Condition (MeSH)
Sarcoma, Kaposi
ClinicalTrials.gov lists 154 trials for Sarcoma, Kaposi or a narrower condition beneath it. National Cancer Institute (NCI) has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 35.
Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.
Trials per phase (log scale)
154 of the 154 trials are tagged with Sarcoma, Kaposi itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.
When did Sarcoma, Kaposi trials start? (31)
Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.
Trials over time, by phase
- Phase 1
- Phase 1/2
- Phase 2
- Phase 3
- Phase 4
- Not applicable
- Observational
Top of scale: 8
Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.
| Year | Trials started |
|---|---|
| 2026 (partial year) | 6 |
| 2025 | 3 |
| 2024 | 5 |
| 2023 | 6 |
| 2022 | 1 |
| 2021 | 8 |
| 2020 | 5 |
| 2018 | 4 |
| 2017 | 4 |
| 2016 | 3 |
Showing 10 of 31 earlier years.
No forecast is made for this condition: it averages 4.4 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.
Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 13 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 47 months across 63 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.
What phase are Sarcoma, Kaposi trials in? (7)
Shown in this order: phase order.
Show the trials by phase as a table
| Phase | Trials |
|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 40 |
| Phase 1/2 | 12 |
| Phase 2 | 50 |
| Phase 3 | 9 |
| Phase 4 | 2 |
| Not applicable | 17 |
| Observational | 24 |
How many Sarcoma, Kaposi trials are recruiting? (7)
Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.
| Status | Trials |
|---|---|
| Not yet recruiting | 3 |
| Recruiting | 20 |
| Active, not recruiting | 5 |
| Completed | 102 |
| Terminated | 13 |
Showing 5 of 7 statuses.
Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.
Which lead sponsors run the most Sarcoma, Kaposi trials? (8)
Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.
| Sponsor | Trials |
|---|---|
| National Cancer Institute (NCI) | 35 |
| National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) | 17 |
| AIDS Malignancy Consortium | 13 |
| Alpha Tau Medical LTD. | 5 |
| Daiichi Pharmaceuticals | 4 |
Showing 5 of 8 sponsors.
Which drugs are being tested for Sarcoma, Kaposi? (7)
Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Zidovudine | 9 |
| Bleomycin | 7 |
| NIVOLUMAB | 6 |
| semaxanib | 4 |
| Nelfinavir | 4 |
Showing 5 of 7 drugs.
Interventions as named in the registry (8)
Shown in this order: most trials first.
| Drug | Trials |
|---|---|
| Doxorubicine | 12 |
| Vincristina | 7 |
| Etoposid | 5 |
| Valganciclovir | 4 |
| Tecogalan sodium | 4 |
Showing 5 of 8 interventions.
These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.
Which serious adverse events do Sarcoma, Kaposi trials report? (10)
Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.
| Adverse event | Subjects affected | Trials |
|---|---|---|
| Abdominal pain | 14 | 2 |
| Kaposi's sarcoma | 14 | 1 |
| Anemia | 12 | 4 |
| Fever | 12 | 4 |
| Hypercalcemia | 12 | 1 |
Showing 5 of 10 adverse events.
Which publications cover Sarcoma, Kaposi? (177)
Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.
| Publication | Journal | Year | Major topic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Consensus statement for the diagnosis, treatment, and prognosis of kaposiform hemangioendothelioma. | International journal of cancer | 2025 | Yes |
| Efficacy and safety of high-vs low-dose sirolimus in patients with kaposiform hemangioendothelioma: A randomized clinical trial. | Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology | 2025 | Yes |
| Cancer Immunotherapy Trials Network 12: Pembrolizumab in HIV-Associated Kaposi Sarcoma. | Journal of clinical oncology : official journal of the American Society of Clinical Oncology | 2025 | Yes |
| Phase I study of efineptakin alfa (NT-I7) for the treatment of Kaposi sarcoma. | Journal for immunotherapy of cancer | 2025 | Yes |
| Characteristics and outcomes of Kaposi sarcoma herpesvirus-associated inflammatory cytokine syndrome. | Blood advances | 2025 | Yes |
Showing 5 of 177 publications.
Prevalence (78)
Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.
| Orphanet disease | Type | Class | Geography | Jurisdiction | Mapping relation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kaposi sarcoma | Annual incidence | 1-9 / 1 000 000 | United Kingdom | GB | Exact |
| Kaposi sarcoma | Annual incidence | 1-9 / 1 000 000 | United Kingdom | GB | Exact |
| Kaposi sarcoma | Annual incidence | 1-9 / 1 000 000 | United Kingdom | GB | Unspecified |
| Kaposi sarcoma | Annual incidence | 1-9 / 100 000 | Iceland | Not stated | Unspecified |
| Kaposi sarcoma | Annual incidence | 1-9 / 1 000 000 | Europe | Not stated | Unspecified |
Showing 5 of 78 prevalence observations.
Rare-disease identity (2)
Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.
| Orphanet disease | ORPHA code | Relation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kaposi sarcoma | 33276 | Exact | Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1 |
| Kaposi sarcoma | 33276 | Exact | Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO) |
Not on this page
Not measured: delivery record.
Checked, with nothing recorded for this condition: sub-conditions in mesh.