational | 1 |
How many Ophthalmia Neonatorum trials are recruiting? (1)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Completed | 2 |
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Ophthalmia Neonatorum trials? (1)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| National Eye Institute (NEI) | 1 |
Which publications cover Ophthalmia Neonatorum? (4)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Index of suspicion. Case 2. Diagnosis: gonorrhea conjunctivitis. | Pediatrics in review | 1997 | Yes |
| Povidone-iodine liposomes--an overview. | Dermatology (Basel, Switzerland) | 1997 | No |
| The sensitivity of Neisseria gonorrhoeae, Chlamydia trachomatis, and herpes simplex type II to disinfection with povidone-iodine. | American journal of ophthalmology | 1990 | No |
| Prospective study of perinatal transmission of Chlamydia trachomatis. | JAMA | 1986 | No |
Prevalence (4)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gonococcal conjunctivitis | Prevalence at birth | 1-5 / 10 000 | United States | US | Exact |
| Gonococcal conjunctivitis | Prevalence at birth | 1-5 / 10 000 | United States | US | Exact |
| Gonococcal conjunctivitis | Point prevalence | Unknown | Worldwide | Not stated | Exact |
| Gonococcal conjunctivitis | Point prevalence | Unknown | Worldwide | Not stated | Exact |
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gonococcal conjunctivitis | 1482 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
| Gonococcal conjunctivitis | 1482 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.
Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: serious adverse events in this condition's trials and sub-conditions in mesh.
Not computed for conditions with fewer than 10 trials: drugs tested.