Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Condition (MeSH)

Spinal Cord Injuries

ClinicalTrials.gov lists 1,971 trials for Spinal Cord Injuries or a narrower condition beneath it. VA Office of Research and Development has the most among industry and government lead sponsors, with 75.

MeSH D013119 Nervous System Diseases C10 C26 Listed by Orphanet as a rare disease
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

Phase 1 Phase 1 104 Phase 1/2 Phase 1/2 69 Phase 2 Phase 2 118 Phase 2/3 Phase 2/3 31 Phase 3 Phase 3 39 Phase 4 Phase 4 52 Not applicable Not applicable 1,213 Observational Observational 343 Phase 1 Phase 1 104 Phase 1/2 Phase 1/2 69 Phase 2 Phase 2 118 Phase 2/3 Phase 2/3 31 Phase 3 Phase 3 39 Phase 4 Phase 4 52 Not applicable Not applicable 1,213 Observational Observational 343

Trials per phase (log scale)

1 more section with rows

1,923 of the 1,971 trials are tagged with Spinal Cord Injuries itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.

Get the Spinal Cord Injuries report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

When did Spinal Cord Injuries trials start? (34)

Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year. 9 trials are registered to start in 2027 or later, and not listed here.

Trials over time, by phase

  • Phase 1
  • Phase 1/2
  • Phase 2
  • Phase 2/3
  • Phase 3
  • Phase 4
  • Not applicable
  • Observational

Top of scale: 144

1991: 3 trials (Observational 1, Not applicable 1, Phase 3 1) 1992: 1 trials (Observational 1) 1993: 1 trials (Not applicable 1) 1995: 1 trials (Phase 2 1) 1996: 4 trials (Observational 1, Not applicable 2, Phase 4 1) 1998: 7 trials (Observational 3, Phase 2 4) 1999: 5 trials (Observational 1, Not applicable 1, Phase 2 2, Phase 1 1) 2000: 6 trials (Not applicable 2, Phase 3 1, Phase 2/3 1, Phase 2 2) 2001: 2 trials (Not applicable 2) 2002: 11 trials (Not applicable 4, Phase 4 1, Phase 3 3, Phase 2/3 1, Phase 2 1, Phase 1 1) 2003: 15 trials (Observational 1, Not applicable 5, Phase 4 1, Phase 2/3 3, Phase 2 3, Phase 1 2) 2004: 16 trials (Observational 4, Not applicable 5, Phase 3 3, Phase 2 1, Phase 1/2 1, Phase 1 2) 2005: 21 trials (Observational 6, Not applicable 7, Phase 4 3, Phase 1/2 3, Phase 1 2) 2006: 23 trials (Observational 5, Not applicable 8, Phase 4 2, Phase 3 3, Phase 2/3 1, Phase 2 2, Phase 1/2 1, Phase 1 1) 2007: 39 trials (Observational 11, Not applicable 11, Phase 4 2, Phase 3 1, Phase 2/3 2, Phase 2 8, Phase 1/2 2, Phase 1 2) 2008: 42 trials (Observational 8, Not applicable 17, Phase 4 2, Phase 3 2, Phase 2/3 2, Phase 2 4, Phase 1/2 3, Phase 1 4) 2009: 39 trials (Observational 11, Not applicable 16, Phase 4 4, Phase 3 2, Phase 2 2, Phase 1/2 3, Phase 1 1) 2010: 53 trials (Observational 16, Not applicable 19, Phase 3 2, Phase 2/3 3, Phase 2 7, Phase 1/2 1, Phase 1 5) 2011: 52 trials (Observational 8, Not applicable 24, Phase 4 2, Phase 3 1, Phase 2 2, Phase 1/2 6, Phase 1 9) 2012: 63 trials (Observational 11, Not applicable 24, Phase 4 4, Phase 3 4, Phase 2/3 2, Phase 2 8, Phase 1/2 2, Phase 1 8) 2013: 72 trials (Observational 10, Not applicable 40, Phase 4 5, Phase 3 3, Phase 2/3 1, Phase 2 6, Phase 1/2 3, Phase 1 4) 2014: 69 trials (Observational 9, Not applicable 43, Phase 4 2, Phase 3 2, Phase 2/3 1, Phase 2 2, Phase 1/2 6, Phase 1 4) 2015: 86 trials (Observational 20, Not applicable 51, Phase 4 3, Phase 2/3 2, Phase 2 4, Phase 1/2 4, Phase 1 2) 2016: 80 trials (Observational 14, Not applicable 46, Phase 4 2, Phase 3 1, Phase 2/3 1, Phase 2 8, Phase 1/2 7, Phase 1 1) 2017: 108 trials (Observational 19, Not applicable 71, Phase 4 3, Phase 3 2, Phase 2/3 1, Phase 2 5, Phase 1/2 1, Phase 1 6) 2018: 102 trials (Observational 14, Not applicable 74, Phase 4 3, Phase 3 1, Phase 2/3 1, Phase 2 5, Phase 1/2 1, Phase 1 3) 2019: 117 trials (Observational 14, Not applicable 78, Phase 4 4, Phase 3 1, Phase 2/3 1, Phase 2 14, Phase 1/2 3, Phase 1 2) 2020: 95 trials (Observational 21, Not applicable 54, Phase 4 2, Phase 3 1, Phase 2/3 1, Phase 2 8, Phase 1/2 1, Phase 1 7) 2021: 128 trials (Observational 19, Not applicable 91, Phase 4 1, Phase 3 2, Phase 2/3 2, Phase 2 5, Phase 1/2 4, Phase 1 4) 2022: 138 trials (Observational 17, Not applicable 107, Phase 4 1, Phase 2/3 2, Phase 2 3, Phase 1/2 2, Phase 1 6) 2023: 127 trials (Observational 22, Not applicable 96, Phase 3 2, Phase 2 4, Phase 1/2 1, Phase 1 2) 2024: 133 trials (Observational 21, Not applicable 100, Phase 4 1, Phase 3 1, Phase 2/3 1, Phase 2 2, Phase 1/2 1, Phase 1 6) 2025: 144 trials (Observational 31, Not applicable 93, Phase 4 2, Phase 2 1, Phase 1/2 7, Phase 1 10)

Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.

Trials started per year
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 152
2025 144
2024 133
2023 127
2022 138
2021 128
2020 95
2019 117
2018 102
2017 108

Forecast of the full-year count, planned starts included, not rows of this table: about 170 trials starting in 2026 and about 160 in 2027, the average of the 24 months through September, counted as registered and carried forward. The rows of this table count trials registered so far with a start date in the year, planned starts included; the forecast looks ahead to the count for the whole year, so it is not the same measure. In backtests on conditions of this size, forecasts made part-way through the year were typically off by about 13 percent and ran about 12 percent low against the count later registered; forecasts made before the year began were off by about 19 percent and ran about 17 percent low against the count later registered, and had about the same error as repeating last year's count. These figures rest on a few years of history (target years from 2018 to 2025, varying by figure), place each condition as it is mapped today rather than as it was then, and score against a count for the newest year that was still being revised. Only condition series were scored.

Prediction, not a registry value: median of 36 months from start to primary completion across 268 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot; registered median of 28 months across 1,122 trials with a primary completion typed Actual. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

What phase are Spinal Cord Injuries trials in? (9)

Shown in this order: phase order.

Show the trials by phase as a table
Trials by phase
Phase Trials
Phase 1 104
Phase 1/2 69
Phase 2 118
Phase 2/3 31
Phase 3 39
Phase 4 52
Not applicable 1,213
Observational 343
Expanded access 2

How many Spinal Cord Injuries trials are recruiting? (10)

Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.

Trials by recruitment status
Status Trials
Not yet recruiting 108
Recruiting 326
Enrolling by invitation 27
Active, not recruiting 82
Completed 994

Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.

Which lead sponsors run the most Spinal Cord Injuries trials? (4)

Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.

Lead sponsors
Sponsor Trials
VA Office of Research and Development 75
Swiss Paraplegic Research, Nottwil 45
US Department of Veterans Affairs 42
James J. Peters Veterans Affairs Medical Center 38

Which drugs are being tested for Spinal Cord Injuries? (5)

Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.

Drugs tested
Drug Trials
Pregabalin 7
DENOSUMAB 6
Buspirone 5
Calcium/Vitamin D 5
METHYLPREDNISOLONE 5

Interventions as named in the registry (10)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Interventions as named in the registry
Drug Trials
Acute Intermittent Hypoxia (AIH) 11
type A botulinum toxin 10
Exercise 9
acid Zoledronic 8
Midodrine 2.5 mg tab 7

These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.

Which serious adverse events do Spinal Cord Injuries trials report? (10)

Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.

Serious adverse events in this condition's trials
Adverse event Subjects affected Trials
Pneumonia 340 12
Malignant neoplasm progression 204 2
Hospitalization 141 2
Dyspnoea 128 2
Anaemia 125 2

Which publications cover Spinal Cord Injuries? (2,559)

Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.

Prevalence (6)

Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.

Prevalence
Orphanet disease Type Class Geography Jurisdiction Mapping relation
Spinal cord injury Point prevalence 1-5 / 10 000 Europe Not stated Exact
Spinal cord injury Annual incidence 1-9 / 100 000 Canada Not stated Exact
Spinal cord injury Annual incidence 1-9 / 100 000 Canada Not stated Unspecified
Spinal cord injury Annual incidence 1-9 / 100 000 Canada Not stated Exact
Spinal cord injury Point prevalence 1-5 / 10 000 Europe Not stated Exact

Rare-disease identity (2)

Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.

Rare-disease identity
Orphanet disease ORPHA code Relation Source
Spinal cord injury 90058 Exact Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1
Spinal cord injury 90058 Exact Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO)

Sub-conditions in MeSH (3)

MeSH descendants one level down with at least one trial, most trials first.

Not on this page

Not measured: delivery record.

Browse all condition evidence pages