Skip to content
Pharma Observatory a Scientist.com platform

Condition (MeSH)

Prion Diseases

ClinicalTrials.gov lists 30 trials for Prion Diseases or a narrower condition beneath it.

MeSH D017096 Infections C01 C10
Email me this page as a PDF

Search trials, drugs, companies and investigators, and follow each one to the others. Individual plan, $249/seat/mo. Card required.

Phase 1 Phase 1 2 Phase 1/2 Phase 1/2 2 Phase 2 Phase 2 3 Phase 3 Phase 3 1 Not applicable Not applicable 9 Observational Observational 13 Phase 1 Phase 1 2 Phase 1/2 Phase 1/2 2 Phase 2 Phase 2 3 Phase 3 Phase 3 1 Not applicable Not applicable 9 Observational Observational 13

Trials per phase

12 of the 30 trials are tagged with Prion Diseases itself; the rest are tagged with a narrower condition beneath it.

Get the Prion Diseases report as a PDF

The PDF carries up to 50 rows of each section, where the page shows the first few, with the sources listed. Enter a work email and confirm it from the message we send, and the report follows by email.

When did Prion Diseases trials start? (17)

Shown in this order: most recent first, 1990 onwards. 2026 is partial: trials registered with a 2026 start date so far, not a full year.

Trials over time, by phase

  • Phase 1
  • Phase 1/2
  • Phase 2
  • Not applicable
  • Observational

Top of scale: 3

2000: 1 trials (Observational 1) 2004: 1 trials (Not applicable 1) 2005: 1 trials (Phase 2 1) 2006: 1 trials (Observational 1) 2010: 1 trials (Observational 1) 2011: 2 trials (Observational 1, Phase 2 1) 2015: 2 trials (Observational 2) 2016: 1 trials (Observational 1) 2017: 2 trials (Observational 1, Not applicable 1) 2018: 1 trials (Phase 2 1) 2019: 1 trials (Not applicable 1) 2021: 2 trials (Not applicable 1, Phase 1 1) 2022: 3 trials (Observational 3) 2023: 2 trials (Not applicable 2) 2024: 3 trials (Observational 1, Not applicable 1, Phase 1/2 1) 2025: 2 trials (Not applicable 2)

Trials registered with a start date in each year, 1990 onward, stacked by phase (complete years only; the current partial year is in the table's notes). The table below lists the same counts, most recent years first.

Trials started per year
Year Trials started
2026 (partial year) 4
2025 2
2024 3
2023 2
2022 3
2021 2
2019 1
2018 1
2017 2
2016 1

No forecast is made for this condition: it averages 2.6 trial starts a year over the five years to September, under the 5 a year the method needs.

Recruitment duration, a model prediction: 3 trials still running at the 2026-10-09 snapshot, fewer than the 5 needed for a median. Source: ClinicalTrials.gov / AACT (CTTI), public domain.

What phase are Prion Diseases trials in? (6)

Shown in this order: phase order.

Show the trials by phase as a table
Trials by phase
Phase Trials
Phase 1 2
Phase 1/2 2
Phase 2 3
Phase 3 1
Not applicable 9
Observational 13

How many Prion Diseases trials are recruiting? (6)

Shown in this order: the order a trial moves through, from not yet recruiting to unknown.

Trials by recruitment status
Status Trials
Not yet recruiting 1
Recruiting 8
Enrolling by invitation 1
Active, not recruiting 2
Completed 16

Status as registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Each trial is counted once.

Which lead sponsors run the most Prion Diseases trials? (4)

Shown in this order: most trials first. Lead sponsors the registry classes as industry, NIH, US federal, other government or network. A hospital or university the registry files as government can appear here. Sponsors it classes as academic or other are shown on the full page, because that class cannot separate an institution from a named investigator.

Lead sponsors
Sponsor Trials
Faculty Hospital Kralovske Vinohrady 1
Ionis Pharmaceuticals, Inc. 1
Medical Research Council 1
NHS Blood and Transplant 1

Which drugs are being tested for Prion Diseases? (3)

Shown in this order: most trials first. One row per drug, matched to a single molecule under all its names, ranked by number of trials.

Drugs tested
Drug Trials
Quinacrine 2
Efavirenz 1
ION717 1

Interventions as named in the registry (10)

Shown in this order: most trials first.

Interventions as named in the registry
Drug Trials
[PRP] platelet rich plasma 2
No Interventions 1
NaCl 0.9% NS 1
PrP-siRNA 1
Hyaluronic Acid (HA) and Platelet rich plasma 1

These are the names sponsors entered on ClinicalTrials.gov that we have not matched to a single molecule. Some are drugs under a brand or code name; others are procedures, doses or arm labels.

Which serious adverse events do Prion Diseases trials report? (10)

Shown in this order: most subjects affected first. Subjects affected summed across trials, a cross-trial signal, not a rate.

Serious adverse events in this condition's trials
Adverse event Subjects affected Trials
Death 29 1
Fall 2 1
Hemorrhage 2 1
Post-LP Dizziness 2 1
Post-LP headache 2 1

Which publications cover Prion Diseases? (12)

Shown in this order: major-topic papers first, then newest, then most linked to trials.

Prevalence (4)

Shown in this order: jurisdiction, then disease name. Orphanet observation for the mapped ORPHA concept; the mapping relation column says whether that concept is exactly this condition or broader or narrower.

Prevalence
Orphanet disease Type Class Geography Jurisdiction Mapping relation
Human prion disease Point prevalence 1-9 / 1 000 000 Europe Not stated Exact
Human prion disease Annual incidence 1-9 / 1 000 000 Europe Not stated Exact
Human prion disease Point prevalence 1-9 / 1 000 000 Europe Not stated Exact
Human prion disease Annual incidence 1-9 / 1 000 000 Europe Not stated Exact

Rare-disease identity (2)

Shown in this order: exact, broader, narrower, other.

Rare-disease identity
Orphanet disease ORPHA code Relation Source
Human prion disease 56970 Exact Orphanet Rare Disease Ontology (ORDO)
Human prion disease 56970 Exact Orphadata Science knowledge files, Product 1

Sub-conditions in MeSH (3)

MeSH descendants one level down with at least one trial, most trials first.

Not on this page

Not measured: delivery record.

Browse all condition evidence pages