Condition (MeSH)
Polycythemia Vera
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 274 trials for Polycythemia Vera or a narrower condition beneath it. National Cancer Institute (NCI) has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 13.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase (log scale)
2 more sections with rows
274 of the 274 trials are tagged with Polycythemia Vera itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Polycythemia Vera trials start? (33)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year. 2 trials are registered to start in 2027 or later, and not listed here.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 1/2
- Phase 2
- Phase 2/3
- Phase 3
- Phase 4
- Not applicable
- Observational
- Other (Unknown)
Top of scale: 15
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 12 |
| 2025 | 10 |
| 2024 | 14 |
| 2023 | 7 |
| 2022 | 10 |
| 2021 | 9 |
| 2020 | 7 |
| 2019 | 11 |
| 2018 | 4 |
| 2017 | 6 |
Showing 10 of 33 earlier years.
Forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included, not rows of this table: about 13 trials starting in 2026 and about 12 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The rows of this table count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. In backtests on conditions of this size, forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 28 percent and ran about 20 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 39 percent and ran about 37 percent low against the count later registered. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored.
Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 29 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 41 months across 185 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Polycythemia Vera trials in? (10)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 48 |
| Phase 1/2 | 26 |
| Phase 2 | 90 |
| Phase 2/3 | 3 |
| Phase 3 | 32 |
| Phase 4 | 3 |
| Not applicable | 24 |
| Observational | 45 |
| Expanded access | 2 |
| Unknown | 1 |
How many Polycythemia Vera trials are recruiting? (9)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Not yet recruiting | 9 |
| Recruiting | 37 |
| Active, not recruiting | 20 |
| Available | 1 |
| Completed | 147 |
Showing 5 of 9 statuses.
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Polycythemia Vera trials? (7)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| National Cancer Institute (NCI) | 13 |
| Novartis Pharmaceuticals | 12 |
| Incyte Corporation | 6 |
| Italfarmaco | 5 |
| AOP Orphan Pharmaceuticals AG | 4 |
Showing 5 of 7 sponsors.
Which drugs are being tested for Polycythemia Vera? (2)
Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Cytoxan | 25 |
| Busulfan | 19 |
Interventions as named in the registry (13)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| SQ Fludarabine | 29 |
| Ruxolitinib IR | 28 |
| Peripheral blood stem cell transplantation | 26 |
| IR Tacrolimus | 16 |
| Total Body Irradiation | 15 |
Showing 5 of 13 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which serious adverse events do Polycythemia Vera trials report? (10)
Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.
| Adverse event | Subjects affected | Trials |
|---|---|---|
| Pneumonia | 100 | 17 |
| 1 yr TRM | 93 | 1 |
| Anemia | 59 | 9 |
| Sepsis | 50 | 18 |
| Pyrexia | 39 | 9 |
Showing 5 of 10 adverse events.
Which publications cover Polycythemia Vera? (125)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Population Pharmacokinetics-Pharmacodynamics and Exposure-Response of Ropeginterferon Alfa-2b in Chinese and Japanese Patients With Polycythemia Vera. | Pharmacology research & perspectives | 2025 | Yes |
| Association between elevated white blood cell counts and thrombotic events in polycythemia vera: analysis from REVEAL. | Blood | 2024 | Yes |
| Rusfertide, a Hepcidin Mimetic, for Control of Erythrocytosis in Polycythemia Vera. | The New England journal of medicine | 2024 | Yes |
| Efficacy and safety of ruxolitinib in patients with newly-diagnosed polycythemia vera: futility analysis of the RuxoBEAT clinical trial of the GSG-MPN study group. | Annals of hematology | 2023 | Yes |
| A phase II trial to assess the efficacy and safety of ropeginterferon α-2b in Chinese patients with polycythemia vera. | Future oncology (London, England) | 2023 | Yes |
Showing 5 of 125 publications.
Prevalence (9)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Polycythemia vera | Point prevalence | 1-5 / 10 000 | Italy | Not stated | Exact |
| Polycythemia vera | Point prevalence | 1-5 / 10 000 | Europe | Not stated | Exact |
| Polycythemia vera | Point prevalence | 1-5 / 10 000 | Europe | Not stated | Exact |
| Polycythemia vera | Annual incidence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Europe | Not stated | Exact |
| Polycythemia vera | Annual incidence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Europe | Not stated | Exact |
Showing 5 of 9 prevalence observations.
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Polycythemia vera | 729 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
| Polycythemia vera | 729 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.
Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: sub-conditions in mesh.